Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Yulee Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 865 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

As a new resident of Nassau County, my wife and I couldn't be happier with our experiece at Yulee Primary School. Our daughter transferred into Kindergarten last year and is off to a great start in 1st grade this year. Faculty, staff and paraprofessionals are all on the same page with student development and overall learning enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

Great programs for children with disabilities, patient teachers, understanding school. I have two children, one attending the other who has moved to the elementary, and I love this school as much today as I did when my oldest first started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

WHAT IS UP WITH THE LUNCHES? MY CHILDREN COMES HOME FROM SCHOOL HUNGRY. I STARTED PACKING THE LUNCHES. THEY CANT EAT THE PACKED LUNCH DUE TO OTHER CHILDREN WANTING IT.BECAUSE THEY ARE ALSO HUNGRY. I WENT AND HAD LUNCH WITH BOTH BOYS. ONE AT THE PRIMARY AND THE OTHER AT THE ELEM SCHOOL. THAT FOOD WAS AWFUL AND SOMEONE NEEDS TO FIX THE PROBLEM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

My child is currently in the 1st grade and also attended YPS for Kindergarten. She loves her school and so do I! The student to teacher ratio is outstanding and the teachers we have experienced express personal interest in their students. The teachers welcome and encourage volunteers in the classroom and the parent turn out is exceptional. I look forward to sending my younger daughter here as well next year. Keep up the good work YPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Love my sons teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Very BAD experience at this school. No help for children who are diffrent. Not slow mind you but just diffrent. Its all about the test scores not the kids. Our teacher was not a parent herself and simply could not relate. If you can private school or homeshcool your child if he or she is not a robot child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

This is an excellent school and now that I have moved to a Polk County School, and realize how nice I had it. Don't move from this school it is a great community and family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Good school as far as public schools go. But was surprised at the low parental involvment. Second grade teacher was beyond thrilled when I offered to volunteer in class. Good teachers, good school, but they need more help. A school is only as good as the community that supports it. Volunteering in school gives a glimpse into a child's day. Regardless of how your kids may fuss, they really do love to see you there. Help make an already good school a great one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

My experience with this school is with their early intervention pre k program. This school has an excellent teacher, Mrs. Anita Hammond. This women is truly a womderful teacher, friend and rolemodel for her students. The principal and staff are just as wonderful and inspirational. I live 45 minutes away and still make the drive to yulee primary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

My son went to Yulee Primary for K, 1, and 2. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about Yulee Primary. The teachers I have experience with are: Louise Richardson-Drake, Judy Avery and Linda Jones. I felt like my son meant something to the faculty at YPS. I would highly recommend this school to anyone moving into the North Florida area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Black 7%
Two or more races 6%
Hispanic 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY ANN BENNETT
Fax number
  • (904) 225-8269

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

86426 Goodbread Road
Yulee, FL 32097
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 225-9711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Faith Christian Academy
Fernandina Beach, FL


St Michael's Academy
Fernandina Beach, FL


Southside Elementary School
Fernandina Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT