Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manatee Bay Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1179 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2009

Manatee Bay is a very good school. My son has been there for 3 years now. Curriculum should be revised. I agree with other parents on the FCAT focussed curriculum. Big difference between teachers and the way they handle their classrooms. RECESS is a big issue, spaecially for very active kids, who often get detention because they were talking, or walking around the classroon when they should be listening to the teacher. Bottom line , curriculum and recess policy should be revised. Excellent PTA and no complains about Office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I am so happy to see that I am not alone in my thoughts on Manatee Bay. As well you will notice that the majority of under 4 star ratings are in the last year. While I have my concerns and negative thoughts regarding this school I will say that academically my son has done better there than his previous 'A' school. While he has excelled academically, he has been scared emotionally. I do agree about the office staff and their lack on concern and sincerity where the kids are concerned. On a heavier note, they claim to embrace the no tolerance on bullying policy but have truly failed in that area. My son has been bullied there and emotionally scared since he came into the school a new student. After addressing it,the response is always that this generation of kids are horrible and they have to ignore it. Unacceptable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

My two sons have attended Manatee Bay the last two years and are currently in 1st and 3rd grades. We have had three great teachers and one average teacher during this time. The school has a well-deserved reputation for academics; however, the administration's curriculum is focused almost exclusively on FCAT tests. There are very few extracurricular activities or outlets for the students, however, there are lots of athletic, music and other activities available in Weston. The school s enrollment is 1,600+ and very overcrowded. I estimate 30%-40% of the students classrooms are in portable trailers outside the main facilities. The portable trailers lack restrooms, washbasins and until this year did not even have a phone for the teacher! Portable trailers should be short-term solutions, but Broward County schools have been using them for years. The portable trailers are sited on what would be the schools playground. Physical education is a once a day 10-min exercise video that students perform in their classrooms. Many days students do not have recess, which I suspect is due largely to the lack or any real playground at the school. It is asking a lot for a 6-year old to focus on academics for 5-1/2 hours straight with a 30-min lunch. My youngest son has a hearing disability, and Broward County has resources to support special needs children, but applied mass. Speech therapy is conducted in groups of 3-7 students and is really focused on English as a second language, not kids with a hearing disability. Thankfully, my health insurance covers speech therapy, so my son receives the individual attention that he needs. Overall, I would give Manatee Bay a B. Solid academics, but over crowding is a major issue that stretches its limited resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

The day I enrolled my child, I saw a mother storming in who was called to pick up her child who was sick. They brought out the child and ups... they called the wrong person, little mix up with names you know, need I say more?! That is the general attitude in the front office. Many employees are unhelpful or outright rude, and others are dreadfully unclever. Some teachers are very good, others have now clue as to how to relate to their students, who are from all over the globe. If all this ( and I could go on, and on and on) earns the school a 10 then I am asking myself, how come you are rating them with a 10, or is the educational landscape so terribly grim, that this is as good as it gets ? Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I have had children in Manatee Bay since the school inaguarated. Experiencing both the worst and best teachers there. Staying involved and informed will evidently affect how your child performs but this is within any school. Nonetheless, without a doubt some people working at the school just as in any other will have certain priorities. My largest concern with Manatee Bay is that many of the students performing on average or below average ability are not being challenged enough and all of these students can excell if they are placed with teachers that have a more extensive educational background. As a whole I am very thankful that my children attended a school that provides many educational materials & such a strong PTA. Finally, the curriculum and how it is used should really be reevaluated to provide instruction that can move beyond the basals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

My daughter attends in Kinderagarten, so my experience with this school is limited. I just had agree with the other parent postings about the front office staff. When we were registering our child we were told that we had to have every bit of information right then and there or our child would not be allowed to register. Mind you, we had just moved across the country and regulations were different in our hometown. We ran out in a mad dash to get her finalized, came back and found out that we had the option of a 30 day waiver that the other woman failed to inform us on. She still could have been enrolled, without us running all over like chickens withour heads...well you know. They were rude, and short with my Husband and me. The Teacher is wonderful, but the office staff need some lessons on manners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I totally agree with the other parent, the front office is rude and not very helpful.There are way too many students in this school and it is all about who you know in the school. People always told me it was a great school, but it is not that big of a deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I have had three children attend Manatee Bay since 2002. The good things about the school: 1) There are many exta-curricular activities for the students; 2) The school has a great Media Center; 3) The parents are very involved with the school; 4) There is a high level of ability/achievement among the students The Not So Good Things: 1) The front office staff is often not helpful and sometimes rude; 2) The Administration is standoffish and not worried about parent concerns and issues; 3) There are too many students at the school; 4) As with some other schools, it's not what you do at Manatee Bay. It's who you know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

The afternoon dismissal is absolute chaos. The administration sets rules and then let the parents do whatever they want anyways. It's a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

Manatee Bay is an excellent school. They have activities and clubs for the children to participate in after school. Their drama club is one of the best I have ever seen. They put on amazing productions with such young children. The teachers really care about their students and bring out the best in them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

My daughter has been in the school for 3 years and she loves her school. In fourth grade she had a teacher that was sweet and able to bring her creativity out mostly on her writing skills. Fifth grade is coming along well and teachers are guiding them through the process of becoming more and more independent to manage their time and belongings going from class to class, in preparation for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Academic level great! Teachers are very concerned about the learning of the students! Some sports are available and a lot of parents are involved in all activities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Manatee Bay Elementary is a good school. The teachers are very dedicated to the children and the children receive a great education. The PTA is awesome. They are very involved in all school activities. The only negative about the school is the size of the student body. The school is very concerned about security and so it causes a less friendly and personal enviroment between staff, teachers, and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Manatee bay is awesome. Your child will get a quality education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Manatee Bay is an amazing school. My child enjoyed it to her fullest. When she went, it was the year the schoo actually opened and unfortunately, she only stayed one year, as she was in 5th grade. Teachers was fabulous - her favourite up to this day. (she's now finishing 8th grade) Had lots of fun, made great friends, and had a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

The staff is very friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

I had two kids in this school last year and one this year. The facilities are wonderful and the parents seem to be very involved. My biggest concern is with the FCAT. Both of my children last year got sick of 'FCAT FCAT FCAT' all the time. While I understand that the test is important, the constant harping on it was a bother. The school has been rated 'A' since it began, which is fantastic, but how about the kids learning material for the sake of learning?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

To many rules, to many regulations for such young kids, there are many immigrante kids in school that english is not their mother tongue, they need more encouragement and less rules and restrictions. luckily ,my kids teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

I was disappointed with the pressure placed on my children while at Manatee Bay. Our family was experiencing an emotional time and the administration was not very nurturing in my opinion. Instead of supporting my children, they added pressure to them and were very negative in their attempts to motivate them. I was disappointed with the atmostphere in which my young children spent most of their day. The focus of classroom work seemed to be mainly FCAT related material. Homework is given every night, which I feel is to make up for the time not spent learning the material in class. Being an 'A' school is great, but FCAT scores are not the only indication of a good school. Perhaps this is the case in most Florida schools, but I was not pleased with our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

Excellent School. Test scores good, school very clean, materials new, school is safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 32%
Asian 8%
Black 6%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19200 Manatee Isles Drive
Weston, FL 33332
Phone: (754) 323-6450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trinity Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT