Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Charter School At Weston

Charter | K-5 | 790 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My school is excellent. The teachers and the administrative staff are incredibly gentle and professional. My daughter performance in school improved extremely once she entered in this school. The environment is very disciplined but at the same time, they are sweet and cooperatives with parents and students. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

This is the our first year at the middle school and we are impressed with the quality of education that our child is receiving. The middle school is small enough so there is control over students. The teachers are well qualified and emphasize discipline, responsibility, and independence. The rigor of the work is discouraging to students who do not desire to study but overall, the hard worker and overachiever will do well. The school's environment is geared towards producing quality work. The students succeed are the ones who put in the hard work expected by the middle school curriculum. It is a friendly environment where peer pressure is almost non-existent. We are really pleased with the staff and the environment suits us well. The uniforms are a plus. We were not looking for a middle school with hundreds of students. The only downside to this school is that sports and transportation to students living outside the area are limited.Otherwise, it is worth the lottery selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Recently I withdrew my children from this school. The reasons, somehow obvious, but to mention a few: over the years, this school has lost too many valuables teachers; the ones remaining, some are good, but many need to improve their learning and communication with students. The new staff at the front office is very rude; I don't know how they manage their way into an office position this year, maybe it was because of a bad reference. Administration has changed so much over the years, that they can't keep the school/students/teacher organized. The school grounds are dirty and not well kept. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Different than others reviews this school is loosing value, at the beginning was ok, not excellent but ok. Thru the years is loosing touch with the community and kids, administration is change so many times that lost consistency, academically some good teachers make the school survive thru the standard state test. The old personnel still there, do not have good manners, lack of leadership, too many rules that do not work. Mornings are very dangerous, unorganized, no parking facilities, police presence is there but do not resolve the issue. Drivers and a lot of parents are rude. They do not comply what they claim in their web sites and marketing. School surroundings are ugly and dirty, front desk very unorganized. I have my kids for 4 years and I see all the good and the bad, in general school has a behavior problem, bulling is one of them which is not address properly. Too many kids in a small building they mix middle school and elementary with no resources, kids do not have opportunities to grow. Some teachers are good, the rest need experience and education. PTA is the same for years not to helpful. They did good but today is not the same. I will not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

I considered Imagine Charter School at Weston is excellent . The front office staff is amazing and always offer their best smile to help me. My daughter is in the bilingual program during 4 years which is great because she is learning two languages perfectly. I 'm very happy with my school and strongly recommend to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My child has been in the school for 4 years and we are extremely pleased with the education and faculty. It is the best school to be at !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

This is my 2nd year at this school and I only have amazing things to say. The teachers are awesome. They take the time to always involve the parents, and advise of their children's progress. They have many extracurricular activities available for the kids after school. The also host many family activities through out the year. They do require lots of parental involvement but that is what makes the school the best in Weston!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

EXCELLENT SCHOOL, IMAGINE AT WESTON has met and exceeded my expectation s. The teachers are professional and caring. They take time to discuss kid s progress and are very knowledgeable about them their strengths and weaknesses. Many of the teachers have been there for years, a very good sign. The Staff knows all the children and parents, and there are hundreds of them. They always address any concerns in a polite and friendly manner. . The school has hosted many school-wide family activities and parents are made to feel very welcome and appreciated. Imagine is so large for a very good reason, they have many satisfied parents. The Bilateral academic program is outstanding. I couldn't ask for more peace of mind when I drop my son off in the morning...Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

This school is excellent!! I am extremely pleased that my daughter could attend this school, from your teacher all the members of this school do a great job! the communication with the teacher is excellent and parents can get involved in the education of our children that to me is extremely important. I recommend it 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

Great school! The teachers, secretary, principal and administrators are there to help you and your child. Teachers are always communicating and they all work as a team. Parents involvement is unbelievable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

Yes it's the first day but we had to rate our experience . We have our little one in Kindergaten. She came back home happy of being in the class. The teacher already sent us updates via email about the activities done during the day. Seems like communication is a big thing and we love it. It was worth the wait!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

My 3rd child is at this school, and it continues to improve every year. The leadership and performanance of the school under Imagine and Mrs Vernon is at it's best. My child partipates in the bi-literate program and what a GREAT opportunity to graduate from 5th grade knowing how to read and write in both English and Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

This is my 2nd grader's first year at this school and I wish I could give it MORE than 5 Stars!!! The principal is absolutely amazing and the staff is wonderful and VERY helpful. I LOVE LOVE LOVE my son's teacher. She really challenges him and I love it. He's learning so much. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

Nothing but absolutely fabulous feedback on this school. Everyone cares and gives their all - from the front office, to the teachers, to the principal and aftercare staff. I couldn't ask for a more positive learning environment for my somewhat sensitive son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

I am a retired teacher and administrator. I have in the past participed as a school evaluator . I have visited this school several times . My granddaughter attends this school. I am very happy with the faculty, the curriculum and the participation of the parents. I highly recommend Imagine School and Congratulate them for their good work. Dr. Aleida R. Baum


Posted October 28, 2009

I can't say enough great things about this school. I was definitely relieved when my daughter got into this school. Great parent envolvement! Your kids is not just a number in this school, everyone knows your kid by name. My daughter loves going to school. Small classes, and great teachers and staff. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Teachers and staff all seem to have the best interests of our kids in mind. They achieve great results with less funding than neighboring public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I love this school and all three of my kids have attended at different times. I have two older children that have graduated but I still have one enrolled. LOVE IT! GREAT TEACHERS ! LE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

Great School! Strong parent involvement. all grades are in separate buildings with a large courtyard in the middle for soccer, sports and games. My kids love it. They provide well rounded education for both gifted and not gifted children. Strongly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

I can can not say enough about the quality of teaching at this school. The 4th grade FCAT writing scores prove it. They have the highest scores in the county and among the highest scores in the state. The proof is in the pudding. They deliver!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
White 17%
Asian 5%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%53%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Glades Circle
Weston, FL 33327
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 659-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT