Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ford Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

This is a fantastic school. The teachers and staff are caring and helpful. They go above and beyond the call of duty. Very happy to have my child at Ford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

What a fantastic school! I was VERY pleased when we moved here from Maryland about 3 1/2 years ago, at the dedication from the counselors, teachers and faculty. Great teachers who REALLY love their students and are devoted to their academic success. I can't say enough about this school. I love their beautiful garden the students/teachers there planted, as well. Very happy :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

This is a great School, we just moved from Germany to the USA and we thought it will be challange for our Son. All Teachers are taking care about the Students. Our son loves going to Ford Elementary School becasue he feels integrated. All Teachers including ESOL-Teacher doing a great job. Our son loves although the special activities and he is looking forward to go to scholl every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

My son attend Ford and has for the last two years after transferring in from an out of state school. The school has been good for him and he is challenged academically in the classroom and in Target. The teachers have taken a personal interest in him and have worked to challenge him past the core curriculum given his ability in school. I will say that the support staff is stand-offish and unfriendly. When I have visited the office to check him in or out, the staff there does not know his name (he is in his 3rd acadmeic year there) and do not bother even getting up to help me. They come across as being bothered if you ask any questions. In his first year, there was a bullying issue and the school was slow to follow up on the issue once it was raised to their attention - using the excuse that the CRCT testing was going on at the time the request was made. After having to follow up and ask, the issue was eventually resolved but I never felt it got the sense of urgency needed especially given the impact of bullying at a young age. To summarize - academically the school is fine and that is the most important thing; from a customer service perspective - it fails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

This school is amazing.... Teachers know how to help children to build self esteem & confidence (my son is now so motivated), so children naturally scores A's. After school clubs & target programs are also fantastic, children can't stop talking how they like to learn at school. Very warm, caring, friendly environment. I don't believe I can find better place for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Teachers are awesome. Parent-Teacher partnership to do what is best for every child. Faculty and staff go above and beyond what is expected and do the best job possible for the KIDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

We've had a great experience at Ford. The Principal and Staff are all very dedicated and loving to the children. Mrs. Pepper is an outstanding leader. They have a fantastic garden program and the foundation-sponsored Science Lab is great! My children are receiving an education on par or better than many private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

This is an update to my 'overcrowded' review of May 2007. I want to commend Ford Elementary and Cobb County schools - Job Well Done! Re-districting, a new elementary school, and outstanding Ford professionals (leadership, teachers, and everyone at the school) have resolved all past crowding issues already. Having another wonderful year at Ford!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

My children have recieved an excellent education at Ford. Their Target program is the best. We moved here from California and the gifted program here far exceeds anything they were doing there. I have had 3 children in Ford Elementary and have to say for the most part they have had great teachers - very caring and enthusiastic and very focused on education. Ford is definitely overcrowded, the redistricting is a mess and the overcrowding will not be relieved for a while as many parents will choose to drive their kids to Ford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I love Ford Elem.! The parents play a key role in making this school so great. There are so many parent volunteers giving their time and we appreciate them so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

I have been very pleased with Ford. The new principal is outstanding. Very focused on student learning and protective of instruction time. My child's teacher is probably the best teacher I've encountered in the last 10 years that my kids have been in school! The area that we live in here in Cobb County is growing and schools are crowded. This should hopefully be relieved when boundaries are redesigned for the 2008-09 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Overcrowded, overcrowded, overcrowded. Relief may be few years off. Redistricting occurs in 2008, but some children will still finish their elementary education at Ford. To do this parents will have to drive the students to Ford. Bus transportation is not provided for students outside attendance zone. This will further traffic woes. Amazingly, students are still being well served. Teachers are the best and do a wonderful job. However, all of the typical headaches that come with overcrowding are bearing down on Ford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

Ford is an excellent school, with a superb faculty, and extremely high standards. My children transferred to Ford from a very pricey private school, and frankly, I think they have gotten a better education at Ford than they were receiving at the private school. Parent involvement is incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

This is a nice school,comparing cobb county schools to the city I live in now,it was decent.I liked the teachers alright,I got some pretty good ones in the time I was there.Principal Karen Brown was there for awhile,and if you ask she she did an excellent job before moving to Blackwell Elementary school.I compliment Mrs.Hargrove for being the best teacher that I've ever had!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 25, 2006

Ford Elementary is one of the best schools I have ever seen. The principal always has a smile on her face and loves children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Ford is a great school. Principal tends to cater to PTA members. The school has a great learning environment and the kids come first,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2006

We moved to this district specifically for the schools, I have a child in the high school fed by Ford and a special needs child in kindergarten at Ford, she has always been treated very well and the school has offered numerous positive ways to help us with her needs, we would like to move but we will be here at least until she finishes elementary school because we could not find more caring, loving people to teach our daughter. Allison Bass
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

Ford is wonderful! I have 2 children attendind Ford and can't tell you how pleased we have been with every aspect of the school. The administration is very personal and approachable. The teachers care about the 'over-all' educational experience and value each child as an individual. The parent involvement is incredible. The are typically more parents wanting to volunteer than positions available. My children wake up excited about school and eager to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

Our overall experience with Ford was exceptional. Although there was one teacher in particular who we felt was not great with us, the parents, she was very good with the children. Although our son's first grade class had several children with discipline issues, the teacher was very good at keeping them at bay and controlling the situation so it was not disturbing to the rest of the class. We were also very impressed with the Target program (some other districts may call it advanced or gifted). The parent involvement at this school was also wonderful, with parents actively participating in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Our son attended kindergarten at Ford Elementary, I was a bit nervous since he had previously only attended private schools. I have been very happy with the school. I believe the children are treated with kindness & respect, and as individuals. The staff has been very kind & is available to assist the parents. Overall we have been very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 44%
Black 9% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1345 Mars Hill Rd NW
Acworth, GA 30101
Phone: (678) 594-8092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Vaughan Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT