Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,242 students|Orange
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunset Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
I am grateful to Mrs Abu Zaid, Mrs Mayet, and Mrs Martinez, for an amazing job with my kids! Mrs Serrano- principal assistant, is awesome with parents and kids. Mrs Bittick - Principal, is so sweet with the students

Sunset Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
They have 3 thing to do every day, read 20 min, one math assignment, and write.


Sunset Park Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are always working on it during school year in the classroom with the students relationship. I am a volunteer and I saw it.

Sunset Park Elementary School 4

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
It is a great school! Teachers are very professional, they are always in touch with the parent trough e.mails, and newsletters. Administration staff is kind and always are willing to help kids and parents. My kids are attending since kindergarten and now they are going to 4th and 3rd grade! PTO worked for a playground and shade it. And now the school has a fence to round it! I love this schools and my kids too!

Sunset Park Elementary School 2

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Lack of communication between administration and parents. Lacks organization and structure. Improvement needed in meeting the developmental needs of the students


Sunset Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Teacher did not address my concerns regarding class work or homework. Didn't give me any idea of what the students are working on.

Sunset Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
No homework assigned in over a month. No classroom work sent home in over two months! Terrible!

Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Very good School and excellents professionals, attentions and located in The excellent area in Windermere. I indicated


Sunset Park Elementary School 3

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Very disappointing beginning of the year, this school is now just a happy place where kids play games and academics are not a priority anymore. Minimal use of textbooks, we don't know what sections are being covered each week, and useless math homework assigned online. I have sent numerous emails to the teacher asking for some info on the type of work kids are doing in class, I received replies that said what I wanted to hear, but no change in the routine. I am now investing in a tutoring center to do what the school is supposed to do. Children need a caring a nurturing environment to learn, but they also need structure. Playing with dice in math and making kites with words it's not going to teach our kids skills they can use later. And yes, the progress report looks great, too bad is delusional.

Sunset Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
I am now investing in a tutoring center to do what the school is supposed to do. Children need a caring a nurturing environment to learn, but they also need structure. Playing with dice in math and making kites with words it's not going to teach our kids skills they can use later. And yes, the progress report looks great, too bad is delusional.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Park Elementary School
12050 Overstreet Road, Windermere, FL  34786
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. (407) 905-3724
Last modified Sunset Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top