Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gotha Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1253 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2012

My children love Gotha. I have two children that are currently in the 8th grade. They have attended all three years. My children are taking honors classes and receiving all high school credits this year. They have also scored 5's on the FCAT. The teachers are very supportive and provide extra help through email and before and after school. The music program is outstanding. My son has taken 3 years of guitar lessons as an elective and 2 years of Sax and Jazz. My daughter has taken drama, musical theater and chorus for 2 years. I have to say the teachers have given 110% and love what they are doing. Their productions were outstanding. Mrs. Young is a phenomenal teacher. She is a great role model for her students. She is upbeat and has a positive attitude. She is one of my daughter's favorite teachers. My kids have a great group of friends that are into doing well in school and have great goals. I was very nervous when my kids started school here because they were small for their age... But no worries. The school seems safe and bullying, drugs and fighting are not tolerated at this school. I would Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

im curently at gotha.... gotha is a great school.. but the principle mrs.godek is very rude she does not inforce the rules.. to certian people for example when my friends psp was stolen we know who did it and told her and she told use she cant do anything about it... but my had an arguement with another parent and a few words were said and i was suspened for the actions of my mother because girls that where there said i said the things other than that teachers are great there are great ways to stay out of trouble like the YMCA with ms. rosie


Posted May 15, 2012

I am strongly considering taking my daughter out of Gotha. The school has deteriorated since my son attended 2004..I do not think they instill discipline or values here. Some teachers are good & some not so good . The principal seems apathetic & not a leadership type..Go elsewhere if you can, I'm considering a move to winter garden & hear much better things about Lakeview.. My daughter had her back pack invaded & there have been students caught with drugs in school ..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

I LOVE Gotha Middle School. My daughter has attended since 6th grade and is in her final year. She was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in October of 2009, although she has had issues bc of her disease all of her teachers and the staff and I have worked together to get her to continue to excell, ESPECIALLY Nurse Daria! We have had only 2 issues with certain teachers which were taken care of quickly and my daugher has always been an honor roll student...through all of her difficulites. And also she has participated in many extracurriclar activites. As far as you people out there blaming the school for the 'thugs and sudents with bad language' you probably need to contact the parents for all that behavior starts at home!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

I withdrew my daughter after two weeks. The students' language and behavior was out of control. One of her teachers cursed in the classroom, laughed about it, then denied it when I emailed her and the principal. The principal didn't reply at all to my email! The secretary was rude when I went to complete the withdrawal papers on top of everything else. Don't let the school's grade fool you - it doesn't reveal what's going on day to day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

Schools gone way down.Ms.Godek is a horrible principle.A lot more fights, lots of thugs, it's horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

mr.axtel is a great principal who makes sure things are right and okay for students
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2008

My son is currently an 8th grade student- has attended all 3 yrs. He tells me that he is glad he goes to Gotha Middle School and that it is a good school. This is coming first hand from a student that attends the school, I am sure that counts for something. As a parent, I observe my son enjoying his school days, and for a parent that is very enjoyable, I hope it continues. My son does however, have a complaint against the early schedule of his school day and he feels that most of the students do not like the new schedule and most are very tired throughout their day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

It is a very excellent school. I will recommend this school every body i know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

i'm a current student at gotha. it's a wonderful school with alot of stuff to do...............
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

This school is great any a lot of ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

My daughter attended Gotha Middle school last year and will return this year as a 7th grader. I can't say enough good things about Gotha. The teachers go out of their way to make classes fun and exciting for the students. The gifted program is second to none. Mr. Axtell, the principal knows almost every child by name. He has good relationships with the parents and has never been too busy to talk to us when we've needed to speak with him. The kids respect him as well. My daughter had an excellent teacher for Language Arts. Ms. Henderson always goes above and beyond and treats the kids with respect. Ms. Lamson was another favorite. She teaches science and always managed to keep her kids' interest. Ms. Trew, for math, always had time to help my daughter if she was having trouble. The PTA is spectacular! So many involved parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

My daughter attended Gotha for her entire three years of middle school. What an awesome place to be. The teachers are wonderful, their adminstration is top notch and with the high parent envolvement they have maintained an A school for six years in a row! Gotha rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

I attended Gotha alll three years of middle school and was not satisfied at all. The education was lacking and the security of students is jeapordized because teachers and staff alike have no control. In the year 2006, the school filled up the entire four court outdoor basketball courts with over 13 portables right near the 'satalite lunchroom.' Fights have become commonplace. The administration does nothing to combat misbehavior and punishment is rarely followed through. Do not send your children to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2006

Gotha Middle is a great school. I had one child who is now a Freshman in High School this year that attended Gotha for her entire middle school years.Because of great teachers and an excellent concerned principal Mr. Axtell she continues to excel in her academics and remains on the high school honor roll and has decided to attend college and major in Business Administration.I have another daughter that is a 6th grader this year at Gotha who is also doing well academically and already knows she wants to be a Pediatrician.Thank you Gotha Middle an A school 5 years in a row.You have had a big impact on our family lives more than you could ever know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

It rocks. They have great entertainment and more. The teachers help all students so yeah.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2005

My straight A daughter left Tavares Middle school after sixth grade year to enter Gotha. Seventh grade advanced math covered what she already learned in sixth grade at Tavares. Home economics is not available and only one language class is offered. There is a wonderful guitar program, but in the 'wheel program' with Gotha she was disappointed when she ended up repeating the study of photosysthesis for two of the three segments. Her third segment teacher only showed up for class three times due to scheduling 'responsibilities' Schedule changes were not effectively announced to students; there was a lack of overall organization within the school. Chaperoned trips I attended were total chaos. I struggle with the fact that my shy, straight A daughter who once loved school is absolutely dreading her return to Gotha.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Gotha has gone down hill this year. It is not the school it once was. There are way too many kids at Gotha. There are more kids behind the school in the portables then are in the main buildings. There is no way Gotha will maintain it's A rating from the state come July and that is very sad. So many have worked so hard over the last couple of years to make Gotha a special space but that is all changing. Many teachers will not be back next year for this very reason. Gotha has been an A school the last two years but that streak will soon be over. Teacher morale and student discipline is at an all time low.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 25, 2004

This school has performed phenomenally in the past... however one can only hope that they can continue to do as well as they have since its enrollment is now 1,988, not under 1500 as this data indicates. There are 160 teachers with parking for 120 and the class size for 7th grade pre-algebra is up to 32 for the 2004 term so I doubt that the school average classroom size is at 29. We have a core group of teachers and staff members who along with the PTA and the SAC are working very hard to motivate students, to encourage the teachers and staff and to recognize students for positive efforts. The biggest issue is the Orange Cty School Bd needs to realize that they have the potential of schools being in serious crisis if they keep transferring A / B students enmasse to a single school that is already over capacity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

Gotha Middle School is one of the best schools in the district! Everyone at Gotha is very helpful. There are many clubs to choose from.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

356 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

430 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

421 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

367 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Black 33%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%66%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9155 Gotha Road
Windermere, FL 34786
Phone: (407) 521-2360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Buena Vista Academy
Windermere, FL





Windy Ridge K-8
Orlando, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT