Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Winter Garden, FL
Students enrolled: 3,749
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Orange High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
I feel like the teachers are confusing me. They are affecting my learning skills because when they teach they keep changing up the rules.

West Orange High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
They don't give us allot of homework although they expect us to do critical thinking and get everything right. These teachers clearly need to be educated properly before they start a teaching career.


West Orange High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
The teachers don't try to understand us. They get mad when we don't understand something and claim that they "went over the lesson already"

West Orange High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
The teachers have very poor teaching skills. They have no patience with the students what so ever.they are constantly giving us tests and it's stressful

West Orange High School 1

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
The school to me is just plain terrible ! the homecoming is great they have a great DJ. However, I feel like the teachers don't even care about our future ! Some teachers need to sit down and retire. I feel like they confusing themselves more than they confusing me ! I feel like the school needs to work on hiring better teachers that have good teaching skills, patience, and passion for teaching. The principal acts like they have the best teachers in the world but in reality we don't, not even close. They have to improve...seriously .


West Orange High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
Some teachers are motivational and some aren't. It's equal , although only one teacher I had this year was motivational but he was very bad at teaching.

West Orange High School 1

Posted February 25, 2015
- a student
I give West Orange High School 0 out of 5 stars. I am a current student and do not believe this school deserves any more than 0 stars (I had to put one star otherwise the rating would not submit). I have seen first hand the lack of teaching motivation in teachers and also administrators as well as counselors ignoring students when they need help simply because it is an inconvenience to their lives. Of course, this is all so disappointing because I moved to Florida this year due to the fact that at that time, the school had a rating of 8, better opportunities future wise, and it was said to be a great school. Well I can tell you now that the school has a 5 out of 10 rating. Therefore, I will not be attending West Orange High School next year as I choose to not put myself through this abuse any longer than I already have. If you are reading this review then you are probably considering moving to the school district. Do your kids a favor and go somewhere else. This is not the great school you may think it is. This rating has been written in all honesty.

West Orange High School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
Very open campus and administration - leadership is right on target for parents. The time spent in school is as important to us as parents as it is the students.


West Orange High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a student
This school is the best school I've gone to. We are overcrowded, but on the plus side, it gives us an abundant of available courses, teachers, and opportunities.

West Orange High School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible. They do not make any arrangement to comply with Individual Edification Plans (IEP) for students with disabilities. They blame the students for their disabilities and refuse to comply with federal laws requiring compliance. The county administrators then back up school administrators and refuse to implement IEP. They use "overcrowding" as an excuse for failing to teach students. The "A" rating is sham.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Orange High School
1625 Beulah Road, Winter Garden, FL  34787
(407) 905-2400
Last modified West Orange High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Orange High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top