Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Sagemont School, Upper School Campus

Private | 6-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Weston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $347,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2014

My children have been in Sagemont since PreK and we couldn't be happier with this school. They are now in 5th and 6th grade. The environment and the teachers make all the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

We Love "The Sagemont School". It has exceeded our expectations! Sagemont is the top College preparatory school in this area. Our daughter is a 2014 graduate who earned an athletic scholarship to further her education. Our 68 seniors combined, earned over 6 million dollars in merit scholarship money. Our son is a rising junior and we are looking forward to his future, as Sagemont guide the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

Our son is happy and challenged to the fullest at the Sagemont Upper School. He is able to take classes beyond his grade level in areas of talent, and he is learning how to write exceptionally well and integrate multiple subjects and skills into projects (e.g. science fair) and problem solving. His teachers are passionate about their subjects and learning. And we re really impressed with Sagemont s focus on college preparation from the middle school grades on. Our son really enjoys his friends and extra-curricular activities, including sports and the outstanding drama program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

I've seen my two children blossom into culturally enriched, artistically developed, athletically inspired and academically challenged young ladies in their years at Sagemont. Though its a small school, there is an elite attitude circulating throughout the hallways. The administration encourages students to achieve at high levels in the many academic and extra curricular departments they offer, and the students really "buy in" to the idea that they can do great things with their lives. If my daughters decided they wanted to excel at academics, sports, art, music, drama or become a civil servant, I have no doubt that they would get the support they needed to fulfill their potential at Sagemont.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

This is our ninth year at Sagemont and I can't imagine a better fit for our three children. We continue to watch them thrive and grow in the challenging, technologically rich and nurturing environment. Keep up the great work Sagemont!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

The Sagemont School is an amazing school that has greatly exceeded our family's expectations. The Sagemont School offers a wide variety of athletics, clubs, and artistic opportunities. In addition, The Sagemont school is on the forefront in their utilization of technology in the classroom. The curriculum is challenging and geared toward college preparation and success. Most importantly, I feel Sagemont provides students with a personalized, safe, and nurturing environment. I cannot say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Don't go to this school. This school doesn't deserve the price you'll pay, they only care about how to make money. Some of thier teachers aren't even certified. Like Keyboard, our teacher doesn't even know how to play it. Most of our students play much better than she does. And math too, he barely teach in class. Some of the students like their teachers, simply because their teachers NEVER make them work.


Posted October 25, 2012

I have found The Sagemont School to be a great institution. When my daughter joined the school in 6th grade, within a year I was able to see the changes in her personality. She became more confident in expressing herself and her talents. She was able to participate in all the sports activities due to the small size of the school. Her teachers are kind,loving and encouraging. I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

Student: An extremely good school. The Sagemont School is better then all of its counterparts while being 1/5 of their size! The local highschool (Cypress Bay) had a graduating class of 1,266 (2012) and from there around 21 went to top universities. At Sagemont the graduating class was aprx. 28 kids, 14 of them went to top colleges. The drama department is known for its amazing plays, they have gone to states compettions and won. The music department goes to state competitions too and the kids get "superiors" too. Sports wise the school is great too, the basketball team goes to states each year too (they won in 2011). If you do the math you have more students suceeding in every aspect in this school than in anyother. The environment is very open and friendly. Kids are always eager to meet and make friends with the "new kid" and we also get many international students that are there for a couple of months of the year. This only creates a diverse environment where one is able to learn a lot about different cultures. My best advice is to go and pay the school a visit! Don't believe everything you hear, go and find out for yourself!


Posted February 19, 2012

I don't like this school very much. As an 8th grader, i've spent 2 years in this school (since 6th grade) and have noticed that the teachers here don't care about their jobs. We even have a basketball coach who teaches world geography (like seriously!?). Average school. Don't recommend for parent wanting a great private school in weston.


Posted January 9, 2011

The education that my daughter received at The Sagemont School far exceeded my expectations. Not only did she receive college acceptances from each college she applied to, more importantly, she earned an academic scholarship to her #1 choice, University of Miami. The individual attention given by her teachers & college advisor at Sagemont, the challenging curriculum including AP coursework, and technology provided the groundwork for her success. The leadership & community service opportunities she was afforded prepared her for similar opportunities at the college level which she took on with confidence. My daughter is happy and continues to excel. The Sagemont School provided her a great start in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Really prepares us for college. My classmates got into Cornell, Emory, UPenn, Boston College, and more. Really strict on uniforms, but lots of things to do on campus. Teachers (for the most part) are great and it's not too small, not too big. Better than American Heritage and Pine Crest because the teachers really know us and care. Our sports are really good too.


Posted March 11, 2010

cheating is rampant, schools too easy, mediocre teachers. i shadowed at american heritage and was blown away at how outstanding their teachers were as well as how kind the students were to me. this school pales in comparison to all the other schools. definitely leaving next year even though till be my senior year. Class of '11, new school here I come!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2009

Besides being an outstanding school, we like the personalized attention students and parents get, starting from the President all the way down to teachers and staff. Being a prep school, we especially like its College Advising Program which prepares and find strategies to help students find the best universities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Sagemont Upper School is a small school which represents a special group of students, with universally diverse cultures and a very balanced and forward looking curriculum, which is graduating great young leaders for the future!


Posted September 23, 2008

very average school, not worth the hefty tuition costs and lowsy teachers that even the public schools dont get.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

beautiful school want to give 6 stars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2006

Great school! The quality of their academic program is top notch and will prepare your child for post secondary options.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (954) 389-8106

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2585 Glades Circle
Weston, FL 33327
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 389-2454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Trinity Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT