Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Foundation Academy

Private | PK-5 | 320 students

 
 

 
 

Living in Winter Garden

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $169,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2011

As a family who has 3 children who attend FA, we are so thankful for the teachers and staff who partner with us to grow the spiritual, emotional, and intellectual well-being of our children. This is not just a school, this a family unit! These are people who genuinely care for each other. The emphasis on community service and involvement is impressive. The teachers challenge the thinking of the students. FA strives to keep the kids involved through many extra curricular sports, drama, and community projects. We are thrilled with this school and can't say enough positive comments all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

I was a terrified parent of 6th grade, for my son....and for myself! However, my son just left 6th grade feeling like a rock star! I owe a huge part of this to Coach Lord, the Head Football Coach at FA. Each summer, coach allows any middle-high school boy to participate in summer workouts. Because of this, my son walked into 6th grade, knowing the campus, many of the staff and a ton of older boys. Coach Lord encourages his Varsity players to be supportive mentors and he encourages his younger players to work hard and be leaders. My favorite day, my son came home telling of how he was the prayer leader that day for Varsirty and middle school players. He spoke of being terrified and then of his awe, to be given such an honor and to be encouraged by the older boys in this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

Excellent School! The lives of our 3 children have truly been blessed by the influence of the teachers, staff and families at FA. Being a part of the FA family offers much more than just a great education...FA really partners with families to "educate" and "edify" the whole child. Love this school and what it stands for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

It's a great school. Our family is grateful to the dedication of the staff that has been instrumental in raising and education our two children as partners in education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

It's a decent school. The academics are approperiately challenging. However, the teachers focus so much on their relationships with the students that they regress to discipline students. As you can imagine, this turns disasterous sometimes. The school as a whole is also afraid to take a stand on true Christianity. If a biblical truth could offend someone in the slightest bit, they say to forget it. This causes confusion in beliefs. It's not a strong foundation in spirituality, but it definately is strong in academics and artistic interpretation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2009

After suffering through Windermere Prep for 2 years, I am finally able to say we have found a great school in Foundation Academy, not only for its academics, but also for the spiritual and personal growth our children are recieving. thank you foundation. Your name suits you well. from a very relieved parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I Love this school! we just moved and my boths sons ( K4 and 2 grade ) really like and learn...The teachers are amazing and the PTO works very well!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

We have been attending this school for several years. The teachers are genuinely concerned about our families. The community this school has with teachers, parents, and kids is amazing. The academics are great , but most importantly, the faculty and staff are concerned with the TOTAL well-being of the child. We love it here, our kids say they never want to go anywhere else. One big happy family! Go Lions!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

Excellent school. Our oldest went there for Pre-K 3 and 4 and we could not afford to have our middle child and oldest child there at the same time. We put our oldest in public school for Kindergarten. Our financial situation has changed a bit and we will be placing him back at Foundation. What a big difference between public school and this fabulous private school. We LOVE the staff, the students, how active the parents are and the strong academic program. We could not be more pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

We did not have a good experience with this school. While my child is gifted and excelled academically, he was criticized by both his teachers and faculty for being Catholic and not not Baptist. It eventually became so uncomfortable that we withdrew him. My son's best friend has cerebral palsy (but extremely gifted) and he was turned down for admission because the school is not required to meet federal guidelines for the disabled. Otherwise, the curriculum is strong but our family believes there is more to school than just academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I second the last comment - This was the best decision we ever made. My son has made friends, they have a great sense of community at this school. The sports programs are growing and with the new campus we will have room for more programs. The teachers have been wonderful. My only regret is that we did not move him to FA sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

What an awesome school! My daughter was moved here from public school 3 years ago. The best decision I made. From K to now 2nd she has excelled. All her teachers have been warm and very focused on giving the kids the best education. She is gifted, but the teachers always give extra time for the students that need it. A new drama program was added this year and it is great. They are building the sports programs and when they move to the new site in 2007 they will have their own facilties. The christian enviroment is so great. They are growing and will experience growing pains but I am confident that they will overcome them and continue to keep the focus on the kids. Unfourtunatly this is out last year here as we are moving to N.C. I hate to leave this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

It is a great school in all aspects, spiritually, academically and socially. I give it an a+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

I think that Foundation Academy was named appropriately it is truly supplies a good foundation for children in faith, education, and life skills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2005

If you are interested in your child getting a superb Christian education, check out Foundation Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

Outstanding curriculumn! Excellent teachers, positive environment and extracurriculars galore make this an A+ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

High quality programs, teachers really show caring and love for what they do, and for the kids. Do not attend here if you do not want your children exposed to a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Great curriculum, a little unorganized. Not many extracurricular activities, parental involvement was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

If you are looking for a fine christian prep school, you'll find it at Foundation Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

Students follow strict cirriculum with Godly principle reinforced. Stong leadership. Qualified teachers. Good sport programs. Family involvement. This school is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 42%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 8% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Visual arts
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Shawn Minks
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AISF
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (407) 656-0118

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Great things are happening throughout the school. The focus is to be a Kingdom education school that raises young people to know and serve the Lord through excellence in all areas.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
175

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
McKay & Step Up for Students

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Florida State University
University of Central Florida
Valencia Community College
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 E Plant Street
Winter Garden, FL 34787
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 656-3677

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Calvary Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


Westside Tech
Winter Garden, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT