Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Country Isles Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 956 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2008

My daughter is going to 4th grade. The teachers and staff are excellent. I like that they get the parents involved in alot of things. The aftercare is excellent. I love this school and would recommend it to anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

My son attends Country Isles Elementary and absolutely loves it! He is in his second year and I feel confident and comfortable with the academic curriculum and the with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

two of my children attended this school for 1-5 grade. we loved the teachers, all of whom gave special attention to our children when they needed it. the teachers were very good at alerting us to school activities and telling us when our children needed some help with a subject. the staff can be a little stuffy at times (the Weston Effect) but overall, a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

Experienced teachers and friendly staff. Music, art programs are very good. Safe and quiet atomosphere. Parent involvement is good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 23, 2006

Country Isles has been a positive experience for my daughter, largely because of the teachers she has had so far. Most of the teachers are very good, and some are superstars. She is in the gifted program which has been 'overhauled' recently. Without this effort we would have moved her to a different school, but the new principal seems to be very committed to making this school the very best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

Excellent school woth exceptional programs for challenged students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

Country Isles is a good school which offers an array of programs. CIA offers quality academic programs with qualified teachers to implement the programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2005

The teachers at Country Isles are wonderful. They care about my children and both of my children are getting an excellent education. This is a terrific school. Also, there is a very active parent association at the school so I always feel included and welcome to help in classrooms and in school activities. This has been a super experience for my kids and me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

My son has been through K-5 at this school mostly in the special ed environment. Now my younger son is finishing first grade. I have nothing but great things to say about this school. The teaching staff and administration are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Our children have learned a lot at Country Isles. The teachers are very good and the children are behaved for the most part. The lunchroom is very scary. I have no idea how anyone eats. The tables are so dirty, as is the floor. The noise level is unbearable. There isn't any teachers to supervise and the children go crazy. Also, the teachers are very impersonal toward the parents. They show little empathy in a variety of situations. They believe rules are rules without ever considering trying to understand or hear out individual circumstances. School has become a more of an impersonal factory, everyone at Country Isles is a number not a person. The cold impersonal attitude is reflected in the front office. Don't expect to see a smile or be remembered from one day to the next. I think this school is an unfortunate sign of the times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

Don't be fooled by the Fcat scores. Country Isles is the only school in the area with special programs for kids with learning disabilities and the scoring doesnt discriminate this fact. Probably one of the best schools in Weston, Country Isles provides a healthy eviroment for growing kids. Most teachers are excellent; others fall on the average category but with a good overall support of the schools this has very little effect on the overall picture. You can sense a lot of good will among staff and parents making this school a pleasure to belong to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

Wonderful teachers and suppport staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

I think the administration sets the tone of the school. It's a very nurturing environment for my first grader. My child's teacher this year and her kindergarten teacher always made my husband and I feel so welcome. Amazing shows put on by the music teacher. It's a school as I remember school to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

At Country Isle Elementary my kids did pretty good. They have good teachers, the only thing is that sometimes they can be a 'little cold', if you need some information specially at the main office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

At Country Isle my kid sometimes felt he was under a microscope, he felt he should be a robot and not able to express himself several times. Discipline is perfect, but when it goes to an extreme, it can create in a kid the idea that discipline is equal to stay quiet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

My child enjoys attending this school although we have had a few teasing incidents with some 'problem kids.' I think the teachers should tighten up on the discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2004

This is a great school and am very glad to have come here. My son and I were very weary of changing schools for his last 2 years of elementary, but it all worked out fine. His 4th grade teacher was wonderful and was there for him a lot during very tough times in a tragic time for our family. His 5th grade teacher I was a little leary of (never having a man teacher before) but he is the absolute best. He makes the kids want to learn and come to school everyday. Mrs. Murray (even though this is her last year) is wonderful to the kids and parents and always goes that extra mile to get all things done for all. Our school is able to go on field trips thanks to her and all of the great teachers here that work the overtime (with no pay) so that they can all benefit from this wonderful school. I would say to all, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

This is our first year at Country Isles. My child is in Kindergarten. We just love the school. I haven't had any problems with the teachers, PTA or staff. Everyone is very helpful & friendly. My child has learned alot in Ms. Bavuso's class and I wouldn't trade her for anyone else. I really like all the parent participation that is allowed. All of the extra activities are great too...keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

My kids and I have been at Country Isles for four years and can only say positive things. The teachers and staff continually go above and beyond and that is a reflection of the leadership of the school. I came to Florida thinking that the only way to a good education was through private school and boy was I wrong. It is my opionion that Country Isles has taught us that a good education may be at a private school but a GREAT EDUCATION can be found at our school. Sure, I stay on top of what is going on at school but any well concerned parent plays that role. Additionally, I continually comment to our educators that I have never before met such well-mannered, respectful young people. There's obviously something going on right at Country Isles Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

I was sorry to read one of the comments about a child not having a good experience at CIE. We have been associated with this school for 5 years and have had nothing but a great experience. The teachers go above and beyond what is expected of them. Country Isles is a wonderful school. You can't go wrong choosing this school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

157 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 40%
Black 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MINDY MORGAN
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5290

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 Country Isles Road
Weston, FL 33326
Phone: (754) 323-5250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT