Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wildwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 859 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

My school is Wildwood Elementary. My daughter is in third grade and has been at WWES since Kindergarten. She has had excellent teachers who have taken the time to call/write/email me whenever they feel I should be notified about my daughter's work and/or behavior. She has excelled, is a top student and AR Reader. I have nothing but good things to say about all the teachers that she has been in contact with and those who have been teachers for my friends children. I would like to see an improvement in activities offered to the students. At the present time there is no language, and arts and music is at a minimum. I would also like to see clubs and even afterschool activities such as gymnastics, karate, cheerleading, etc. to help pique the student's interests. Teachers with problem students should be able to have an aide to help them. Problem students do take away time the teachers can spent with teaching the rest of the class. This is a noticeable problem. All in all I am very happy with WWES and my daughter loves going to school and loves learning. To me that is the best testimony to Wildwood Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

My daughter has went to this school for 5 years and my son has been going for 3 years..they love it and so do I!! Teachers are GREAT..ALWAYS willing to help students learn. Open communication with parents is Great too. If I have questions or concerns, teachers and staff willing to help solve the issue. Also, both of my children have asthma and the school nurse is GREAT!! Great communication, always calls to let me know if she is concerned about their asthma or just to let me know they needed their medication.Way to go W.W.E.S.!! Keep up the Good Work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

The principal at this school is horrible! Teacher turnover is high. Teachers leave because of this principal. Rating would be higher with a different principal. Have pulled my children out of this school.


Posted September 13, 2009

My kindergartner loves the school and seems to be doing very well. That pleases me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

In the 2008-2009 school year this school scored an A! Yay! Way to go!


Posted March 2, 2009

In 2005-06 school year this school scored a B with the state. 2006-07 year they went down to a C. 2007-08 year they were again a C. This school has the most experienced teachers (as far as years of service) compared to the closest 25 other elementary schools near them. The teachers are 3rd most with advanced degrees and yet we are tied for last with a state issued grade of C out of the 25 schools. No wonder parents are pulling their kids out to home school them. The school board should be looking very hard at this faculty and staff starting at the top, I know I will be. Remember parents the school board members are 'ELECTED' positions. P.S. all this information was obtained from the school boards own website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

This school is striving to achieve! The teacher communication was good and I always felt welcome to involve myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

This school is indeed growing. Its going to be an elementary school school.It has extra curricular activities.There is a music program.A playground,track,8 or 10 basketball hoops, and it has a pavillain.It has 2 computer labs and I think it is getting more computer labs.It has a big library.With books for all ages.It has a pretty big lunchroom which they keep clean. They have a stage for plays,character connect,music shows ,and lunches with the principal for a& a-b honor role
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2006

The quality of academic programs in this school is not good, they focus on the children passing the annual test and when it is over they seem to stop teaching at all. My child had no homework after the fcat testing was completed and it seemed the teacher was not in class much. There are also no extracurricular activities available at this school. The uniform guidelines sre subject to indicidual teacher approval. The discipline system is very unfair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My child had to be taken from this school two years ago.Problems were overlooked or no action taken.She has done very well since attending another school.A few leaders turned the other way to keep from doing the right thing .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 41%
White 39%
Hispanic 15%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 179%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 28%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%70%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. COLLEEN HABHAB-STRICKLAND
Fax number
  • (352) 748-4788

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Huey Street
Wildwood, FL 34785
Phone: (352) 748-3353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Villages Charter School
The Villages, FL





His Royal Christian Academy
Fruitland Park, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT