Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Durham Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2006

Presently, I have a son in the 6th grade at Durham. Overall I would give the school an above average rating. I believe the quality of education as well as the overall security is good. I do believe, and this is typical of government education, that there is poor communication or interaction from the teachers / administration to the parents is poor. If they could vastly improve that point, the school would get an overall A grade from me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

I am a 6th greder at durham middle finishing up the year. I am verry pleased with the exelent extracurricular activites! I am a very luckey student, for that I am in student council. I am in also in the yearbook club. I really love my pod and my 6-3 teachers. I have never had a behavior or a learning issue with the teachers. My sister is going to be in the school next year, she is thrilled. I really think some parents should talk to their children about what they do, because of some of the rude comments. I do not believe there is anything wrong with the staff of Durham.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2006

I must agree with the majority of the posts. I am a 7th grader and I have been at Durham for 2 years. Durham is an amazing school, but it cannot be any better with Dr. Clark as principal. There are barely any extracurricular activities, and virtually no downtime. I think Dr. Clark needs to go but other than that, Durham is an exceptional school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2006

This school needs leadership. The administration is unavailable! If there is an issue, you can never address it. The teachers are wonderful with the exception of subistutes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

I am in the eighth grade and this is my first year at Durham. All but one of my teachers have been wonderful, but I am not complaining, because there are bad teachers everywhere. I have learned so much this year, and I feel like my teachers are really concerned about my learning and being prepared for highschool. Before coming to Durham, I was skeptical, having heard bad reviews, but now that I am here I love it. There are several things that I do not agree with, however; it is true that nobody ever sees the principal, Dr. Clark, but the teachers are always commenting about her almost as if they are afraid of her. I also think that the Connections at Durham could improve. Overall, I think it is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2005

I currently am in the 8th grade at durham. I have to agree with the other reviews in their opinion of the principal's involvement in the school and extracurricular activities. In this schools name I have won multiple gold medals in the science olympiad competition. I have never seen the principal much less met her or recieved praise for my accomplishments. Other than this durham is an acceptional school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2005

Durham is a good school, but its effectiveness is hampered by the worst principal I have encountered. She is invisible- I never saw her in three years of band concerts, OM meetings, etc. My daughter did not know, after three years, what the principal looked like! My student was on a team that finished very high in a state competition-without any recognition from the principal. It is a mystery why she is allowed to stay. The school succeeds in spite of her, not because of her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

I am a former student of Durham, now in high school in another state. While I was there I felt safe and learned so much while having one of the best years of my life there. I was and still am a band student and loved every minute of it. I didn't know how well the school prepared me for high school until I moved in the middle of my junior high years. My new school had such a weak curriculum, I was repeating stuff I had done in elementary school! I am just now using knowledge from 6th grade in my 9th grade classes. The days spent at Durham were fun and filled with new things to learn and there was always a safe envirnoment in the school. My new middle school was detached from its students, unlike the teachers I had at Durham. Durham is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2005

The teachers at Durham are hard-working and caring professionals. It is unfortunate that they have to work under a principal that is so uncaring about the students in her school. Dr. Clark is never seen by parents, students or interested community leaders. Cobb has a great system and wonderful teachers, it is just too bad that this principal has not been replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

I do not feel this school nor its' management truly cares about the children and their education and their feelings. Teachers have belittled my child and have not received any discipline action. Teachers don't believe in staying late or coming in early for extra help and they teach the kids to memorize and spit the material back out-NOT TO LEARN. They are too busy worrying about the standardized test scores and covering material for those tests. It has long been my belief that the schools in Cobb and this one included have too wide a curriculum and don't spend enough time on any one thing for the kids to learn it. The classes are too big and too much pressure and homework and nonsense projects are given to the kids. I am not pleased with the educational system at Durham nor the principal and management
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

We have been very UNhappy with Durham Middle. There is no accountability for the teachers and I've never seen the Principal - nor has my son -who has been there for 2 years. My son says he wouldn't know her if she walked up to him. We complained about the lack of communication between the Administration and Parents and were informed that they are trying to make the kids responsible for themselves. Meanwhile, on various occasions with various teachers my sons homework has been 'lost' by irresponsible teachers who can't account for work we know was done - we oversaw the progress. Seems to us they capitalize on parents being too busy to be involved. Good luck getting them to return phone calls and you sure won't get a response from a note to the teachers. You'll have to go over their heads to the Assistant Principal. (Not the Principal).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

The teachers really show a genuine interest in the kids. My daughter was struggling with lesson and my wife and I were immediately informed. Thus, allowing the parents and the teacher to work together with recovery plan. If, I had to say anything negative it would be around the fact that the school does not embrace diversity and cultural awareness. The world is now global and we must start teaching our kids about other cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

This school is awsome. My student goes to this school and is in the band class. She is so happy and always comments that the teacher, Ms. Rickard, is great. Since this is her 8th grade year she says that she'll miss the school because she never had to worry about her safety. Teachers keep me up-to-date on her progress and since going there she hasn't failed to be a honor student. I'm really proud of the teachers and Dr. Clark, principal, there really nice and care about my students future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

Teachers are very organized and patient. The principal, dr. Clark, is the best out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

This School is ok, but definitly could do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

371 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Black 10% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2891 Mars Hill Rd NW
Acworth, GA 30101
Phone: (770) 975-6641

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT