Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori of Winter Garden Charter School

Charter | K-4 | 170 students

Our school is best known for Montessori education and its parent community.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

100% of 4th graders passed the FCAT reading! Only 3 other schools in Florida share this distinction. Absolutely unique and high quality learning experience. There's a waiting list - but you should get on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Cannot say enough good things about Montessori of Winter Garden Charter School. We were having some issues at the Master Class Room at the beginning of the year, but right after Ms. Susan ( 4th Grader Teacher ) took over, thing have been a complete turn-around. Administrative , the staffs are wonderful , Ms. Kimberly is tremendous. Overall I think the school is great and tries to keep our kids happy. The students are less likely to lose interest.There are a lot of parents who volunteer on a regular baisic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

We are extremely happy with the education our daughter is receiving. As a kindergartener in Seguin class we have just watched her curiosity for education continue to grow. As a quiet child she has become more independent and confident in herself. We are constantly surprised all she is learning. The Director, the teachers and parents help to provide a nurturing environment for the students to learn. We are thrilled about our decision to enroll our daughter and look forward to our younger daughter attending the school in the future. Our school is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

5 stars. We're happy with the staffs. My daughter love her teachers (Walker class room) Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

We love our school, it has helped our third grader become more focused and self regulated and the compassionate and nurturing environment is exactly what he needs. We also have two in Kindergarten and couldn't be happier with how they are thriving in this self-paced, independent and encouraging environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Great Montessori School. The environment is calm, all the teachers are amazing, caring, loving, and truly interested in providing the best to the kids. The principal, Ms. Kimberly, did a marvelous job at keeping the school running perfect and safe for everyone. The administration is fantastic and always willing to help. If parents have questions, they always call back and always have time to listen and give you advice . We highly recommend it to everyone . What another parent said about the school having no Montessori certified teachers is untrue! All of the teachers are Montessori certified. We're glad to have Ms. Kathy and Ms "A" as our daughter's teachers . Thanks for the encouragement and support you gave my daughter. It's because of you, she started loving school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

This school is Amazing! best decision we ever made.My daughter loves this school and we do too! We think the Lead teacher Ms. Kathy and Ms. Adrianne (Master Class Room)do an excellent job helping children learn the best way they can .Teachers are very involved and actually communicate with the parents. Thank you to Ms .Kimberly , Ms .Megan all the teachers and staff at West Orange Montessori Charter School, all of you have really gone above and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

My daughter has been attending this school since kindergarten. The Montessori method has helped her take ownership of her own learning. She's now a serious-minded first grader who prides herself on completing her daily lessons. This school offers a tight knit parent community - and a teaching ratio of 1:8. Can't beat that for a public school! We're also impressed with how the Montessori method emphasizes long periods of focus and self-control. The children are empowered to make their own responsible choices from day one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

I was able to observe my granddaughter's classroom and visit with teachers and administration. I am a former elementary teacher. I was very impressed! I watched young students choosing various learning activities, pacing themselves, challenging themselves and enjoying the learning process. I encountered no bored students. Children who needed help or direction readily found it. My granddaughter loves school and she loves to learn. I was pleased to witness the school environment and see first hand the commitment and dedication of the staff and administrator. This is a place where children truly experience the joy of learning!


Posted October 15, 2013

This school has provided an amazing experience for our family. Not only are our 3 oldest children enrolled and thriving here, but our younger ones have been able to learn so much that they are eager for their turn in Kindergarten! The administration is vibrant and engaging, with a young vibe that allows them to connect easily with my older children. Despite many hurdles of opposition from the surrounding town criers, this school has far exceeded the expectations of the Winter Garden community...and is a magnificent alternative to what is available to our children in this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

Montessori of Winter Garden Charter School is a wonderful school. The staff is wonderful and is always helpful in every kind of way. I would recommend this school to anyone. You child life will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 15%
Black 14%
Asian 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 33%66%61%
Master's degree 67%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kimberly Riggins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (407) 654-2046

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
West Orange Montessori School
Windermere Union Church Pre-School
Montessori World
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

855 E Plant St Ste 600
Winter Garden, FL 34787
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 654-2045

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Foundation Academy
Winter Garden, FL


Westside Tech
Winter Garden, FL



Calvary Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT