Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-12
Private
Winter Park, FL
Students enrolled: 16
Before care: No
After care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walden Community School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
"My daughter has truly blossomed as both a person and a student as a result of the academically rigorous and warm social environment that Walden provides. They make sure that every incoming student is a good fit for the school and vice versa. I looked far and wide to find a school that did not provide a cookie cutter education. Dr. Milkulka's visionary approach of addressing the whole child and truly caring for the academic and social development of every child is priceless. I could not be happier with the education my daughter is receiving, from the incredible teachers who mentor her and the great friends she has made at Walden!"
1 person found this helpful

Walden Community School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
"Schools have one fundamental purpose: to educate our children. Many achieve that purpose through traditional classroom learning and simply stop there. Then there are schools like Walden Community School that break the mold and take the notion of education to a new level. Walden delivers traditional classroom instruction in a smaller, nurturing environment that encourages questions and ensures students can truly understand. But, that is just part of the recipe. Walden also challenges students by exposing them to a variety of topics, providing new ways to learn that stretches their critical thinking, and helps them view the world more broadly. A love for learning, bravery, objectivity, and a respect for alternative points-of-view are just some of the take-aways our daughter has gained from being in this environment the past two years. Walden has transformed her. She is thriving like never before, confident, and prepared to make a difference to the planet. That is how Walden Community School delivers on the purpose of educating our children."
1 person found this helpful


Walden Community School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic non traditional learning environment - perfect for the middle school years and beyond. This small school has such a close knit community feel and removes all the typical negative things associated with large public schools. Because it is small, students have lots of one-on-one time with teachers and are they are able to have courses like art, music, drama, dance and even a hands on organic garden.
1 person found this helpful

Walden Community School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Students feel comfortable and safe, so that they can learn without distractions and at their own pace and gain social skills in a safe environment.
1 person found this helpful

Walden Community School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! The teachers are so nice. They make you feel at home. T
1 person found this helpful


Walden Community School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
I can not say enough good things about this school. The welcoming attitude and feeling of community amongst the students and teachers can not be beat. My 7th grade daughter is thriving and able to be challenged academically while feeling happy and excited about going to school each day. The teachers and administration are accessible and very attentive to the needs of each student. This school approaches the whole child in an environment which encourages teamwork, free thinking, real life preparation skills while taking a academic approach that ignites a love of learning!
1 person found this helpful

Walden Community School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Walden Community School is the best kept secret in Florida. My husband and I visited many schools and nothing matched the amazing learning environment that cozy Walden Community School provides. Young and enthusiastic teachers who are passionate about teaching create a stimulating, challenging, and engaging environment for all students.
1 person found this helpful

Walden Community School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school! Spent the last four years here and loved every minute of it. Wonderful teachers, really fun students, and always interesting courses. For some students, who aren't invested in their learning, this school is not the right fit. For anyone who wants a creative, intellectual environment in which to learn Walden is a must!
1 person found this helpful


Walden Community School 1

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
Terrible. Promises everything delivers little. Teacher turnover pretty constant -- 5 science teachers in one year. Last year some kids did "self study" in science instead of having a teacher! Many kids pulled out for 2013-14 school year and all of them have tested 2 years behind in Math. Owner very punitive -- heavy on punishment for minor crimes while ignoring kids who hit others and are verbally abusive. Stay far, far away!
2 people found this helpful

Walden Community School 2

Posted October 05, 2012
- a community member
So i shadowed here last year and though it was amazing this year the shcool has doubled and i do not like it i am a student i really dont like it i am in 8 grade and learning i find is a chore not fun like it should be and they never listen to anyhting i have to say so yea so far not very good at meeting to my expectations i will update the review if the school improves
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walden Community School
4595 Howell Branch Rd., Winter Park, FL  32792
(407) 677-8225
Last modified Walden Community School is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Walden Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top