Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Alpharetta, GA
Students enrolled: 781
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haynes Bridge Middle School 1

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
I have had 3 kids come thru this school, initially was a top notch middle school ....in 2014,2015 the school is speeding down hill fast....the teachers get no support from the principal, discipline is he biggest distraction in the class...it takes over, so even if kids want to be there they cannot learn. The teachers even have tried reaching out to the kids pleading for them to tell their parents. My talks with administration got no where....my 4th child will not go there.... I have never been a complainer, but this school is unravelling....

Haynes Bridge Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
My kids have been at Haynes bridge for 6-8. No school is perfect, but this is a great middle school with few problems. My kids have been in on-level and advanced classes. One with an IEP. In sports and band. Most of the teachers have been great, and in the case where there was a conflict in all honesty my student was partly to blame. Working with the teacher and my student the problem was resolved. Parents have to be involved and many are at Haynes bridge. Overall a very good safe school where my kids got ready for high school and made friends. My last just completed 8th and we will miss Haynes bridge.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 2

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
My child had a terrible problem with being bullied here, another parent had her special needs needs child being bullied. Another parent"s son was repeatledly bullied then suspended when he fought back. PE and hallways not monitored close enough. There are some caring teachers and Ms. Armstrong is a good Asst. Principal. Not all teachers use Edmodo as I was led to believe they would to communicate HW so found it very confusing to keep track of assigments, and to check mail, teacher websites, HAC. Not as many clubs, activities, and programs as neighboring Middle Schools as observed when visiting a new school for my child. Nice media ctr. and clinic staff. TAG classes crowded. You have to take three 9 wks. of PE if you don't take a music elective, which is a poor option.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to Haynes Bridge and I think it is a fantastic school. It has great leadership and a very active PTA. I believe when parents are involved good things happen. It is the smallest middle school around and you really feel like everyone there tries to make a difference. Keep it up!!

Haynes Bridge Middle School 1

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
If your child is in specail needs classes the education is poor at best. These classes mix age level and the teacher has to teach to the lowest common level. Behavior problems are mixed in with learning problems. The staff does not read IEP's until they are aksed to. Accomodations are not made, even when clearly stated. Excuses excuses... Classes can't be changed without an act from congress and my child is stuck in a class she does not need because proper accomodations can't be made so my child can take a different class. My child is bright, intelligent and knows that the teachers are not teaching to the same level as the main stream classes and this is discouraging my child. When my child complains that they are not learing what the other kids are being taught there is a problem. The school and teachers will not addressing the issues.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 4

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
My kids and I enjoy Haynes Bridge Middle school. It is the right fit for my children. I agree with the 'responsible for your own actions' approach that this school has a policy. This proves to be affective. While at the same time, they should reach when grades and behavior gets too out of control. So far there are sufficient after school activities to peak a child's interest. My son is in robotics. I am impressed by that because that was started by a parent's suggestion. Letting me know, open communication is respected and acted upon. I love this school because the teachers are really involved...most of the use Edmodo a lot to communicate assignments, examples, expectations, and necessary changes and updates. I know my children are being prepared for high school.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended five different schools in three different states and Haynes Bridge IS the best. Haynes Bridge has teachers that seem to care, many involved parents, and most students are respectful of teachers, other students, and themselves. The building is reasonable well maintained and resources seem to be adequate. My children have made better friends quicker at Haynes Bridge then at any other school. The children also like the teachers and so do I. All schools have some issues and no school is perfect for all students, but there are fewer issues at Haynes Bridge than at most schools. This is even more impressive being a Middle School, which are some of the hardest years. The other school my children attended in GA was Barnwell Elementary and Hayes Bridge is an improvement.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 3

Posted May 12, 2013
- a community member
This school is truly amazing if you are in on level classes. The teachers are great and don't give too much work. However, if you are in TAG or advanced classes, beware. The teachers are not as prepared and are not always able to keep the class under control and, at times, downright lazy. It appears as though the administration puts are many kids in the upper classes are possible, whether or not they are qualified. This means teachers are forced to slow lessons down, make them easier, and stop to explain to kids who honestly shouldn't be there. In my accelerated (a year ahead) math class, there were two girls who skipped ahead this year without catching up on the work they were supposed to and wasted hours of our class time over the year asking questions that they should already know the answer. The teacher and administration of course, did nothing. Sixth grade teachers are good, seventh grade decent, and eighth grade bad. Foreign language classes are usually overcrowded unless you take German. I enjoyed my time here overall, but this last year has been difficult due to lack of help from my teachers.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 4

Posted April 03, 2012
- a community member
Great after school programs. Just 2 little tweaks, there are writings on the restroom walls, and subs tend to yell a lot. Overall, the teachers are GREAT at sticking to teaching. There IS Silent Lunch, ISS, OSS, and Detention.

Haynes Bridge Middle School 4

Posted February 17, 2012
- a community member
I enjoy going to this school, they have good lunches. I do disagree with the teachers way of communicating with the students. Disipline is important, Im of aware of that fact. The teachers are the authority and we should respect them, I do. They disipline, their mehod of doing that is lacking. Teachers expect us to respect them when half of them dont respect us. That's where our "disrespectful attitiude" comes in. Everyday, I see teachers punishing students based on what they saw. Drawing conclusions w/o even knowing what happened. Sometimes, they are correct with their punishment. Most of the time they are not. Mr. Rifkin (8th grade) is a prime example of a teacher who DOES respect his students. In return, students respect him. Also, substitute teachers need better instructional guidlines. We are often faced w/ "busy work" when a sub is in. They usually yell at us, just for asking what they would call a 'stupid question".

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haynes Bridge Middle School
10665 Haynes Bridge Rd, Alpharetta, GA  30022
(770) 740-7030
Last modified Haynes Bridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haynes Bridge Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top