Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William S Maxey Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 281 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2011

Maxey is a pillar in the winter garden community. The teachers and staff really care, teach and strengthen the children and parent relationship. I would never had found out my child had a learning disability if it were not for the expert tease of his teacher at Maxey. Today he is on the honor roll for the second time. Thanks Maxey Mother of 2 sons
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

A great school Im happy that my children go there they are learning and doing much better every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

I am a grand parent of seven student that attend Maxey Elem. School. The Principle and Teachers are wonderful to all of the students that attends this school. Academically my grands a doing Great Job, THANKS to the caring Principle and Staff at Maxey Elementary. Carol W.


Posted August 9, 2007

This is a good school for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I think maxey is the best elementary school in orange county my children have attended many different schools but maxey will always be home! The teachers and staff treat your child like their own helping them to succeed and with patients! I love and thank maxey they stand out with achievement they are making a difference by setting a higher standard. Maxey's reading program took my son from hiding from reading to it being an adventure in every book,I was shocked! The pre k program is unbelievable my daughter learned everything from how to tie her shoes to reading in no time! The whole school makes you feel welcome and invite you to be part of your childs learning experience. All the little things they say and do make all the difference... Once again I love and thank you all for a wonderful experience . Alicia hutto
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

I think Maxey Elementary is one of the better schools . The teachers and staff really care about there students. I am very involved in my sons school. I think that is very important to be involved.( if you have time) My son is going into the first grade this year and I know he will do great, because of the caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

The staff at Maxey Elementary are dynamic and diverse. They love children and teaching which manifest in the performance of the students. The Voyager Reading Program is awesome. My child has blossomed into an avid reader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

On a scale on 1 to 10, I would rate Maxey Elementary a solid 9. Since my daughter has mostly attended private, Magnet,Montessori and Christian Schools, I was very apprehensive about Public Schools. After meeting with Ms. Davis - Principal of Maxey Elementary, all of my concerns were alleviated. I was very impressed with the quality of academic programs, the genuine concern of the teaching staff, and the outstanding leadership that Ms. Davis provides for the school. Historically the school has not received favorable results, however under Ms. Davis' leadership the school in my opinion is top notch. Each child is motivated to focus on learning and the importance of a team work. They all wear the school uniform everyday and are not focusing on status. I would recommend Maxey Elementary to any parent who would like to see thier child excel and receive a top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Very nice staff, never had any problems here, my kids are very happy with this school. They and I also love the fact that they wear uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Maxey Elementary has a wonderful and caring staff. Each and every child is respected and cared for and the children give it in return. From the Principal to the school nurse these children love and respect each and every one of them. The teachers are hard working and the quality of work that the students are doing shows the hard work. The students have what Maxey calls specials everyday. Each day the students go to a different special. These include - art, music, sports and P.E., computer class and library. My daughter is apart of the chorus in Maxey and they do musicals throughout the year for everyone to enjoy. Maxey also has excelerated programs for those students that are advanced and won't be bored. Parent involvement is growing since the three years that my daughter has been going to Maxey. We look forward to another wonderful year at Maxey.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 47%
Hispanic 38%
White 10%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%66%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JERALDINE SIMS
Fax number
  • (407) 877-2580

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 East Maple Street
Winter Garden, FL 34787
Phone: (407) 877-5020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westside Tech
Winter Garden, FL




Calvary Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


Foundation Academy
Winter Garden, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT