Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everglades Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 945 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

Principal Tillinger is the best! He happily met with us and answered all our questions about the curriculum. We've been at 4 different schools, because of my husband's job and this is by far the best school ever! Like any good organization, quality starts at the top and Principal Tillinger has created a phenomenal learning environment where everyone works together. My three children have received a first class education and we are so grateful my realtor suggested we buy a home in the Everglades neighborhood. If you want the best school, Everglades is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We arrived from another country and enrolled our child in second grade two years ago. She is now in fourth grade. The quality of the leadership, particularly the principal, of the teachers and of the rest of the staff working at this school is outstanding. They offer a perfect combination of academic excellence, opportunities to develop various talents the children may have through activities they carry out during and after school, and this is done in a nurturing learning community that prepares students for the challenges of the future. Finally, an important aspect for parents coming from out of the country, they are proud of being a school were many nationalities are represented, and will make your child feel at home from day 1. We come from a prestigious private institution in another country, and we are can confirm that, being a public school, Everglades is all about excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

The principal is phenomenal. Excellent faculty and staff. This school has high academic standards.I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Outstanding! It all starts with positive leadership. Principal, teachers, office staff are all A+ As the school song goes...."Catch our spirit, catch it while you can.....Everglades spirit, it's the best school in the land!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

My son attended Everglades from Kindergarten to 5th grade. The academic level is outstanding! Teachers are highly educated and have constant communications with parents, Mr Tillinger is a great Principal, Staff is caring and loving, without no doubt I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My son attended Kindergarten with Mrs. Crowe. She is a great teacher. She is experienced and can makes sure your child is challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

The post by Sheri in December 2006 has been my experience also. The expectations are unrealistic. The children are pushed to far too soon. I know several other parents also have had to get tutors. We came from an excellent school system. Our previous school was able to maintain a great rating while realizing that children have limits. There is no freedom to be a child at this school. The grade level work is too advanced. We do 2 to 3 hours of homework a night. We've also had to hire a tutor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

We were hesitant to relocate with a Kindergartener, after the school year started, but everyone made our transition easy and I've been extremely impressed! It's so obvious that his teacher goes above and beyond to teach the kids in a fun way to help them learn. My son is coming home daily with tons of new knowledge. And happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

Our child has attended Everglades for three years now and has had a high-quality educational experience. Teachers are brilliant and caring; administrative staff are very responsive to our needs. We are willing to pay more for our house so that we can live within the school boundary and take advantage of Weston schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers and the staff are great, they do their best to educate and care our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

This school is excellent. It is an A+ school with a great principal, Mr. Tillinger, and a wonderful administrative staff that are always available to assist. The teachers my children have had are excellent and many of them have been with the school for 5-10 years. They have a strong gifted student program, as well as being an ESE magnet school. The premises are spotless which makes for a healthy learning environment. the music and art programs are outstanding. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

My daughter has been at Everglades for the past 3 years and each year I have been happy with both her academic and social growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

While I could go on for a number of paragraphs, I'll share simply the overriding dynamic that makes Everglades a superior public elementary school (even in a small city full of highly-rated elementary schools): The positive attitude, genuine concern for the students' academic and personal success, excellent academic preparedness of the schools' educators, and desire to be an open-door school that keeps open the lines of communication with its families very naturally trickles down -- from the administration (principal and assistant principal) to the teachers, to the office and support staff, and the PTA. How lucky we are to be in this district and to have our children attend Everglades Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

We are very pleased with Everglades. It is like a private school at public school prices. The parents are very involved. The principal, vice principal and majority of teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I have two childrens that goes to everglades, one of them is very special, she has down sindrome, she has 12 yrs old, since the beginning this school has been the best thing we have seen, the close contact with the teachers, their programs, the profesionalism from the whole staff, from botton to principals, this school remains a 5 star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

In 2005 I rated this school as 5 star, and it still remains a 5 star school.The administration,teachers and all support staff can only be rated as outstanding. It is now the end of third grade for one child, who is so prepared academically and emotionally thanks to her teacher Mrs. Haines and Mrs. Machado from the prior year. My twins who are so different academically but Mrs. Winer and Mrs Silverman have helped both boys soar through the roof. I, as a gifted teacher in Miami Dade County for 21 years, can truly say that the level of learning and parental involvement at Everglades Elementary is superior to most. I look forward to many more positive and productive years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

An awesome school. When you're there, it feels like a small quaint school setting because the administration and staff are so personable, genuine, and caring. The administration has an open door policy and are very approachable and accessible. My child's teacher is incredible and loves working there. Strong and supportive PTA and volunteer group. I can't say enough nice things about this school. I just wish it went up to 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

Fabulous school! The homes in my neighborhood sell at a premium specifically related to the desire to attend Everglades. Because of this, there are very few homes for sale in my neighborhood as compared to other neighborhoods in the city. In addition to the strong leadership of the administration and the friendly office staff, the teachers are awesome. The staff have a wonderful moral and attitude which is set by the administration and trickles down to the students. I have had kids in every grade at this school and have been very pleased. The teachers truly go above and beyond. My kids can't wait to get up in the morning and go to school. This school is like a private school for FREE. The PTA is strong and its leadership is well liked by all. The drama and art clubs are spectacular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

My children attended another excellent public school in New Jersey before we moved to Weston this summer. I was expecting the same type of education and curriculum at Everglades. I was wrong. It is all about the FCAT exam and parents are almost forced to hire tutors for their children to compete with the unrealistic academic expectations. I am also horrified by the lack of 'non-FCAT' time. What happened to balanced education? If you want to spend 2-3 hours a night with kid home work and if you want to hire a tutor so the school can continue to receive high FCAT scores, enroll your child in Everglades. If you want balanced elementary education, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Any concerns that I've had as a parent regarding my two sons have all been attended in the most efficient, caring and personable way. From the Principal to the Teachers, to the Office Administration and Cafeteria. Our family belongs to the Everglades 'Otter' family. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 43%
White 40%
Asian 10%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Bonaventure Boulevard
Weston, FL 33331
Phone: (754) 323-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT