Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Yankeetown, FL
Students enrolled: 214
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yankeetown School 1

Posted September 18, 2010
- a parent
As far as discipline -the same infraction, in the same classroom, on the same day by different students results in different consequences. Students should be held accountable for their actions, but the rules should apply universally - not showing preferences. Teaching has become a lost art here, there is no concern or goals for learning. Some of these children have failed two or three times - it is easier to fail them than to teach them. I have seen better teaching and consistency in all areas at large urban schools. Yes - we are involved parents.

Yankeetown School 1

Posted August 11, 2010
- a parent
There is not enough focus on teaching and no consistancy in rules. No communication from teachers and just not a pleasant school at all.


Yankeetown School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
There is something not right this year in the middle school. Teachers who teach more than one subject... not good.

Yankeetown School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
The school has great administration and faculty. They strive for constant improvement. Every teacher, the principal, and every staff member I have met are great and really care about the students and their needs. This is great small town school

Yankeetown School
no rating

Posted May 09, 2008
- a teacher
Florida Writes grades came in yesterday, and Yankeetown School has proven how successful it is. Great teachers! 100% of our students have passed the Florida Writes test with a 3.5 or better. Only 10 middle schools in the state can claim that.


Yankeetown School 4

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
I just read the posting below, and I think this person is clueless. Yankeetown got an A, and did better than most schools in the area. Maybe this person should get better informed. There are some extra-curriculars, and there is also music. Clueless!

Yankeetown School 4

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
The teachers at Yankeetown get really involved and try to provide the best learning enviornment for our children. The pricipal and staff try to make everything go as smoothly as possible and they are just great people who enjoy teaching your kids!

Yankeetown School 2

Posted January 14, 2008
- a parent
One of the worst schools we've been to. I was very dissapointed in the performance of the school based on the student/teacher ratio. Test scores reflect the quality of the education...not the greatest. Small town, little money for extra-cirriculars. No art, no music, no sports. Not much to offer in my opinion.


Yankeetown School 3

Posted November 14, 2007
- a parent
YTS offers small class room size which can equal more teacher time with each individual student. This increases the academic levels for all grades. As a mother of four children I feel that Yankeetown does indeed prepare the students for a higher education for their upcoming high school years. Truly it would be nice if Yankeetown could offer high school education. I hope maybe in the years to come that will be an options for our kids in this community. The sports activities are wonderful. I do hope that some of the old coaches would get back involved! Mentoring is powerful, esp. with new coaches. The art department does not exist and I wished it did. However, the drama and music is a great treat at YTS. The parent involvement seems to be stepping up. Projects like this one is just one of the many benefits parents can enjoy. Thanks!

Yankeetown School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
Save the music my daughter learned all the states in order by a song at her prior school there is no music,art,playground. And all yes the tutoring program in only for children with special needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yankeetown School
4500 Highway 40 West, Yankeetown, FL  34498
(352) 447-2372
Last modified Yankeetown School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yankeetown School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top