Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Whitney Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

This school is top notch! Administrative staff is wonderful, you couldn't ask for better communication between staff and parents. They truly care about their students. I can honestly say that I've always felt that my children were always pushed to excel here. We love Mrs. Kasper and Mrs. Bonfanti! If I had one thing to nag about, my 3rd grader 2012-13 did not care for his teacher. I don't like to single people out so she will remain unnamed. I would have to agree that she is a little stern and by the books for an elementary school teacher. He was the only one that didn't seem excited about class, which in my opinion is a must. When they are in that age it's good to make learning fun and exciting! The students are less likely to lose interest. He was well educated nonetheless. Definitely earned it's "A" rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

This is my last year here! i am soooooo sad..... From all the great field trips, like Epcot, Medieval Times, the zoo, and many others, to the great staff (stout out to Mr. Wisdom), this is my favorite school! I will be going to Bridgewater next year, and am hoping that they will have the same great experience waiting for me.


Posted April 30, 2010

Thank you, Lake Whitney, Mrs. Prince, Mrs .Qualls, Mrs Turner, and all teachers for making this such a wonderful, safe, and fun learning evnvironment for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We moved to Florida t the beginning of the 2007 school year - so this is our 3rd year at Lake Whitney. The school is wonderful. Very caring teachers and staff, a very active PTO and a lot of family involvement. I have 3 children and so far we have been in grades K through 4 and all have been terrific experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

My children love Lake Whitney and so do my wife and I! I have never found a more personalbe principal! Mrs. Prince is amazing in the way she knows every student by nam; every parent feels welcomed and reassured that our kids are in great hands! Thank you Mrs. Prince!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

My family loves Lake Whitney! Mrs. Prince and the teachers and staff are wonderful! My children are learning things beyond my expectations! We have had so many great family events this year. Thank you Lake Whitney for the great elementary year experiences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

We moved to the area in December and were a little weary about putting our Kindergartner in a public school. As it turns out, it was the best decision we could have made. Our son has a new optimism for school and is excelling in everything he does. We owe it all to the excellent staff and LWE and his K teacher, Ms. Winders, who we love very much! She is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

I have a child that has attended LWE since kindergarten and is now in 3rd grade. Excellent teachers, staff, and leadership. Without question a 5 star facility. I would encourage any parent to consider LWE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

I have 2 children in this school and am very happy with their accomplishments. My credit to the staff and administration. We have recently moved to the area, and was pleasantly surprised with the level of teaching. Thank you for making this a great environment for my children!!!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

Great level of parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

This is an awesome school, with a staff that is very involved and organized. Drop off and pick-up times are always smooth and well run. Low teacher-student ratios provide excellent interaction and communication with the parents is daily. Math and Reading programs allow students to excel at their own pace. Due to the great PTA and excellent parental involvement, their are volunteers in every classroom as well. Area after school programs love this school also, due to the excellent organization when picking up children for after school activities, which is a great comfort to a working parent. Thank you, Lake Whitney, Mrs. Prince, and all teachers for making this such a wonderful, safe, and fun learning evnvironment for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

This a great school. It has an involved administration and staff who are intent on structure and increased learning (as indicated by Lake Whitney advancing on FCAT tests this year).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

I have two children at Lake Whitney, both since Kindergarten. They are now in second and third grade. The involvement with the parents is tremendous and am pleased as a single father that the dads are also very involved. The Teaching and Administration staff are all very professional and approachable. I will hold any plans I have on moving until they are out of grade school. Mrs. Bender and the rest of the management team are very courteous and show excellent leadership skills. The biggest reason for my comfort at Lake Whitney would have to be the fact the the teachers are genuinely interested in there professions. They actually come across like they enjoy teaching our young kids and attitude is 90%. Kudos to the staff! Barry Jamieson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Lake Whitney is an outstanding elementary school.The staff are excellent and most of them know the parents by names.The Principal Mrs.Prince and her Assistant Mrs.Bender are very involved and approachable.Nurse Beverly is very sweet to children.The involvement of parents in this school is fantastic.I have a Third Grade Daughter and First Grade Son,They learn more than I thought.We love Lake Whitney.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

Both of my children have attended Lake Whitney since kindergarten and we couldn't be more pleased with their progress. When we moved to Winter Garden, my son transferred to Lake Whitney from a private Christian school in the middle of his kindergarten year. I was nervous about how he would adapt, but he fit right in. I think he was provided with more challenging assignments than what he was getting in the private school he attended. The teachers are professional, well educated and truly care about their students. The parent involvement at LWE is amazing too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

I have had all four of my children at Lake Whitney Elementary and have been very happy with the school. The academic programs are excellent, the teachers are very involved. They have great programs in Art, Music, Science and others. There is a lot of parent involvement in the school, both Moms and Dads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

My son attends this school and we are more than satisfied. With the wealth of activities they offer and the professionalism of the teacher body, I am totally convinced your child will have the same experience ours did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

I currently have a fourth grader at Lake Whitney and have an older child who has been through Lake Whitney. I find Lake Whitney to be a wonderful place to educate your child. It is a loving safe environment and the curriculum is just as aggressive as it needs to be. I find the children to be well prepared for what they need but not over stressed with the 'push' to learn. The parent support, in general, including the PTA, are a huge factor in the success of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

We are in our second year at Lake Whitney and are very pleased. We have found that they are doing the same curriculum and level found at both Windermere Prep & Lake Highland Prep. The teachers are qualified, organized and prepared. The parents are encouraged to be involved and most certainly are involved. The school is very receptive to parent volunteering and the PTA is a strong group. Our child learned to read and write in Kindergarten and the school environment has given him confidence and structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

My son attended this school K thru 3rd. I have been very impressed with the amount of parent support the school receives. The quality of teachers is high, I would rate 2 of his 4 teachers superb in their attention and interest in my son as well as their teaching ability. The principle and vice principle have been very understanding and responsive on the two occassions I have met to deal with issues. The cafateria manager is a very kind person to my son and has been conscientious in contacting me by letter when needed concerning any little issues which I have appreciated. Also, Mary at the front office is very opptomistic and helpful. Nurse Beverly is a great asset to the school and has lent to my comfort over the years in having my son in the school. ALso the librarian is very helpful. I regret we are moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 8%
Black 7%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%66%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MRS. ELIZABETH PRINCE
Fax number
  • (407) 877-1181

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1351 Windermere Road
Winter Garden, FL 34787
Phone: (407) 877-8888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Buena Vista Academy
Windermere, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT