Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allatoona High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

The school has a great enviroment for learning and nurturing the students. Plenty of extra curricular activities. I have son in 10th grade and he could not be happier. There block system works well to challenge the kids and pushing the to excel. Like any school they have some discipline issues but in comparison to other schools in the area. I feel my son is safe and has support to make good decisions. Their athletic programs are lead by a great staff and produces great results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Allatoona is a GREAT school! My child has been there for two years and we have thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. The principal does not put up with much in the way of bad behavior and demands much of his students in character and dress. The sports team excel in all areas. The band is very large & impressive. The ROTC program is wonderful and a tight group of friends. We have found the teachers to be very professional and helpful and the demands of each student high. They push the kids to do their best on all levels. No problems in the school that I know of and there is a ton of school "Buccaneer Pride" and graduates who are going on to very impressive schools! The school seems to be very safe with no stories of fights, problems, etc. The kids seem to really have a healthy respect for each other. We wouldn't be anywhere else in West Cobb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

I recommend your child go to this one. This school has rose and blossomed almost immediately. The teachers are caring and will help you no matter what the problem is. The administrators are always there to be for you. Although the dress code policy is strict, it doesn't matter. The students are mostly willing to learn. There are so many extracurricular activities and opportunities. They are very focused on sports though and half of the teachers are coaches.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2012

This school is horrible. They worry about the wrong things. Putting kids in ISS for having holes in their shoes and when described my financial situation the administration said they did not care. The principal laughed in my face. My child was a straight A student and now has B's and C's. They picked their teachers based on their athletic abilities, so they do not teach correctly. My child has to get help from other students who have tutors because they did not get it either. As long as they're doing good in sports they don't care. The administration needs to be changed with people who aren't arrogant, have repect, and have their priorities aimed towards a childs success education wise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

As of May 2012, I will have graduated my second child from this school. Having moved to this area from a 5A school in the mid west, we were very concerned about which school to choose. Having heard about the administration that this new school was putting into place, we chose Allatoona High School. We have been exceptionally pleased with the Administration and how they handle the students. My children were welcomed as if they had always been from this area. There are many ways that students can get involved-but it is up to the student to determine that. Obviously, in every school you will have teachers which don't quite rise to your expectations but this is far overshadowed by the fact that the majority of educators far exceed what you can expect.. My daughter graduated from this school two years ago and has fond memories of the friendships made, including many teachers and administrators in which she still keeps in contact with. The band program in which my son is involved is exceptional! He has formed many lifelong friendships at this school as well. He, too, will graduate this May with great memories. I can not say enough good things about this school-GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Not a unified school. The school does not practice inclusion. Special Education Department needs training. Some of the teachers are excellent. The school should hold diversity education. Also, sports is their importance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I love this school. The teachers and administration are very approachable. They have a very good and involved PTSA. The coaches are very committed in every sport. Also a good mix of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

The teachers and coaches here are the best in the county. Thet actually invest in your children and teach life skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

In just a short time, this new school has established itself as a school with strong focus on Academics, the Arts, and Student Athletics. The band/colorguard program and the football program are already years ahead of their time, especially for a school established in 2008. We're very pleased with the teachers and staff, as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

This is not a good school so therefore i can not give it any ratings. The staff is bad, they are not willing to work with you like other schools. I would not recommend any body to attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

331 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

328 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

331 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

331 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
71%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
79%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 44%
Black 19% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Scott Bursmith

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Dallas Acworth Hwy NW
Acworth, GA 30101
Phone: (770) 975-6503

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT