Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westover High School

Public | 9-12 | 1200 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2012

Best school in the state, BEst schhol in the land One test ONe time No Excuses NO Exceptions
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2012

Best school in the system best school in the state. One test one time alright.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

Westove is truely a wonderful school! My son is an athelete and the couching staff takes great care of him. I didn't mention acedemics first, b/c the are so stable. I believe it's a great schoo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I attended WHS in the 70's and I have been a successful businessman for many years. My daughter graduated from in 2002 and received her Masters from VSU with honors. My son graduated in 2005 and is an honor graduate from Ga. Tech. My other son graduated on 2008 and is an honor student at UGA. There is nothing wrong with the the education they received at Westover High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Very disciplined school with the best kids in dougherty county
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2007

I am a graduating college senior and former student of Westover High School. Not only did this school prepare me academically but also socially. Many problems and encounters I experienced with those in authority (teachers and administrators) exposed me to challenges within not only the workforce but also life in general. I feel that I gained MORE than a honors high school diploma but also an advantage over those entering the real world along with me. From racial issues to being able to defend what I felt was right as a student, Westover exposed me to it all! I was able to gain friendships that are to this day stronger than ever and I also left with memories that will last a lifetime! I will forever be greatful for this experience and will cherish it for the rest of my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

Eventhough I'm a somore at Westover I love it already. All my teachers are realy nice and I feel like I did at my middle school, Merry Acers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2005

I am a senior at Westover Comprehensive High School and I strongly feel that no other high school in all of Dougherty County could have better prepared me for success. The school truly reflects the city of Albany. The student body is 75 percent black, but we are also exposed to a great variety of people which I feel is a tool that the other three high schools lack. The Marching Patriots are currently the best band in the city and our basketball team is very well known for its success and numerous state championships. Our school gets bad press from the media, but I still highly recommend Westover over any high school in Albany.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2005

I'm sure the curriculum (county wide) is challenging enough. It 04-05 was my child's first year in high school, but she felt more challenged in middle school (when we lived in Charlotte, NC. The vast majority of the teachers have high expectations and teach to those expectations. There are a few who claim to have expectations but do not teach. There is great parental involvement when it comes to sports e.g basketball, football, and soccer. I think parental involvement school wide would be better if the principal were open to the idea. Communications from the school are few and far between, which I think is critical when you have teenagers who don't always want you up at the school. Discipline is good. I've walked in the school many times and seen only a few students in the hallways. Those I've see weren't lingering around. The principal is very accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

323 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

304 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

323 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

324 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
61%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
45%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
61%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
36%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 37%
White 17% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Partridge Dr
Albany, GA 31707
Phone: (229) 431-3320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT