Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keeth Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 618 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

It's been better. The newer teachers are an asset and improving the teacher value .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

We moved so that our children could attend Keeth. The teachers care and it shows in how they teach and the time they spend with students and parents. The principal knows the student's and parent's names and is VERY involved with the school. They have movie nights at the school, book readings, and plenty of other after hours activities (that the principal and teachers attend). Of course, there are some "bad" students, you will never find a school without a couple. The staff does the best that they can to try to work with those students and help them improve. We were very involved parents at our children's last school and are involved at Keeth; the difference between the schools is night and day. You won't be disappointed if your children attend school at Keeth, it's more than a school, it's a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

Keeth Elementary has proved to be a wonderful school. My oldest has learning disabilities which wasn't caught until 3rd grade by a 1st year teacher who I will never forget! As with any school, I think parent involvement is the key to success! Keeth has great leadership and accepts/encourages parental involvement and frankly the more involved you are the better quality education your child receives. Out of the 5 years my oldest has been to this school and the 4 years my youngest has attended, I only have had 2 regrets with teachers. Both teachers were older and did not accept or understand learning disabilites or ADHD. After these experiences, I now immediately change or threaten to change teachers if I feel my child's needs are not being met or learning styles accommodated. Again....boils down to PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT regardless of school you are zoned for. Parents must be involved and a good teacher which Keeth is loaded with will both respect and encourage this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

In what is now my child's third year at Keeth, we remain thoroughly impressed by the quality of the education. The faculty and staff are outstanding and demonstrate daily enthusiasm and commitment to their job of providing a great learning environment for the kids. This is a Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

The facts are: Keeth just received its 10th straight A ranking. There is some diversity in the school attendance zone, which has proven to be a good thing. Keeth has probably the most active parents in the school district, with an outstanding PTA to augment its exceptional faculty and staff. Enrollment has been to steady to growing since the last district rezoning with increases beginning now as a result of new home construction in process in the Winter Springs Town Center and Tuskawilla areas. This is an outstanding school by any measure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

Check the zoning for this school. Alot of kids come from other areas because it is a small school and they are trying to beef up enrollment. It was almost going to be closed down for low numbers. Don't assume it is an upper economic school just because it is in the Tuskawilla area. We have run into some riff raff, shady families and their kids are even worse. The teachers are great, there is no denying that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

Correction to the previous posting: True Keeth did very well on 2011 FCAT writes for 4th grade, but not the highest in Seminole county as stated in that post. Check the official fcat.fldoe data online. Two elementary schools in the county scored higher passing percentages and 3 others scored the same as Keeth. Can't really say "#1 in the county". Love seeing the love for Keeth, but let's quote actual facts, which are quite good on their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

This is a fabulous school! I moved to this area specifically so that my children could go to Keeth. I was amazed by how much my daughter learned last year in kindergarten. Thanks Mrs K for teaching her how to read! I hope my son gets you next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

We moved here from up north and have been very pleased with our experiences at Keeth. The Principal is the best. He is so involved in everyday things, starting with the car line. He's in the halls, always with a smile and a friendly greeting. He really cares about the kids and he knows all of them. As busy as he is, he makes time for parents if needed. The same can be said about the guidance counselor. She's very warm and approachable if you ever need anything. There are some extraordinary teachers at Keeth as well. I really couldn't have ask for more. Many teachers go above and beyond, taking on extra projects showing up for all those after hours school activities. The new music teacher has brought so much energy to the music program. It's my kids' favorite specials class. The PTA is very active and always looking for help to run all their programs. If you like to be involved with your child's school, this is the place to be. There are some things I miss from our school up north, such as having an indoor gym and larger cafeteria/auditorium space, but I can live with it. Keeth is an older school, but the teachers and staff are what makes Keeth great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

Keeth Elementary is a wonderful school! I have to strongly disagree with the negative reviews that were placed as certain things mentioned in my opinion are not true. I live in a neighborhood in close proximity to the school and all of the children I know attend Keeth. The principal is VERY involved within the school and knows the children and parents. They strongly encourage parental involvement within this school. My daughter is now in first grade at Keeth and has loved both of her teachers! We have been blessed to meet so many wonderful families at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

Children are bused in from other low income areas. Most of the parents in the Tuskawilla area send their children to private schools now because the behavior problem students are taking over. The free and reduced lunch is up to 34% and I'm sure it is for this reason. The principal seems very unfamiliar with how young children learn. My son was left unsupervised several times. NOT a safe school! Last thing, recess is almost non-existent even K only gets 5 minutes. THANKS FCAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

What has happened to Keeth Elementary in the last 2 years....seems to have taken a downward turn. Can't say much for the new principal....not sure he knows how to run a school. Is he ever there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2011

I cant say enough great things about this school. Teachers are Awesome, the principle is awesome. my son has been going to this school since 1st grade has needed special classes and keeth staff was always there to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I cannot say enough about how amazing Keeth is! My daughter went there in the 90's & I loved it then. Now I have 2 sons there who LOVE it! Both boys are at opposite ends of the spectrum...one with special needs & the other with "superior" scores. The staff and teachers have always been there for both boys & have helped me tremendously with my special needs son. Their primary concern is what's best for the children. I've heard some horror stories of IEP meetings at other schools, including schools in this same area. I've never had a problem at Keeth, never felt intimidated, or pressured. They truly work with you as a team! The new principal is awesome! The kids love him & he has introduced programs that allow dads to get involved before school. The staff & teachers really gets to know the parents &
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

My daugther loves keeth and she can't wait to start 1st grade. My other daugther will be going to Keeth for the first time; she can't wait to start school. Keeth is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Keeth Elementary continues to emphasize the academics. The teachers and administartion are always available and listend to any concerns that I have had. You will not find a better public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Love my daughter's 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Thomas. We will truly miss her next year when our child moves up to 2nd grade. I work full time, so I haven't had a lot of interaction with the staff, but they seem nice enough. I have helped with school fund raisers and most of the parents are great to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Keeth is an excellent school! First class administration and teachers. I am very satisfied with the quality of education my children have received at Keeth. The expectations are high while keeping the tradition that has made Keeth a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I love this school, it is the main reason why I live where I live. My daughter loves going to school at Keeth. She has had the best teachers. The school does an excellent job in keeping parents informed, udpated and involoved with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I have been fairly satisfied with Keeth Elementary. This school places emphasis on reading, there is fantastic parent involvement, and a great sense of 'community' in this school. The weakness is the lack of training and knowledge of learning disabilities. It would be helpful if staff were trained in teaching children with learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 4%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 Tuskawilla Road
Winter Springs, FL 32708
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bridges Academy
Winter Springs, FL



Rainbow Elementary School
Winter Springs, FL


Layer Elementary School
Winter Springs, FL


Lifeskills Academy
Winter Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT