Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Walden Community School

Private | 1-12 | 16 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Winter Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

"My daughter has truly blossomed as both a person and a student as a result of the academically rigorous and warm social environment that Walden provides. They make sure that every incoming student is a good fit for the school and vice versa. I looked far and wide to find a school that did not provide a cookie cutter education. Dr. Milkulka's visionary approach of addressing the whole child and truly caring for the academic and social development of every child is priceless. I could not be happier with the education my daughter is receiving, from the incredible teachers who mentor her and the great friends she has made at Walden!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

"Schools have one fundamental purpose: to educate our children. Many achieve that purpose through traditional classroom learning and simply stop there. Then there are schools like Walden Community School that break the mold and take the notion of education to a new level. Walden delivers traditional classroom instruction in a smaller, nurturing environment that encourages questions and ensures students can truly understand. But, that is just part of the recipe. Walden also challenges students by exposing them to a variety of topics, providing new ways to learn that stretches their critical thinking, and helps them view the world more broadly. A love for learning, bravery, objectivity, and a respect for alternative points-of-view are just some of the take-aways our daughter has gained from being in this environment the past two years. Walden has transformed her. She is thriving like never before, confident, and prepared to make a difference to the planet. That is how Walden Community School delivers on the purpose of educating our children."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Fantastic non traditional learning environment - perfect for the middle school years and beyond. This small school has such a close knit community feel and removes all the typical negative things associated with large public schools. Because it is small, students have lots of one-on-one time with teachers and are they are able to have courses like art, music, drama, dance and even a hands on organic garden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Great school. Students feel comfortable and safe, so that they can learn without distractions and at their own pace and gain social skills in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

This school is amazing! The teachers are so nice. They make you feel at home. T
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

I can not say enough good things about this school. The welcoming attitude and feeling of community amongst the students and teachers can not be beat. My 7th grade daughter is thriving and able to be challenged academically while feeling happy and excited about going to school each day. The teachers and administration are accessible and very attentive to the needs of each student. This school approaches the whole child in an environment which encourages teamwork, free thinking, real life preparation skills while taking a academic approach that ignites a love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Walden Community School is the best kept secret in Florida. My husband and I visited many schools and nothing matched the amazing learning environment that cozy Walden Community School provides. Young and enthusiastic teachers who are passionate about teaching create a stimulating, challenging, and engaging environment for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

This is a great school! Spent the last four years here and loved every minute of it. Wonderful teachers, really fun students, and always interesting courses. For some students, who aren't invested in their learning, this school is not the right fit. For anyone who wants a creative, intellectual environment in which to learn Walden is a must!


Posted June 17, 2013

Terrible. Promises everything delivers little. Teacher turnover pretty constant -- 5 science teachers in one year. Last year some kids did "self study" in science instead of having a teacher! Many kids pulled out for 2013-14 school year and all of them have tested 2 years behind in Math. Owner very punitive -- heavy on punishment for minor crimes while ignoring kids who hit others and are verbally abusive. Stay far, far away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

So i shadowed here last year and though it was amazing this year the shcool has doubled and i do not like it i am a student i really dont like it i am in 8 grade and learning i find is a chore not fun like it should be and they never listen to anyhting i have to say so yea so far not very good at meeting to my expectations i will update the review if the school improves


Posted May 20, 2012

Wonderful school, great teachers, caring and energetic owner/administrator, all in a cozy, low stress home away from home environment. Most classes have 2 to 3 students. Aside from the much sought after SACS accreditation and AP courses, an exciting variety of electives are offered. The small size and extremely low student/teacher ratio provides an ideal environment for individual learning, whether extra support or an accelerated program is needed. My son is working 2 years above grade level and participated in an intro to calculus course while in "6 th" grade. For the right student, this school provides opportunities not found in any other school in the greater Orlando, Winter Park area. A great school, indeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

A superb school for bright students in grades 6-12 who love learning. Nothing in Central Florida can compare to it. Imagine a teacher to student ratio of 1:4, accelerated academics, a great group of motivated students in a cool, relaxed environment. Besides the stellar teachers and great core courses, they also offer AP classes, drama, art, and so much more. The tuition is half the cost of many other private schools, the stress is low, a dream for both parents and kids alike. If you can think outside the box, and you want a happy kid with high self-esteem, send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Our family moved to Orlando from New England and my son had always attended small schools. When we first moved to Orlando he attended a public school that had almost 3000 students. The classrooms were large and he did not get the individual attention he was used to. After seeing him struggle to succeed I moved him to Walden Community School. I have seen a 100% turn around in his attitude toward school. He enjoys going to school. The teachers are energetic and enjoy teaching the students. The classroom size is very small which means each student gets the attention they need and will never slip through the cracks. Everyone at the school has such a positive attitude and is willing to help in any way they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

For the right kid, this school is paradise. All the work is individualized, so students work at their own pace on their core curriculum. They work on laptops in an environment that's more like a cozy house than it is a classic school setting (well, a cozy house with a lot of white boards and tables). An ever-changing set of electives are taught by visiting teachers who come in for an hour or two a week, on subjects such as engineering, philosophy, drama, dance, community service and much more. So far this year, they've planted a butterfly garden, gone to the Epcot Food and Wine Festival, worked on a student film and created Rube Goldberg machines. (It's mid-November.) For parents and students who like to think outside the box, Walden is incredible. All that said, it's not for everyone--enrollment is currently low (although they're hoping to expand) and all current students (in 2010) are in middle or high school. If sports or social life are the most important things about school for your student, it's probably not the right place. But if creativity and critical thinking are important to you, Walden can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

Walden Community School, accredited by SACS and Advanced Ed, is committed to providing academic excellence and unique educational experiences for elementary, middle and high school students in a non competitive environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2009

I have 2 children at the school. We homeschooled for 2 years, then started coming part time, and now are full time. I love the multi-age relationships, the focus on teaching for understanding, and the community atmosphere. My children are thriving. The teachers are great, and the other parents are suppportive and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

This is my daughter's first year at the Walden School. She is a high school student who has always attended traditional school. Walden offers her a broad experience, feeding her curiosity and motivating her to 'learn how to learn.' She is truly happy. The community of the school is a family. The staff is deeply committed to helping each student reach their full potential in a non-competive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

Walden is an amazing school. It has given my daughter the opportunity to expand her natural abilities in an environment where learning is a more natural, authentic process. The concept of a 'school without walls' allows the school to partner with the community to explore learning outside of a traditional classroom. She experiences learning now versus being a passive participant in the process. As a non profit school, I know that the administrators are truly committed to creating a positive learning environment. From tennis, to dance, hands on science, math, history, reading, writing, art and music my daughter is having a truly enriching experience, learning more than she has ever learned before.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Carol Mikulka
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (407) 645-1123

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4595 Howell Branch Rd.
Winter Park, FL 32792
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 677-8225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Geneva School
Winter Park, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT