Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sherwood Acres Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

Sherwood s an Awesome school. All three of my children have been going there since kndergarten!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

i love sherwood acers school because they help u learn and they are very nice to the students sherwood is a great school and if we win it would be great so lease help our school we support the kids in haiti and give them alot and no one thanked us so help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Education is always there first priority. Making sure the children get what they need to be successful in life because they are our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

Sherwood is a very goood school i have two girls that attend that wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I love Sherwood I have three children that attended the school and they loved it. I now have a son in the 5th and daughter in the 3rd grades and they love their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I really love Sherwood, my son has attended since 2nd grade he is now in the 4th grade. Dr. Pierce his 3rd grade teacher was great and really kept me informed as to my son's strengths and weaknesses, she always provided ways I could help him learn a particular section in the curriculum if he was having problems. This year he has Mr. Young who is a new teache, but is absolutely wonderful he answeres all my notes in a timely manner and keeps me very much informed, the first day my son was in his class he told me what a cool teacher Mr. Young is. Ms. Long is also one of his teachers and she will return my calls promptly and let me know my sons progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

I love Sherwood, they are very into their kids education and safety. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

well so far i have to say that this school has been good to my little girl.i am very happy with all of her teachers and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My son attended SAES for K5. I was very disappointed in the entire school. The first few months he had a very young and unqualified teacher. What was most upsetting was that during the last two months of school in 2007 there were two school lock downs. The first lockdown I heard about from the local newspaper and the second I heard about from another parent. Both times the school administration did not send home a letter or anything explaining what had happened. I felt that it would have been easy for the principle to send a note home with everyone explaining there was a lock down and that the school followed the procedures, but no one ever said anything until just before school let out for the summer. The school never explained what the threat was to cause the lockdowns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

We love our daughters school, she loves her school, all the teachers are wonderful, and the principil and asst principil are wonderful:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

Sherwood is a really good school. Expecially Mrs. Robinson, the principal, she works hard with both the parents and teachers to come together for the greater good of the child. I know Mrs. Robinson 1st hand because my child has spent many of times in her office for behaviorl problems relating to ADHD. She helps parents and teacher come to a middle to benefit the child. She also speaks to the child and hears their side of the story. She tries hard to prepare the children for the next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

I picked up my child and another child from the extended day program. I have never been or spoken to anyone at this program before. I was not asked for any idea or even what my name was, I was not even asked to sign the children out. SAD.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

121 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

121 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

121 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 76% 37%
White 17% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Eddie C. Johnson Jr.
Fax number
  • (229) 431-3446

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 Doncaster Dr
Albany, GA 31707
Phone: (229) 431-3397

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT