Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastbrook Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 786 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

I find front desk staffs bsolutely rude and down right mean. If this is how they treat me as a parent considering putting my child into this school - I am extremely concern about how they treat the kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

My kids and myself love this school this school academy level is super gd the teachers r wonderfull and all the staff just ignore the discrimination from the two blonde ladies at the front office and thats it after that everybody is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

I do not recommend this school. Education at a low level.The school unfriendly atmosphere.My child is happy to get away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

We moved to the area temporarily until I found a house closer to my job. But after about 3 weeks, I fell IN LOVE with the school. The school administrators were friendly and helpful. His teacher, Ms. Beveridge goes over and above the call of duty and uses very creative strategies in the classroom. They even have a daily "Just Dance" activity in the morning so all of the students are dancing to choreographed movements in unison. The parents are very involved and have a great turnout for PTA events. It has been the best experience we've ever had at a school so I ended up moving nearby just so my son can attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

My son is in the first grade and he loves this school. We left this scjool because of family issues but this is the best school so far my son has done great in. The teachers are great. They really cate for their students and the really take the time to make sure they are doing great. I am really going to miss this school. Also PTA is great. First one I have joined and they are awsome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

This is an older school with wonderful, attentive teachers. We miss it so much! We are planning to move back to the area this summer and hoping to find housing close by so that my 4th grader can finish up with 5th grade at Eastbrook. We have relocated several times over the years and Eastbrook has been my kids' favorite school, hands down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Mrs. Battle is such an amazing teacher, one of the best that Eastbrook has. She goes above and beyond to ensure that her students are learning. I love this teacher!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

Awesome school! Any issues I've ever had have been heard and dealt with immediately. They love the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My daughter is just finishing kindergarten at Eastbrook, and my first experience with this school has been a fantastic one! Mrs. Hill is an amazing teacher, and her nurturing and attention to my daughter (despite having 18 kids and no asst.) have been the best. I hope our new principal next year continues to promote parents/teachers/kids working together to make Eastbrook a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Eastbrook is a very involved school with their students and the staff. I have a special needs child that attends there and I am sad that this is our last year there. The teachers are very caring and concerned for the students and the staff is great also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I think all of the teachers here really care about each student, individually. I have never seen a better group of teachers at any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I went to Eastbrook as a child, and now my son does. Everyone, from the teachers, principal, and supporting staff always have a great attitude and really help the children feel great about learning. They really try to get the best out of each and every child there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

We love Eastbrook they have fabulous teachers and and all around great approach to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

All of my dealings with Eastbrook staff have been positive and professional. The 9 teachers that my children have had have all been superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

RE: safty. I, as a grandparent. went to pick up one of my grandchildren and was a little later then expected. When I went to the office I was told that the children were already dismissed to the car rider pick up ramp. I was instructed to 'just go out and let the teacher know that I was picking up so and so.' When I found my granddaughter, there was no teacher around and I was able to 'just take her with me'. I found that very disturbing as my granddaughter was in kidergarden and could easily have gone off with anyone! Overall, I have found that the school and faculity is very professional and interested in the children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Overall the teachers are great! The curriculum is not very creative, everything is pretty much done through workbooks and text books. They appear to lack the resources for any hands on learning. The addministraion has also not proved to be very impresive. The school always appears clean and safe, and the student body seems to be well under control. Although there are some important areas that could use some improvement, the scool is preety good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

When addressing a concern to the principle she responded by saying 'Mam this is a public school'. However there is other faculty that is more helpfull. The teachers we have had were great. When selecting a school just remember that the intrest and values of the other families in the area can be important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

I am very happy with the education my children are receiving here. The faculty and teachers are great - accessible and eager to speak with you regarding any questions you may have. Special kudos to Ms. Williams (G1) and Ms. Leak (G3) - two teachers who are doing a fantastic job and really care about their students. Academically, my children are excelling here (one of them is in the gifted program). They are both receiving straight As and reading well above grade level. Although the school could use a bit more in the area of extracurricular activities, academically they hit the mark; and personally, I'd rather have a school that is a bit lacking in the extracurricular area than one with a great sports program that produces students that can't read or write. In summary, Eastbrook has A+ teachers - that care about your child's education as much as you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

Contrary to what I have read, ufortunately my experience at the school has not been good at all. Is is my zoned school area, I have no choice it seems but to send my child there. Honestly it has not all been bad at the school at all, but the principal, faculty, and staff are in fact nice and involved and sweet if things are done and abided to by the parents involved, should you not agree with one of them, or think there decision is not best or right on something, you will get a very different principal, assitant principal, and teacher or at least my childs teacher in this particular case, and faculty will also let you know they know your name well. Since my child will go there again this year, I will leave it at this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

My kids had a great first year here (1st and 5th). The teachers worked at motivating my kids, and we especially like the Talent Development program. The administration is friendly and helpful. They have an extra chorus and art program for the older children(in addition to art and music taught during class time), but it would be better if they were offered in the afternoon instead of before school. The principal and assistant principal are both personable and very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 49%
Hispanic 34%
Black 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%53%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5525 Tangerine Avenue
Winter Park, FL 32792
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-7950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Walden Community School
Winter Park, FL




The Geneva School
Winter Park, FL



Aloma Elementary School
Winter Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT