Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Acworth Intermediate School

Public | 2-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Hated it. My eldest daughter went to Powder Springs Elementary which, while not rated high on this site, we always felt welcome and encouraged to be a part and to volunteer. We knew they cared deeply for their students and did the best they could with the resources they had. My middle daughter started at McCall Primary which was AMAZING. Then she went into Acworth Intermediate and I could not believe the drastic difference! Parents are not treated kindly. You feel like an intruder from the minute you walk in the front office. I once brought a huge bag of supplies fir her teacher in and was told by the front office to take it to her classroom, only to be literally SCOLDED by her teacher that I was supposed to check in at the front office before coming into her classroom. This was just one of several teachers she had that would YELL at their students and scold them for asking questions. She is still afraid to ask questions to this day, even at a new school. Also, they complain about lack of parental involvement. I signed up every single year to volunteer and never got ONE phone call in the four years we were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

I had heard horror stories about the teachers at this school and thought they could not be true - I was wrong! After 5 years and speaking with many parents, I can say that I have never seen so much bullying of children by TEACHERS in my life. I know of several parents who removed their children after only a few weeks. Some of the teachers are great! But, they are few and far between. If you have to send your children here, listen to them and stand up for them! Grading and expectations are inconsistent and parent concerns are often brushed off by administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

This school is horrible if you have a child with learning disabilities. They don't even want to acknowledge that a student may have a problem. The principle was no help help at all. So how do they address kids with learning disabilities? My sons teacher put my him in a closet after calling him lazy when he wasn't able to read a sentence. He couldn't come out until the lesson was over! We pulled him out the next day. He is flourishing in his new school where they got him in the proper classes the first week we were there. If your kid has trouble learning... Do yourself a favor, get out while you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

I am very impressed with the progress made by the new administration. I had concerns at 1st but no longer have doubts that this is a great school. The teachers enjoy teaching and truly care about each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

I am not impressed with this school at all. The children have no physical outlet prior to lunch, yet I have witnessed the lights turned off during lunch to control the amount of talking that they children do. They are made to walk in lines that stay exactly one tile over from the wall. This is a public school not the Army!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

This school has some of the best teachers around! They put new meaning to 'above and beyond'! Most will do anything to see their students succeed and are very receptive to forming a positive parent-teacher partnership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

Good school however it needs more diversity within the staff. It is shocking that with so many minority students there are only two or three minority teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

I have been very pleased with my daughters teacher at this school. She was very interested in seeing the students do their best. She even decided to loop up with them (moving to the next grade)to give them a running start. It worked! She knew exactly where each stood in understanding math, their reading comprehension, and their personalities. This also made it more comfortable upon moving to a higher grade. She is not only caring about her class but very involved in the community. I wish we had more like her. The PTA is very welcoming at this school. Family involvement is highly encouraged. Most of the staff has always been friendly but then you will always have exceptions. My only regret is that with the new elementary school, my 2 children will be seperated. I would give this school a very good rating to someone moving to the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I recently visited Acworth Elementary as a Grandmother and a teacher. The school was receptive and positive. Mrs.Swearingin helped me use a poster making machine that is not available here in Las Vegas. She allowed me to read to the class unannounced and made me feel very welcome. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2005

5-Stars for Acworth!! Excellent environment and teacher/child interaction. I would strongly recommend this school to my peers moving to the area. The children are happy, the parents are involved. Its a world beyond just education, its a huge family of teachers, parents and students. I have 2 girls attending Acworth and am extremely satisfied with their performance!!!! Thanks Acworth for helping me believe in the public education system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2004

I am not sure why the numbers look bad but I can tell you first hand that my daugther will be ahead of the curve when it is all over. This is due to the quality of teaching that they receive at Acworth Elementary. The teachers are awesome and they really love their students. The environment is warm and inviting. They have great ways of getting the parents involved and I like it. We are very thankful to have our daugther go to Acworth Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

We have had two children attend Acworth Elementary. Our daughter attended for grades 2-5 and is considered the upper end of average. She was well prepared for the transition to middle school. Our son is part of the gifted program and his needs are being met very well through a gifted cluster program where he is placed with a gifted teacher five days a week! Do not let the schools test scores discourage you from attending. The PTA is very active and the community business partners truly embrace the school through donations and time given to the students in many different enrichment opportunities. Our teachers and staff offer many extra curricular clubs (honors chorus, student government, jump rope team, art club, environmental commitee,safety patrol, Friday morning live student run broadcasts, etc)as well as peer mentoring. We are fortunate to have an administration committed to ensuring that every child learns!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2003

Acworth Elementary is a good elementary school. The teachers are warm and caring. They go the extra mile to make sure that the children are learning. My children have attended from K and are now in 4th and 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

200 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

201 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

200 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

191 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 44%
Black 35% 37%
Hispanic 19% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debbie Morris
Fax number
  • (770) 975-6602

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4220 Cantrell Rd NW
Acworth, GA 30101
Phone: (770) 975-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT