Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,300 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eagle Point Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
The Seven Highly Effective Habits program is practiced in all grades and builds leadership skills.

Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Eagle point has been a great experience 2 out of the 3 years so far. It seems most of the teachers have been there a long time and your experience in the end like with all schools depends if your child has a good teacher. The office staff is super friendly and the principal and both vice principals are there with a smile to great the children every morning at car pool or standing at the front gates. Also, weekly on a phone/email message is an update from the principal which is great to keep parents involved. Car pool can get a little messy and high stress but I suspect it is that way with most large schools although they do have a friendly BSO directing traffic every morning. There are after school clubs available, an organized aftercare and many opportunities to volunteer for the PTA. If you are Hispanic and enjoying being around mostly Latins then his school is probably a dream. Eagle Point also has a bilingual program and if you attend school activities or functions,you will hear most of the parents speaking Spanish(some room parents do not speak English). It can be intimidating, cliquish and leave a non Hispanic feeling like an outsider but welcome to Weston also known as Westonzuela. This is what it has become over the past 5 years so that is something to consider if you are moving to the area. Overall, it's a public education and although the school does fundraisers and fun field trips , it still has focus and the high pressure of standardized tests. I do feel my children are safe and mostly happy although haven't developed any close friendships like friends at smaller schools due to classes changes and many teachers per grade. We would like to see more crowd control and organization of parents when events happen (example-allowing parents to block front gates when morning events happen and children are trying to get to school) and to see a better car pool plan implemented. (Maybe schedule functions at least an hour after school begins,a scattered arrival time or another entrance being used but this may be out of the schools control) Trying to get over 1300 students in on time can not be an easy task but everyone is out there helping out.


Eagle Point Elementary School 3

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Feel like the school is only teaching about South America, for the last 3 years all the class assignments have been about SA not US or the world. In general it is a good school, but I as a non-US citizen feel like it is more a Pro-Spanish school than a school, and it seem to get worse year after year.

Eagle Point Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
First 2 was great, the one for 2nd grade is lazy and not really engaging the kids, maybe just bad luck

Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
My son started 6 months ago in 1st grade at EPE, and I have to say so far it has been a great school. The Principal is totally involved with the activities and demands the highest standards and quality for the students. PTA is top level... lots of activities for you to volunteer with. Fundraising is very common (maybe too often), but everything is for investment back in the school. Academic level is outstanding, and some programs are out of this world; for example, my son is having the visit of a dog and her trainer in a regular basis to the classroom, and the kids have to read to them. It's a fun way for students to improve their reading skills. Amazing place!


Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with EPE, the Principal is the most innovative Principal ever! She LISTENS and try her best to make this school the best, they have a fully bilingual program, they also have all the technology available for their students, they give us tools and online programs to help our children succeed, the teachers are great too, the assistant Principal has an amazing personality always happy and smiling, the PTA is also amazing, they do several activities during the year so the children can have a lot of specials. It's like getting private school quality education in a public school. I'm looking forward to see what else this innovative Principal brings to EPE.

Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
We moved here in Dec 2013 from IL. I was very nervous and worried after hearing so many bad things about FL schools. We could not be happier with EPE and Weston! Very good communication between staff and parents. They really get everyone involved! Would highly recommend this school!!

Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
We have had children at this school for 9 years. Under the new principal, things are nothing short of amazing here! She is energetic and so innovative! Under her leadership, the school has become a bilingual school, has added a preK program, has created exciting new after school activities, and participates in the Digital 5 program where each 5th grader has their own laptop (which she is now bringing into the 4th grade)! The school also has both a very strong PTA and a separate Foundation, which support the school through programs and fundraising.


Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Eagle Point elementary has a very family-oriented school culture. This is our first year at Eagle Point Elementary. Last year, both my daughters were in another elementary school in Weston. Both my 3rd grader & 5th grader love their current school. They unanimously said that this school has more programs, more hardworking teachers, larger campus & friendlier environment. EPE is one of a few schools in Broward County to pioneer the Digital 5 program. I am so glad my 5th grader has a chance to be part of this program. The PTA is very strong and they welcome talents to participate in various committees to make EPE the best school at Weston. With a great principal, a strong PTA, a friendly & conducive environment, I am sure EPE will thrive. I recommend EPE to everyone/anyone interested in residing in Weston.

Eagle Point Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Eagle Point Elementary has exceed my expectations. We moved from California last year and we established residence in Weston based on the school recommendations. My son was a little worried about his new school and all the things that comes with it: new kids, new teachers, new place, etc. Since the first day, the school staff make us feel like we were in home, my son s teacher is great, she has been a great mentor. My son is extremely happy and is learning a lot. The school has a program for 5th grade where the kids are using computers for the class, all the text books are loaded on my son s school laptop, and all the tasks and homework's are assigned, done, submitted and checked on the class system. I think EPE is a one highly innovative school. I do not hesitate to recommend the school for any parents that are considering to establish residence in Weston, FL. This school is just GREAT!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Point Elementary School
100 Indian Trace, Weston, FL  33326
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (754) 323-5500
Last modified Eagle Point Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top