Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Country Isles Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 923 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

I moved to Weston from Miami because of the great school reputation. I am alittle when I compare CIE to the charter school they attended in Miami. No Spanish or second language class ( great disadvantage considering the global community we live in), dismissal is too early and grading system for k -2 is confusing and vague. Odviously these are all broward county issues, but I wanted to address. As far as CIE, their dismissal system is completely chaotic and which makes me concerned for my child's security. Their last school had the child with their teacher the whole time until they were handed to their parent and used a dash board and walkie system to move the Car lines along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My child attends CIE. She loves the school and her teacher. My biggest issues would be A) lunch is at 10:30AM for 2nd grade B) Lack of security during release C) it seems the PTA solicits quite alot from families. I have seen actual emails and handouts requesting $ for a teachers gift. In my opinion uncalled for and puts those with less in a bad position. Outside of that great school and environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Great teachers and school staff. Not to happy with the attitude of some PTA members but not all of them are the same. There are people that is doing a great job for the school and as a parent Im grateful with them. I just will love to see a little more of security in the campus for the children. Thanks Country Isles Elementary. Great job!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

I have two kids at CIE, and they both enjoy it, immensely. The teachers are experienced and and do a good job focusing on the individual student, even in a group setting. My kids are in 2nd and 4th .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

my daughter just started 1 st grade and she loves her school and teacher. After a month i can say the teacher is very nice and cares about all her students. I meet other staff members from the school and everyone seems nice and helpful. I'm so pleased my daughter is part of the school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Our sons school is amazing. The PTA is made up of some amazing,dedicated, loyal people. Every teacher my stepson had from K-3 has been, Challenging, Interactive, Engaging, Creative, Aware, Involved with Patients. The dedication that the entire staff at Country Isles Elementary has is moving and inspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Friendly, innovative teachers who truly care about developing each child's potential. I deliberately moved to this school district so that my child may has an opportunity to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

Bad teacher quality, if child not in gifted class, child is a problem, there label as a problem. I do not recommend this school terrible experience and poor quality staff they don't care if the have to teach is a problem they want the kids learned already...guess is for rate pay they get. GIVE THE SCHOOL A SAD FACE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

It starts with the Principal and V. Principal's positive attitude that spreads to the teachers. This positive attitude is contagious and the students thrive helping them to be confident about themselves. The strong family involvement and the open communication with family is priceless. This attitude continues in the after care program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Country Isle Elementary School is a beautiful school that offers its students the very best in education as well as special events to enrich the childrens' lives. It is obvious the teachers really care and love the students. The PTA works hard to offer physical and fiinancial support I simply adore my daughter's 4th grade teacher, as well as every teacher she's had to date. You can tell that the principal, Mrs. Tonya Frost is passionate about the welfare of her students and staff. Even though CIE is an older school its creativity and commitment overcomes every obstacle. My daughter is a straight A student and that's because CIE nurtures her and helps to develope a young lady who will make a difference in this world... because CIE makes a difference in her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My son and I love Country Isles because of their outstanding and knowledgeable teachers and staff. They are very structured and detailed oriented. They have an entusiasthic attitude that makes the kids happy to go to school and I think that is what is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I love Country Isles Elementary School because of the very devoted teachers. They are excellent and really go out of their way to help each child with their individual needs. You can tell that they really care. They also accommodate parents very well also. The staff is also very professional and always helpful. The school is also very unique with its special programs like Winterfest. It is also very well maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

We love this school because it has a great sense of community, great layout with the central area being a wonderful outdoor quad with a garden, and the teachers and staff have been there for years and seem happy. All that and an A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Because the teachers and staff make our kids their number one priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It's a wonderful place for our children to grow and learn. The teachers and staff are dedicated and enthusiastic and take the schools motto, 'educating responsible citizens' to heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

In Country Isles everybody truly cares, great staff and dedicated teachers. For my family this school is a special blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Because Teachers and Staff are working hard to guarantee that they 'Teach to the whole Child' and NOT just to the Test! Parent Task Forces have been created to run independent Art & Reading programs to leave no child behind and to compensate for Budgetary shortages. We are developing a Legislative arm of the PTA to stay abreast of new laws, budgets and reductions so as to be able to be proactive and find ways to supplement so our children don't pay the biggest price of bloated Government waste and bureauocracy. We have a heavy emphasis on Recycling and are focused on using our Corporate and Community resources to make sure that every child has the same enriching programs to supplement their core subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

I like this school. I was a bit nervous after reading all the reviews but after half a year with my son in Kindergarten I am very impressed. I love his teacher and believe he is learning at a great academic pace. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

i think this a good school,i am not to impress with the 4th grade this year.My daughter is not gifted but she is not being challenged enough. I also feel some of the 5th grade teachers donot prepare the kids enough for middle school unless you are in the gifted class. My daughter definitley did not recieve enough in 4th grade this year,i purchased a book to give her extra work.Overall it is a great school to start off,i just think it needs to step it up in the higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

I can not say anything negative. Country Isles Elementary has been wonderful in my daughter's education she had special needs and the school was able to provide her with all the tools and experienced teachers to make her succeed and level up. She is going to second grade. She is doing GREAT!. Great communication with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

157 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Hispanic 38% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Tonya Frost
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5290

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 Country Isles Rd
Weston, FL 33326
Phone: (754) 323-5250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT