Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Killarney Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

The school now has a new principal and the staff seems to be so much happier! Hopefully things should start to turn around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Our family has been happy with this school. No major issues or complaints. Teachers are hit or miss, with some really excellent teachers and some not so much. There are different activities for the kids to be involved with and a couple of family events during the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

This is my son's very !st school environment and it is wonderful. He has a few little "quirks" about food and whatnot, and they have helped and adjusted to him. His teacher is wonderful and can handle him very well (better then us :-) ). He was already reading and doing other subjects when he started but has learned so much more already. It has been great for his social ability. The principal is involved, knows the children, and is out to greet the children and parents every morning, rain or shine! I thank everyone at Killarney and would recommend it to every parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2013

my school is killarney . I have had nothing but excellence since mrs slaughter has taken over. I have a handicapped child that attends there. I fought for 2 years with Mrs foster for him to get help. she did absolutely nothing. Mrs Slaughter was there only three weeks and had the deaf and hard of hearing program there and also his speech therapist. I have had nothing but good things happen since she arrived. My children love her. She is the most caring loving person I have ever had the pleasure to meet. She is very fair and honest. I wish that more administrative personnel where like her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

There are several good teacher but the principal is horrible and rules by fear. Unfortunately, when the top doesn't care or allow others to do there job....it tricks on down. It was a great school before she got here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

No communication is the major problem with this school. I am never told anything in a timely manner, case and point they sent a letter home for Girl Scouts a week late. I wish there was a school closer that I could take my daughter to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Killarney Elementary has really started to excel over the past two years. Mr. Green and Ms. Foster have brought new life to the school. There New Renaissance Program has encouraged students to work really hard. My child is so proud when he finds out that he has made Renaissance!! I hear students talk about it all the time! What a great way to reward students for their hard work. It's about time we had administration that puts kids first! Keep up the great work Mr. Green and Ms. Foster!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

The quality of the teachers (with some exceptions) and administrators have been in constant decline over the last five years. Two great principals left and now Killarney is stuck with a dud. We are looking for another option for our younger son now that our oldest has graduated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Killarney has suffered this past year from poor leadership with no communication to parents or teachers. My efforts to meet with administration were in vain. They have been losing good teachers since Rob Bixler left. Administration is laughable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I once believed that Killarney was one of the premier elementary schools in Orange County. However, over the last 2 years my opinion is that this school is on a downward spiral. On the t-shirts for Renaissance, elementary was spelled without the 'T' and later written in with a sharpie. So a t-shirt that recognizes academic excellence was misspelled. When seven 5th graders received the Presidential Academic Achievement award the principal couldn't be bothered to actually sign the award. Instead he opted to use a signature stamp which was faded and blurry. Communication between the administration and parents is lacking at best. A school that once had strong community ties and support is now losing its identity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

Both of my daughters are attending Killarney Elementary and are doing very well. As in any school there are teachers that do not love their job as much as they used to but overall Killarney is great! Mr Green has brought new life to a school that was experiencing a lull. The new PTA is working to reinvest parents support. I am proud that my daughters attend this school and grateful for the new leadership that has taken over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

Not a good school. Students have discipline problems. Teachers are overworked. Overall 'ghetto'. Do yourself a favor and drive by the school and see for yourself. Ask for a tour of the school before enrolling your child and I Know it will make you reconsider. Don't take anyone's word for it, see for yourself. Many school employees post on this site so they can 'defend' their school. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My child has gone for 4 years now.I am very happy with Killarney.There are a few poor teachers,who seem to hate their jobs.I think the kids get too much homework and repetition.Need to make learning more fun.the PTA,Carnival,other events have severly suffered...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

Killarney Elementary has not been the same since Mrs. Hool became principal. Leadership is not one of her qualities. Killarney used to be one of the finest schools in Orange County. It may be again once new administration takes control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

The administration at this school has gone downhill since a wonderful principal left. The students don't even know who the principal is. It's a very sad thing when parents want to pull their children out of the school because the climate has changed so much.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 19, 2005

I, too, have had all of my children go through Killarney. My earlier experiences were better than the most recent. A change in leadership has led to a steep decline in parental involvement - both in activities and PTA. That lack of involvement sheds a bad light on the PTA which is doing the best it can with the circumstances it is provided. Fortunately, my involvement in the school and in my youngest child's life resulted in a positive experience for her. There was a time when I would have recommended Killarney wholeheartedly - the teachers are great. I'm still not convinced the current leadership is taking the school in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

Both my son and daughter went to Killarney Elementary School. The problem with a working single parent and the school is that many extra curricular activities were either during working hours or right after school when they were unable to attend. PTA is a joke. Meetings were not made 'public' until a day or two before hand. Attendance was very low. Graduation is a nice addition, but more so for those who received awards. A lot of children are working hard for the grades they receive and are not recognized for their efforts. So, there are a few that receive all and a lot that receive none. Relatively new principal and I did not know her as well as previous principal. The teachers we encountered were great. Overall a great experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

The academic program at Killarney is very good. the teachers really make great efforts to work with the parent and child. i would like to see the school take bullying behaviors more seriously and adopt a proactive approach to this subject. I have heard great things about the SAFE program and would like to see Killarney's goal be, to have a safe and nurturing environment for all of the children. That would truly make this very good school even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Since my Children started attending Killarney, we have seen four Principles leave Killarney with great sadness. None was more sad than seeing Rob Bixler turn our school into an A school then have to leave us. Rob is surely missed this year as the friendliness between staff and parents is not the same. The Teachers are excellent as always, and PTA is trying, but does not have as much parental involvement as they once had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2003

My son goes to Killarney and they do a great job with him. He has special needs and the entire staff is very understanding and accomodating. They do their best to give him the best education in spite of his learning differences. Their behavior specialist is great, as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 38%
White 33%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 86%66%61%
Master's degree 14%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. EVANGELINE SLAUGHTER
Fax number
  • (407) 623-1437

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 Wellington Boulevard
Winter Park, FL 32789
Phone: (407) 623-1438

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Circle Christian School
Winter Park, FL



The Parke House Academy
Winter Park, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT