Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hartridge Academy

Charter | K-5 | 246 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

Hartridge Academy is a small, unassuming school that, if you didn't know to look for it, you might just miss it. Each one of my granddaughter' s teachers have been superb. She is being challenged and her abilities continue to improve due to the excellent curriculum. The administration is efficient and they are a pleasure to deal with. The school's test scores show the commitment of the entire program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

Hartridge Academy is truly the best academic and family friendly school in Polk County. Both children have attended this school from pre-k one is in college preparing for a medical degree and the other is in the second grade. I couldn't be prouder in what this school has helped mold these two into great human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

My daughter has attended the school since PreK and is now in 3rd grade. We love the school and are very thankful that she has the opportunity to be there. Ms. Debra(the principle) is great at answering my questionsand never has a problem when I call for information or send a note asking for information. As far as communication through the agenda, it's not the best. Parents are aware of homework and have school schedules but sometimes my daughter does a activity and I don't hear about it until the day of or after. But, sometimes parents have to put in the extra effort. It's hard when you work full-time but you cannot expect your child to remember everything or do everything without you checking on things. Not at this age, anyway. Teach them responsibility but also lay out the example for them. Don't just make them do their homework, check their homework to see where they are lacking. It's not all up to our teachers, though they play a big role. It takes a village to raise a child. Hartridge Academy is an amazing school with a principle, staff and teachers who really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

Parents select this school and sign a contract that requires them to particpate actively in their own child's education. Weekly one on one time is scheduled so every parent is guaranteed communication in private and welcomed in the school. Unfortunately there will always be some parents who think the only way to be involved in their own child's education is to be in the room while other children are having class. Sincere desires to help take place everyday at Hartridge. If all schools made weekly private time for each student and respected other children's privacy, schools everywhere would get the results Hartridge gets.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2010

I would have to agree with the parent regarding poor communication there. I'm always writing something in my child's agenda asking different questions and most of the time I'm not getting a reponse just sometimes. As for parental involvement, there ISN'T any there and that's very discouraging. You would think all schools would be happy that a parent would want to be so involved in their child's activities. In my heart, I don't feel that they are on top of things like they should be. As for my child he/she is not happy going there anymore and what hurts is that he/she loves to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My son has learned so much since he's been to this school he has asthma and on his sick days he's begging me to let him attend school. The teachers and staff are outstanding he loves his teacher mrs meyers. I highly recommend hartridge academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

My daughter has learned so much in so little time since beginning last summer with Hartridge Academies VPK program First Academy and continuing with Kindergarten at Hartridge. The teachers and staff are all outstanding and highly recommended by myself for anyone looking for the best education experience for their children. The classes are small so more attention is given individually to each student and free tutoring once a week applicable to your schedule. I wish I had this opportunity when I was a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

In preschool at Hartridge Academy my son learned to read! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My son went to Hartridge from Pre-K to 5th grade. It was such a wonderful experience for him. He is in 6th grade now and still misses his old teacher Mrs. Perez! Mrs. Perez, you are an amazing teacher! Keep doing what you are doing!! I would recommend this school to any of my friends and family members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Families receive a daily communication agenda and free weekly private tutoring so there is no excuse for a family to not communicate with the school. Parents choose this school because of the strict privacy and safety policies thus volunteering is not allowed in the classroom. Also second hand smoke on parents causes a problem for some students. Many parents volunteer by performing chores for the school but without being in the classroom where every child's privacy is respected and protected. This is rare in most schools but certainly not odd - it is appreciated by most parents who do not want nonteachers to sit in children's classrooms as they are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I like this school, but they are very hard to reach when you have a problem. They also discourage parental involvement and volunteering, which seems a bit strange. However, they are very academically sound and I have no complaints there. Just on the poor communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

My son attends the V-PK program, and he loves it. When he is sick and we have to keep him home he gets sad because he will 'miss all of the fun.' If he is asked if he missed us while he was at school, his answer is always a firm 'No.' Thanks to Hartridge's V-PK a positive educational foundation has been laid for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I am honour to have my child attend hartridge academy the kids are well behave and the teachers are friendly ,loveing and kind it is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

the best school my son had ever attended. He made friends for a lifetime there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

The academic programs here are wonderful my son is above level in everything and is constantly challeged but never beyond his level. They learn Spanish, have computer class and PE. I can confidently say that this the best school in Polk County. We love you Mrs. Schmidt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

My little brother goes to this school and he is in kindergarten. Everyday when he comes home he tells us what he learned and what he did. I believe that this school has improved his social skills as well. He use to be really shy but now he is more outspoken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

My child is above average in reading as well as other areas, at other schools she was told not to raise her hand to answer questions because she always knew the answer. They more or less put her in a corner. At Hartridge they let her excell at her own pace and really challange her to do better. The staff at this school is so wonderful, they really care about my child's education. I can't say enough about this school, it is great! I am so thankful that I am able to put my child in this school. Thank you Mrs. Debbie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Students first is obvious at this school. While others seem more concerned about scoring the highest as a school, this school reaches out to the lowest performers and brings them up to their potential. Learning gains are extremely impressive as are their reasulting scores becuase each child us learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2003

my child attended hartridge school for the first time this past school year. my child was rated below average in the area of reading at the previous school. i met with hartridge staff prior to enrolling my child, they listened to my concerns, informed me as to how the staff could help my child. one of my main concerns were that my child was 'lost' and 'only a number' at the previous school. i cannot express how the hartridge staff has helped my child, she is now an above average reader and her confidence level has improved as well. i am gratful to the hartridge staff for caring about my child and her education. thank you!


Posted May 5, 2003

I waited 3 years to get my child in this school. It was well worth the wait. I have never seen a more involved shool staff, and concern for the children as they have at hartridge. I feel it is the best school in Polk County. I was told my child was below average FCAT scores in the public school system, in 18 weeks into Hartridge he took the FCAT and passed! If that dosen't tell you just how dedicated the staff is I don't know what does! Thank you Mrs. Debra.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2010-2011.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 23%
Black 7%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 44%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Female 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 82%66%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. DEBRA RICHARDS
Fax number
  • (863) 956-3267

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 U.S. 92
Winter Haven, FL 33881
Phone: (863) 956-4434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Karen M. Siegel Academy
Lake Alfred, FL


Jewett School Of The Arts
Winter Haven, FL




St Joseph Catholic School
Winter Haven, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT