Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Trails Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1049 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

My daughter loves ITMS. She was in a private school for the past 10 years so we were nervous coming in. ITMS has exceeded our expectations! The teachers are engaged and dedicated especially Mrs Moore!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter loves Indian Trails so far. We didn't know what to expect coming from charter school, but we were pleasantly surprised. The teachers seem very good. My daughter has enjoyed the first 2 weeks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

The teachers are sarcastic and don't really take an interest in students! I wouldn't recommend enrolling your children to ITMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

I really like ITMS! All of the teachers are friendly, except Mr.Lister. The only problem is most of the eight graders they use inappropriate language Well they're just immature, and if you're coming here from elementary school you'll get used to it right away, no need to stress :3 Oh yeah go into band everyone! Mrs.McIntyre IS AWESOME!


Posted April 29, 2013

I was really scared about my daughter attending ITMS because I had heard bad things about this school, but I have not had any problems with her or any other children at the school. The only thing I would advise parents is to put their children in the advance classes and enroll them in as many activities to keep them busy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

We just moved into the area 1 year ago. The kids attended Indian Trails Middle with hope and fear of the unknown. For the most part, the teachers were wonderful and supportive. I received great feedback from individual teachers and staff members whenever there was a concern. The kids have made some friends and seem happy at their new school. I cannot thank the Indian Trails teachers and staff enough for making this a positive transition for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

I went to this school a few years ago, and had a horrible time during the three years I was there. My brother was in the gifted program, as was I during my two later years, and he had such a horrible time with rude and arrogant teachers that he asked my parents to be switched out within the first few weeks of school. The staff doesn't respect students for the most part and act very sarcastically, even when respected and greeted kindly. I was in band, and that was one of the only good parts about the entire school.


Posted May 12, 2010

It is a great school. There are many choices for classes and the teachers are interested in their students and help them be the best they can be. It is very organized for the amount of students that are enrolled. My kids love going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

I have had two children in ITMS , one of which was there in 2006-07 and one currently attending. Since new administration came on board last year, the difference is like night and day. It is a wonderful school, expectations held high in both academics and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

I went to Indian Trails for 6th and 7th grade but then I had to move. Indian Trails ws the best school I have ever been to in my life. The teachers are nice but just like any other school there are a few mean ones too, but only a couple. They have many, many choices for electives, unlike the school I will be attending which only has about 3. The education you will recieve is great I was in all advanced classes but it was great, we learned lots of great and useful information but it was never boring. I will miss Indian Trails and all of my friends so much!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

This school seems to lack organization. They messed up my son's class and bus schedule; and didn't tell me about it until a week later. And to top it all off, it takes them a week to return phone calls. Why?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

Ahmazing. This school is the greatest. The academics are great, the arts are great, AND the band program is out of this world. WE LOVE YOU MRS. MCINTYRE!! (She inspired me to strive to become a band director. :))
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

The best school my son ever went to! over all they have it all; best teachers, best parent participation. A welcoming and warm environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

I am a student at Indian Trails middle school and this is my 3rd year. I am in the quest program (gifted) and must say, this is a great school. The disciplinary office is top-notch, the dean is perfect and the teachers are good. Unfortunately, the bath rooms are mess! Dirty with graffiti on all the walls and the janitors are not the best. The principal fares average, rarely seen or heard. Still, the quality of education you receive here is good, just as long as you know what teachers to choose. Therefore, I give this a five because it is rated by the state of Florida an 'A+' school. I also give it a five because the teachers are funny and the quest classes actually look and act like gifted classes. This is the school of choice if you live in winter springs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2007

Good teachers - School is unkept, and seems to have a problem with students items cont. being stolen from lockers. My older son went to same school (7 yrs ago) and they had same issue then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

When I was in the eighth grade, I was enrolled into I.T.M.S., but I was ever so sorry I did. First, the students were so loud and rough. School rules were being violated on a daily basis. Also, the lockers had to be removed. There was a lot of graffiti with bad language in the bathroom stalls. There were fights in the courtyard. I couldn't get along with anybody there my own age. I was talking with adults when I wanted to socialize a little bit. I don't remember doing this at any other school. The teachers taught in a very dry manner and the extracurricular activities were bad. It was a very boring place that I don't recommend to other students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 22, 2006

I have two children one of whom attends I.T.M.S. currently and another who has graduated. The teachers there are so uninspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

Two of our 4 children are 'gifted'. We now only have our youngest still there. School leadership is extremely lacking. We pulled both our gifted children completely out of the Quest (gifted)program. The teacher our youngest now has is infinitely more qualified and my child actually likes math now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

This is our third year at Indian Trails. I find the principal weak. Many mediocre teachers are teaching higher levels subjects and turning off our students. Bathrooms are without T.P. and soap! Lack of spirit boosting social activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

Indian Trails has an excellent gifted (Quest) program. Qualified and concerned teachers, who are interested in student success. Parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

335 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

337 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

332 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

332 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

381 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 21%
Black 10%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 127%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LOIS CHAVIS
Fax number
  • (407) 320-4399

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

415 Tuskawilla Road
Winter Springs, FL 32708
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-4350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bridges Academy
Winter Springs, FL


Lifeskills Academy
Winter Springs, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT