Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,191 students|Orange
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Keenes Crossing Elementary School 1

Posted July 19, 2016
- a community member
I agree with the recent teacher comments. Very bad administration. By the way, this school dropped to a "B". Go figure.

Keenes Crossing Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
As human beings, let us always strive to put on the shoe of the person we are so critical about and see how it feels when placed in the same situation. No school is perfect! If you love children, a team player and hardworking, Keene’s Elementary School is an exciting place to work.


Keenes Crossing Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
These programs include but not limited to Maker Space, STEM, Rube Goldberg, Chess Club, News Spotlight Crew, Gifted Program (one of the best in the District). The gifted students were also involved in FSA (Future Problem Solvers of America) and their efforts took them to compete internationally. On some mornings, before school starts, this principal and her assistant principal can be found playing chess with students of all ages to improve their problem solving skills.

Keenes Crossing Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Instead of this teacher only writing negative statements, how about some positive statements about programs that have been implemented since this principal’s arrival at this school? Despite the fact that she is not the first principal since the inception of the school; it was through her initiative that a fence was built around the school for the safety and security of our students and staff. Programs that were introduced by this administration have benefited our students greatly, giving our students a lead technologically.

Keenes Crossing Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Yes, we are an “A” school. When this principal you are bad mouthing took over this school, it was a “B” school. Lesson planning by teachers were not being enforced by that administration, neither was student data discussed to ensure better results. From the 2012-13 school year to date, this schools continues to maintain an “A” under the leadership of her administration. The reasons are that, “It takes a village to raise a child”. What this means is that, the efforts of teachers alone did not produce these results. It takes the concerted effort of all (Administrators, Teachers and Staff, (including cafeteria and custodial staff, Students, Parents, etc.) for success to be maintained.


Keenes Crossing Elementary School 2

Posted June 11, 2016
- a teacher
Teachers avoid this school. The fact that we are an "A" school is merely an illusion and if the curtain was pulled back, the dysfunction that is caused by our inept administration would be exposed. The sad truth is we are an "A" school in spite of our administration not because of them. The principal is off campus almost as much as she is on campus. I'm not sure what she does when she is at school other than look out for herself and her best interests of getting promoted to the district office. When on campus it’s not uncommon for her to have the secretary take time out of their busy schedule to go get breakfast and/or lunch for her. When the secretary is too busy and not around she has had the audacity to ask custodians to do it. She's also asked them to move her car for her when it needs moving and she doesn't feel like doing it. She doesn't communicate with the teachers and then yells at them when they are not doing what she expects of them. Most good administrators like getting input from their staff, after all you can't be an expert in everything. This lady goes out of her way to keep staff out of the loop and from providing any input of their own. If you have a difference in opinion on her vision and respectfully give your advice her reaction is equivalent to a child who throws a temper tantrum. It is unfortunately easier to just agree with her even if it is not in the best interest of the students to avoid her reactions and being put on her bad list. There is hope that she will be moved or unjustly promoted just to get her out of here. There has already been staff turnover due to her. I also heard the community tried to push her out years ago but cannot say if that is true or not. I would not be surprised if they did since most everything is about her and not the kids. She knows very few students by name and is usually only involved with the students if it involves a photo op. If you are a teacher looking for a school in the West Learning Community I highly recommend waiting this principal out. She will eventually get moved or promoted since unfortunately it's not always how good you are at your job in OCPS. In the meantime there are plenty of other schools in the area with more competent administrators.

Keenes Crossing Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is overcrowded and the staff and principal unable to mange it well. The traffic is a mess and seems like no one care in this school. To drop and pick your child your need 45min in the morning and even more in the afternoon. This school is a mess.

Keenes Crossing Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
This school has 1200 students, and 10 kindergarten classes. It is way overcrowded and impossible to get your child into class on time during morning drop off unless you get to the school one hour before it opens. Picking up of children is just as chaotic and frustrating for the children as the adults. Chaotic dismissal and overcrowding of school does not make a good place for elementary students. Week one of school and already very disappointed. Thinking of a private or home schooling over this situation for my child.


Keenes Crossing Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
We love Keenes Crossing! The teachers are so engaged and really look out for my daughter's best interests. We moved here from MD two years ago and have been amazed at the level of great education that she is receiving!

Keenes Crossing Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I AM THE FATHER OF A STUDENT DAVID FRIDMAN WHO HAS 12 YEARS OLD AND IS VERY HAPPY WITH THE SCHOOL AND ALL THE STAFF.I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL

Nearby schools

Keenes Crossing Elementary School
5240 Keenes Pheasant Drive, Windermere, FL  34786
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (407) 654-1351
Last modified Keenes Crossing Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top