Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yulee High School

Public | 9-12 | 1136 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

Yulee High school has many opportunities for ALL students to be involved. I love how much the teachers are dedicated to their students needs even when they are no longer in their class and have been moved on to the next grade. Awesome school. Susan Hicks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

If you're a good student, then you can make good grades easily. I feel like there aren't enough teachers that challenge and push their students to their full potential, but some are great. Many of the kids are uninspired and don't take pride in the school. I think that we should add more things to the school, like more languages, teachers, and electives. If the school spirit were boosted, then it would be a whole lot better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

Congrats to YULEE HIGH for an 'A 'rating, the only high school in Nassua County to receive an A! Thanks to the awesome teachers, staff and to the students. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

Yulee High School is a pretty good school if u want ure kids to fit in with other kids real easy. since yulee's not to big, when a new kid comes into town all the other kids wants to get to know them. as for the grades, really all u gotta do is know the teachers. if your a good kid an you do most of the work then you can pretty much get a good grade (only because the teachers-most of the time-feel pitty. but some other teachers are pretty strickt, so kids watch out. there is not to many activities to chose from, but its the average stuff. band, football, vollyball, b-ball, golf, swimming, etc. but all in all i had fun at this school my grades where good and i like most of the teachers. its a good school and im going to miss it next year :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

What an awesome school Yulee High School is. The teachers are eager to teach students, and have came up with many ideas to add interest into the students environment. As with any school, many students struggle passing the FCAT. I realize this is the reason for the 'D' rating the school received. But, I believe it is not from lack of educating the students, but test anxiety perhaps. YHS is an awesome school, and I am proud to say that I have a graduate from FBHS, but also will have a graduate from YHS in 2010. Both of whom, were honor students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

teachers vary from very good with the students best intrests in mind and others just dont care.The students are uninspired
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

i was new to this school and i thought it would be hard to make new friends. by the 2nd day of school i had made plenty of friends and after the first weekend and football game i practically knew the whole school! i loved this school so much and i really miss it! the teachers are friendly and my grades were the highest theyve ever been!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2008

it's a great school, it was just built and the staff are really friendly. i think that my child is in a great learning environment here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

I have always had a very polite and helpful staff direct me to where I needed to be. The teachers are very good and want the students to excel. The school has great choice for electives and after school activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

This school has great after school activities and the teachers are awesome. Everyone is really friendly and trys to help you as much as possible. the school is really clean and tidy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

I think this highschool is very open and alot of things going on for the kids and mostly everyone knows everyone else. The staff is just absoultelly awesome and the school is just beautiful.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

281 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

266 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Black 10%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

85375 Miner Road
Yulee, FL 32097
Phone: (904) 225-8641

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oasis Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


The Ogburn School
Fernandina Beach, FL



Nassau Virtual Franchise
Fernandina Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT