Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Durham Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
This school is fantastic! You will not find a more involved staff, parents or student body anywhere! All take pride in their personal performance and respect themselves and others. This is a great school!

Durham Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Panter is incredible! He should teach classes on how to inspire students! His passion and creative approach to teaching no doubt changes lives everyday! If there was a picture of a perfect teacher it would be Mr. Panter!

Durham Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers here are blessed with smart, articulate, and engaged students. Frankly, their are a few teachers who could stretch themselves outside their comfort zone. For the most part the teachers here are phenomenal- thoughtful and creative in their approach and inspiring the best in their students.

Durham Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Some nights there is a lot but other nights not so much! It's challenging but not impossible.

Durham Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
I can't say enough about their character program that focuses on respecting yourself and others! Here's not only taught it is in practiced daily at this school!

Durham Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
This school grows kids from the inside out! The teachers model and express compassion, empathy and caring for the students and each other. It feels like family at this school!

Durham Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
This school teaches not only academics but also character! They teach the kids life skills and foundations for how to be successful in life!

Durham Middle School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a community member
I am A current 8th Grader at Durham, all advanced classes. I feel that the reviews from 2005, 2003, 2006 all need to be shoved out the door. This school is THE best school i have EVER seen. The reports of bullying are all overrated. we have not had any "fist fights". ive been here for three years now and the programs are better than you can find anywhre else. The teachers offer FREE tutoring, they actually have REALLY fun clases that engage students like me (cough cough Mrs. Skeans cough) the upper faculty (Principle, assistant principles) are always being envolved directly with the students and we all love them. Some people may disagree because "but there is too much homework :(" My only responce is "Your a Middle Schooler now, act like it". This school offers TONS of extra-curricular activities. I am involved in many, such as the Jr. Beta club, the Orchestra program, the Patriot Club (posts and retires colours after every school day) and the Durham Media Committe. this school has a weekly charachter program that requires students to answer ethical and moral questions that actually make them THINK. This school astonishes all visitors and brings honor to the community.

Durham Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
Great school for the Cobb district. Had the pleasure of meeting the teachers and seeing how much they care about the growth of the students. Worth the drive from powder springs.

Durham Middle School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Durham is an incredible school. They have great teachers and well managed classrooms, from what I can tell. My daughter loves being there. Their character education system and discipline structures are impressive and have changed the school in a lot of good ways. They reward students for good behavior on Fridays, which is a great incentive for the kids to do their best and my daughter loves it! Dr. Galante is a very approachable principal and seems to be doing a great job. The music programs there are excellent, as well. Of course, middle schoolers will be middle schoolers and drama happens...even with good kids, but this school is great and even better than the private school my daughter was in previously.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Durham Middle School
2891 Mars Hill Rd Nw, Acworth, GA  30101
(770) 975-6641
Last modified Durham Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Durham Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top