Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Weston, FL
Students enrolled: 1,186
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gator Run Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
One of many examples includes the following: Child 1, my child, is waiting in line to get on the swing. Child 2, cuts in front of every one waiting, including Child 1, and jumps on the swing. Child 1 goes up to Child 2 and says it was his turn. Child 2 then punches Child 1 in the chest. Child 1 then kicks Child 2 in the stomach. Child 2 falls down crying. Child 1 is the ONLY one in trouble. Sound fair?

Gator Run Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Homework given was hardly ever. The HW that was assigned was considered extra help if the student wanted to do it so it wasn't mandatory. Teacher wouldn't go over it. When my husband and I would meet with the teacher, which was monthly, her excuse for not reviewing was due to so much having to get covered in such little time according to the Broward County School Board. She said it was too much information and she didn't have enough time to get it done. So I guess that means "too bad, so sad" for our students.


Gator Run Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
This school didn't do anything to help it's students that were struggling. As mentioned before, more than half of the class was struggling. They truly didn't care about the students success.

Gator Run Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My child was struggling along with more than 50% of the class. Nothing was being done about it. Met with the principle, Mr. Peters- waste of time. I tried getting my child moved to another class and he didn't give it two thoughts. Answer was a straight up no. Apparently Mr. Peters does not support giving homework either. THAT MAKES A LOT OF SENSE! Teachers walk around on the phones all day and the only communication was through this phone app "Dojo." Assignments were always sent home late. Materials were never given for the projects as told. When my husband and I would request graded tests, we wouldn't receive them until WEEKS later when we were told they would be sent home the following Monday. And along with the teachers and the principle, the front office staff was extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. This school had such high ratings- Why? I took my child to a private school and we're not having any issues. I will never recommend this school to anyone. Sadly, I don't have anything good to say about Gator Run Elementary. My child loved school in general, loves to learn. However, it got to the point where she didn't even want to return to the school. Her self-esteem dropped completely. It was so upsetting to see her go through this. Everything changed when I pulled her and put her into a new school.

Gator Run Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
My son loves his school, his teachers and everything that relates to it. I'm happy when is it!!


Gator Run Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Incredible school! My children love going to school everyday. Principal, teachers, and staff care about all the students. If you are considering an elementary school in Weston, this is by far an incredible school!

Gator Run Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
This school has some major problems that doesn't seem to get fixed! If you are in gifted than this is the school for you! If not I would not bother moving to this district. The parents are nice but the only some of the teachers actually teach. I just found out that that the new principal does not believe in homework! Wow! That is crazy!

Gator Run Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Excelent Elementary Excelent Teachers Excelent Staff!!! Excelent PRINCIPAL Pretty nice environment, the ESOL system is very hepful, I don't have any complaint about it...


Gator Run Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Gator Run has been a rewarding experience for both of my kids. Parents are very involved and the school is challenging, safe and friendly. I am surprised and sad to see when others don't have a good experience. Hopefully there are only a couple bad seeds in this school because I would love for my kids to keep thriving the way they have the past two years. They come home with smiles and they are learning so much. The principal is outside greeting families with a huge smile and he updates everyone by phone. I'm happy.

Gator Run Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Shame on you Gator Run. We had a mediocre first grade teacher. I requested my son to be switched to a different classroom at the beginning of the year but the principal did not accomodate. My son who used to be a super involved enthusiastic student has now lost all interest in learning due to the lack of teacher guidance and involvement. Now the teacher "took a vacation leave" and left her class 10 days before the end of the school year. What kind of teacher does that?! Shame on you :(

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gator Run Elementary School
1101 Glades Pkwy, Weston, FL  33327
(754) 323-5850
Last modified Gator Run Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gator Run Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. Top