Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gator Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1186 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Gator Run has been a rewarding experience for both of my kids. Parents are very involved and the school is challenging, safe and friendly. I am surprised and sad to see when others don't have a good experience. Hopefully there are only a couple bad seeds in this school because I would love for my kids to keep thriving the way they have the past two years. They come home with smiles and they are learning so much. The principal is outside greeting families with a huge smile and he updates everyone by phone. I'm happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

Shame on you Gator Run. We had a mediocre first grade teacher. I requested my son to be switched to a different classroom at the beginning of the year but the principal did not accomodate. My son who used to be a super involved enthusiastic student has now lost all interest in learning due to the lack of teacher guidance and involvement. Now the teacher "took a vacation leave" and left her class 10 days before the end of the school year. What kind of teacher does that?! Shame on you :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

I am happy with the school. I moved from California two years ago and comparing schools, Gator Run is better organized, safety is excellent (nobody can enter the school if not approved as a volunteer - checked background, and must sign in in the forgot office) ,the new principal amazing, he is so involved in everything: he is everywhere, greets all students and parents, even run in the Boosterthon race and attended with his family a local restaurant to help collect funds for the school. My sons are happy at this school. Both teachers are excellent. Just in first grade I was not satisfied with the teacher, she was not aware of things she did not notice my son being a potential for the gifted program and even suggested he would not succeed. Totally wrong, I had him tested and he is doing wonderful in the gifted program for 2 years and had excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I have really nothing good to say about my daughter's experience at this school other than making friends. There are some bad things about this school and i will mention just two of them. 1. Car traffic in the mornings is horrible. You wait almost 30 minutes in line and staff at gator run dont seem to care to adress the problem. 2. The Teacher that my daughter had was terrible. Teacher was lack of all good qualities a good caring devoted teacher should have. I dont want to give details but my daughter learned more in pre-k than kindergarden. One thing i will say the parents seem more enthusiastic helping the kids than the own teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

My son started Kindergarten in this school this year and we are now beginning our second semester here. For 2 years prior, he attended the Montessori school in Weston. I find that the curriculum is far behind what he was studying in the Montessori, though it rivals other high-ranking public elementary schools. Parent involvement is really what makes this school great. In kindergarten, students have plenty of individualized attention with parents volunteering in the classroom daily. I do love the fact that there is an advanced reading program in Kindergarten. There is a LOT of diversity (mainly White, Latino and Chinese) though many cultures and religions are represented and the district is highly affluent and worldly; the cultures seem to get along very well. The school could improve on the following: playground equipment, time spent outside (currently approximately 2 recesses per week), foreign language offering (none at the moment), and some staffers' attitudes toward students and parents (oftentimes condescending; the principal and staff will yell at classes at lunch and in the hallways, and staff scolds parents instead of patiently explaining.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

This is my daughter's first year at Gator Run and I could not be more pleased! Reading through the reviews, I am shocked to see some of the complaints- we have had nothing but the most wonderful experience. I could not be happier with the quality of the school and the education my daughter is receiving. I look forward to the next several years at Gator Run!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

The car pool line is ineffective. Lazy parents park in the front lot, drop their kids, block traffic while walking back to their cars while we sit in line and wait. Administration greets them while they block traffic and we sit and wait. It causes extra traffic as they exit the parking lot .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Best school, best teachers, best principal, superb education,everyone has a positive attitude, love it !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

I was an intern at Gator Run for two years. This was the best elementary school I had the chance to work with. The teachers are excellent as well as the principle. Being an intern I was able to see 'behind the scenes' in many classrooms. Trust me: this school is great. Besides the wonderful education, parent participation and security, this school has a great materials to meet each child's needs and create unique activities. A++


Posted August 30, 2009

This school has it together. The car pool this year is organized! The prinicipal was visible the first day of school and at the meet and greet. She seems very pleasant and has a very well run office staff as well as excellent teachers. I am impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

Horrible principal. Never can be seen around school after the first week of school. Make decisions based on what is beneficial for her and her kids since they also attend Gator Run. And carpool this year is a joke!! What a complete mess!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

Our child has been at Gator Run K-5 and will now be going to middle school. The quality of the teaching has been excellent and our child recently received 3 fives on the FCAT (reading, math, and science) this year. Many of our friends pulled their kids from Sagemont to send them to Gator Run, as the quality of the education is on par with private school programs. The quality of the schools is one of the many perks of living in Weston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

This is an excellent school. Teachers are challenging and loving. The office staff is really friendly and helpful, yet security is tight. I know my kids are safe each day. The test scores are evidence of the exceptional education and parent involvement is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Teachers are great. They are willing to challenge the students regardless of what level they are on. I found most of the office staff to be helpful. I have volunteered there on a regular basis and have yet to see the principal. She seems to be locked behind a door. In fact, I thought the Vice Principal was the actual principal until another parent informed me of the mix up. However, security is great. You don't need to worry about their safety when you drop your kids off. Great education and great security!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

I have a 3rd grader and a Kindergardener attending Gator Run and we love it.....The school is clean, staff is friendly and the teachers are awesome!!! The kids love going to school there and are learning so much....I say yes attend school here...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Gator Run gives too much homework and parent's are expected to be involved in every homework and projects assigned. Without parent involvement kids are clueless. I wonder where my tax dollars are going to? I seem to be educating my own child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

All three of my children attend/have attended Gator Run. My oldest son, now in middle school, started at Gator Run in Kindergarten all the way through the 5th grade. I can't say enough about this school. Wonderful teachers, wonderful support staff. The carpool drop off and pick up is no worse than any other school. Good, tight security (never a problem when visiting the school for events...everything runs smoothly). Event parking is an issue but doable and seems to improve each time. The school improves on itself every year. I have two children still attending Gator Run. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

I have been there for a year. I love the school. The teachers are great. I like that they want to take extra precautions for the school to be safe. Will highly recommend the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

What makes this school great is the teaching. The teachers deliver a quality education in a caring environment. It's evident they love their job. I don't care about the long carpool lines or tight security when there are only 18 students in a class and my children are thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

Gator Run is an excellent school, if you are moving to the area I highly recommend it! Teachers are what make the school and they have A+ teachers (besides the great security). Your typical snooty 'Weston Mom' might not be pleased, but my 3 kids are very happy and getting a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

203 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

245 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 39%
Asian 5%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1101 Glades Parkway
Weston, FL 33327
Phone: (754) 323-5850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT