Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everglades Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 945 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2006

This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for some kids, but not for gifted children. We wanted to test our son for gifted program but we were told that there is no such program for KG. After some investigation we found that there is such program and we contacted the school and told them the source of information. Very reluctantly they agreed to test him for this program. It takes months before you can get the appointment for the test. The staff at schools who runs this program are not ready to put any efforts at all. Another disappointment was safety issues. Our son was injured on playground and we have to put 14 stitches to his face. We think that this could have been avoided if the teacher was present at the playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

My daughter loves her 1st grade teacher so much, that on picture day, she wanted her hair to look just like her teachers'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

This school is known for its warm and pleasant atmosphere and extremely accessibly administration. The school has an 'open door' policy, where it always seemed that parental concerns and demands were are usually met, even when teachers don't agree. Every year there seems to be a new or group of very demanding parents who always seem to get whatever they want. These may be some of the reasons why there is a high turnover of teachers each year, and they are often replaced by brand new teachers and new graduates. This bothers many parents, but the overall impression is very positive and the school is consistently 'A' rated, so it seems to be working out pretty well anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

This is a wonderful school. The parent, teacher, admin relationships are good. Strong PTO. There is an excellent program for exceptional students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Wonderful teachers ( especially Mrs. Ready) Principal, parents very active. Clean , safe, located in affluent safe neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

My son and I are so happy at this A rated school. He gets so much attention from the staff. It truly is the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

My son has been attending Everglades Elementary since Kindergarten, he will be entering the 5th grade in August. My daughter also attends and will be entering the 2nd grade in August. The staff, administration and parent envolvement is outstanding. My children and myself feel safe at Everglades. mr. Tillinger is an excellent principal that makes it a point to know all his students. Thank you Everglades for making my children's elementary school experience a positive one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

My typical child has attended this school K-5th grade and was an excellent school. Lots of parent involvement... ESE department is another story. Underqualified teachers in clusters, lack of communication between admin. and teachers, principal doesn'e seem to care about the ESE kids... 3 children from my autism cluster have been pulled from this class alone and sent to other schools. Autism coach is leaving, new teacher hired this year for next already quit... red flags all over the place. Be careful with the ESE services, you have to fight for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

This is my 2nd year at Everglades Elementary. Next year my twins will be enrolled in the kindergarten. My daughter Lexi has had another wonderful year thanks to her outstanding teacher, Mrs. Winer. Also a special thanks to Mr. Tillenger, our outstanding principal. They are what our education system is about. Quality teaching, dedication and a love for the students. Thanks again for another great year and more to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I have always been very pleased with Everglades Elementary in Weston. My daughter attended there from K-5 and is now at Falcon Cove Middle. My son is currently in 3rd grade at Everglades. His 3rd grade teacher Ms Brewton is fabulous and always has my son's best interests in mind. Mr. Tillinger and Mrs Sauve are dedicated to the success and accomplishments of the entire school. I have absolutely no complaints at this time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

At Everglades my kids are really happy. Quality of teachers is great. They are friendly and very good at their job. Wish only a little bit more of organization at the pick up time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

It is pretty clear that some people ar confusing this school with the one in Miami who sharews our same name. We have the same principal since this school began and he does an outstanding job for our community. We have never had a band director or multiple assistant principals. People, please know the school you comment about before you speak. We are proud to be part of such an excellent school and all my neighbors are extremely pleased with the leadership of our principal. He is the most approachable and supportive principal my family has ever met. This is the best school in the entire neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

I am an intern at the school and it is wonderful! Teachers who do not even know who I am always give a smile or hello in the hallway. This school welcomes more parent volunteers and high school volunteers, than any other school I have seen. The children all receive the attention they require through loving and caring educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

There are many great teachers at this school. I found some problems with the resource room. The resource room has not been ready to open the first day of school and there have been many problems with having appropriate material for these students. I also found the principal not willing to step up to the plate and help get this room ready to go with a teacher and supplies starting on the first day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2003

My daughter is in her third year at Everglades and we have loved her school up until this year. Her teacher this year is a bit too tough on the kids and most are fearful of her. My daughter is afraid to ask for assistance and is made an example of in front of the entire class if she forgets an assignment or needs help with an assignment. I called Mr. Tillinger to express my concerns and he did not even bother to return my phone call. It has been 2 months and I am still waiting. He is never available whenever I call. The assistant prinicpal was nasty and rude with me on the phone. I am looking into a charter school for the next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2003

We are new to Weston and to Everglades Elementary. We have found the principal to be 'first class', the teachers to be very friendly and accomodating. We are so pleased with our decision to send our first grader to Everglades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

My son will begin the 5th grade this year (4th year at Everglades) and we have enjoyed every year. Each of the teachers have been unique in their own ways but have done an excellent job. The administration and principle have handled any issue immediately and professional! Excluding the class sizes it has to be the best public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2003

My daughter is going into 2nd grade, and I've yet to be disappointed with anything. The teachers are excellent, and the principal is extremely 'hands-on.' The parent involvement is overwhelming. Everyone volunteers! It is a pleasure to be a part of this nurturing school. My family lives in The Ridges and won't move, just so we can continue to go to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2003

The school's administrations and teachers are great! Just don't let your child be a 'square' instead of 'circle' like most kids....the principal and executive management wouldn't know what to do with him/her. I withdrew my son from this school and is now an honor student in his present school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 43%
White 40%
Asian 10%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Bonaventure Boulevard
Weston, FL 33331
Phone: (754) 323-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT