Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 910 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2013

I am an educator and relocated to the area this very year. It is not the school that sees these students failing to achieve it is the crumbling infrastructure of Florida's educational system. I hope they are right with the concept of 50% is given when the student doesn't dothere work or isnot yet vested in their education-supporting their self- esteem. That may help a small group of kids, but having taught 9th grade, you are fostering a climate of grade welfare. Parents it is scary just ask about the 50% policy- your kids know it. Mydaughter learned that there are no deadlines and if you just give a little you pass- in Honor classes???? We are moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

Great school, love the faculty. overall my daughter had a great experience at that school making new friends
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

This is my first year with my child in Lakeview Middle. I love it. I wish the teachers were more consistent with homework, but overall i've had a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I love the shool my child has been goin there for about 3 years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

My child studied more when he was in elementary school at Lake Whitney Elementary. This is his first year at Lakeview and sadly, students are not given books to take home and notes are not given in class. Therefore, no study skills are being developed-a becessary skill for success in high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2008

This school is amazing an beautifully lanscaped, understtanding teachers willing to help your child pass. Me and my brother went there and I loved it it was the best school year of my life, that's why when I moved I was sad. Now we are movimg back and I'm happy again.Ha.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

i think tht lakeview has alot of activitys in and out of scool i wish tht they well let the students have more freedom and do more fun stuff tht is safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

this school is aewsoome. i love it. i wanna be here forever but unforuanly this is myy last year. awesome teachers. i love lakeview!!!! -someone
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

444 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 42%
Hispanic 28% 29%
Black 24% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%66%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 W Bay St
Winter Garden, FL 34787
Phone: (407) 877-5010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Family Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


Calvary Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


Sunridge Middle School
Winter Garden, FL


The Crenshaw School
Windermere, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT