Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Bay High School

Public | 9-12 | 4375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I think 2 daughters had graduated in this school, It is an excellent school. The principal is awesome. I hope my third child could go at Cypress Bay too. Thank you so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2013

This school has an unbelievable reputation and is nationally known and recognized. It is extremely competitive and has many talented and bright students. It is a privilege to have my child attend Cypress Bay High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

My daughter just finished her Freshman Year at Cypress Bay and I cannot say enough great things about this school. She has outstanding teachers, a very caring guidance counselor, a wonderful principal, and great security. The classes are top notch and it's more like a college atmosphere than a high school. We moved to Weston for our daughter to attend this HS and we are not disappointed. It is the best HS in Broward County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

This school is absolutely incredible if you make the most of out of your time there. I worked really hard, and thanks to my incredible teachers and guidance there, am now living a dream and studying at MIT, and I feel like I am more than prepared to take on the challenges of college (even here in Cambridge). Cypress Bay only keeps getting better, as my graduating class in 2012 sent over 25 students to Ivy League Caliber schools and we have had almost 20 students admitted to MIT over the last 3 years. That being said, you have to make the most out of it; just like you can end up getting into a great college, you can also end up with a mediocre high school career and get stuck at Broward College. It's all up to you, but Cypress has all the resources to help you succeed and fulfill your potential! I love this school! CBHS Class of 2012!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2010

I'm a high functioning ESE student (one of the 2% who do not have dibilitating mental or physical problems but still qualify for support) I transeferred in from another school and I have to say, Cypress strikes way below the mark of my last school which was in a middle class area compared to Weston's upper class. I do not feel I have been accomodated. The teachers do not change their curriculum (I can comprehend everything, but work takes me twice as long). Getting a meeting with the Principal is impossible. Even their mission statement expresses the wrong idea, "Cypress Bay High School and our stakeholders are committed to developing individuals who are academically proficient, technologically capable, and socially prepared to be productive, conscientious and responsible citizens." I thought students were supposed to be the stakeholders.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

I think my son had an excellent education, I am very proud to have my son in this school. Thank you so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

WILL prepare one for college and provide all the support needed for one to succeed -- if s/he applies him/herself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

I am a Freshman at Cypress Bay. I love it the annex is okay but whenever i go to main campus i fell like i am at home. Nobody looks down on me because i am a freshman. The teachers know how to teach I feel it is a honor to go to such a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

I am very impressed with Cypress Bay High School, Main Campus. I think it is a great school with positive, and active teachers. Being one of the largest schools in the country, I am very excited about having my daughter there. I am confident in all her teachers, and feel it is a very well run school, with amazing opportunities, and a great approach for preparing students for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

This school is terrific!! I mean if you are in honor classes the teachers are great, they really try to help you as much as they can, all the students support this school and our principal. There is also way too many clubs to choose from, this school by far is best school you can choose from all of Broward
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2007

Excellent school; didn't love the 9th grade annex. It's just a bunch of trailers... a shock when you first see it but eventually will get use to it. Way way overcrowded,something must be done. Overall, it' the quality of education that counts: A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Cypress High School is a good school, but its way over crowded and I believe your will start seeing dropping test scores, and school ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

Im a senior at here and I love it. Of course we have our flaws(few) such as the overcrowding but we're a school dedicated to achievement in all areas. I've attended here for all 4 years and I do believe I have been challenged and prepared for college. Ratio wise we're the biggest in the US and the best in FL and also one of the best in the country! I do consider myself very blessed to be here. I recommend it to everyone who is a determined hardworking individual! Krystal I. C/O 07!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2006

I go to this school, and it truly is an excellent school. I have learned tons of information this year, more than I ever have before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2006

My daughter is in the ninth grade and is doing great. She has been challanged in her math courses; however, has felt that in other subject area classes she hasn't been challanged. She is very involved with the Math Club at the main campus and because of this, loves to come to school. My involvement as a parent is really just encouraging her to keep up the good work. The school doesn't recruit parents to volunteer in the classroom and at the high school level, I can see why. They keep us informed through phone calls, flyers sent home and postings on their website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

This is a good school except for the overcrowding issue which will continue until the school board does a reboundery for this school. Impossible to get all the help they need when graduating. Tired overworked teachers....Ridiculous situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Academics are excellent but school is overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

Cypress Bay high is a great school. It has great facilities and a variety of classes to choose from. Also there are regular, honor and advance placement classes that encourage the teenagers to succed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2005

This school is TOPS! I grew up in Miramar and Pembroke Pines. I see how the quality of our education system has improved tremendously. I am proud to say my children attend 'southern' state schools. Not too many years ago 'northern' state schools felt superior to us. Florida can be proud of the stricker rules and guidelines it has formed. Our leaders are to be commended for their dedication and efforts to help our children LEARN more. However, the work is still in progress. As parents we should always keep a close eye on the needs of our children. Cypress Bay needs MORE buildings to house classrooms. Our teachers and children deserve classrooms located in concrete structures, not portables. The ninth grade annex is a terrible answer. They ran out of food daily during lunch and the kids have to move from class to class in 90 degree heat and sun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Excellent High School with 2 yrs A average- campus next to newest library in Broward county. Brand new ball fields, park, extremely affluent and safe neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

1058 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

1087 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

1085 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

1095 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

778 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

1075 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

665 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 29%
White 38% 42%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 3% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 97%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Charles Neely
Fax number
  • (754) 323-0363

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18600 Vista Park Blvd
Weston, FL 33332
Phone: (754) 323-0350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL




The Master's Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Somerset Arts Conservatory
Pembroke Pines, FL


Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT