Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Windward Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

Lake Windward is an amazing school. I have a 3rd grader and a 5th grader here. The atmosphere is uplifting and encouraging. The teachers go above and beyond and push my children to do more than I knew they were capable of. I volunteer at the school every chance I get, and I love getting to really be in the middle of what is going on. I couldn't be more thrilled with my children's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

My son goes here for special needs preschool. So far we've had nothing but wonderful things to say. His teacher really cares about him, all the specials teachers have been wonderful, and we love the principal and office staff. It's been a great experience for him and we are hoping that next year is as wonderful for us as this year has been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Lake Windward Elementary is a horrible school where the teachers profile children. They want your children to be robots and do not speak unless spoken to. They do not allow any social interaction at all with the kids. I find this school nothing short of a prison for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

My child loves going to school. Her Kindergarden teacher really cares about the children overall learning experience. I love that the teacher promotes healthy eating by having weekly tastings of fruits and healthy snacks. LWE is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

The thing that I like the most about LWE is that is an inclusive school... Special needs kids (like mine) interact with normal students during different moments during the day, week, month, year... The teachers are great! they really love teaching and their passion can be easily feel through the halls. The school works really hard on making parents involved with the school activities. There is a very active PTA with great ideas and spectacular events that keep all year round the community together; volunteer work is something that I really like from this school!!! There are lots of "extra hands" that keep helping every day and in different areas, and we feel very proud about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

I was comparing 6 different elementary schools (near/around LWE) today just to see how our school was doing and could not be more happy and proud to say it OUT STOOD in all fields. Let it be the teachers excellence, Principal's involvement, PTA involvement, parents involvement, class activities, extra curriculum activities, sports and of course the test scores we excelled in each one. KEEP IT UP LW.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

The Principal and Teachers are great, my daughter is now in 4th Grade. The Fulton County requirements need to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

It's my son's 4th year in here. The teachers are really great in a way to give lots of chances of challenge for each student. Most of all, my son is really happy here. Also, my daughter is in kindergarten now. She is also having great time with such experienced teachers and staff and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

LWES is a great school overall. The problems in academics is mostly because of the fickle Fulton County requirements and not necessarily a tru reflection on the teachers and administrators. PTA involvement is highly encouraged. There would be relatively little out-of-the-classroom experience for the kids without them. Sometimes there is a big gap between 'fun' and 'school.' Except for the newly installed Science Olympiad, there is no school activity that challenges the students outside of the classroom. LWES has no spelling bee, accelerated reading program, talent show, honor roll, etc. The TAG program is not intellectually stimulating, at least not for my child. All of my child's teachers (K-5) have been stellar. Overall, we had a great experience here with lots of memories. As in any place, you have to make it your own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

My daughter started Kindergarten last year here. I loved the staff and teachers. They were wonderful to my daughter. And communicated great. It was a shame we had to move after the first couple months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I have twin girls on 1st grade at LWE and we could not be happier with the quality of their teachers and the school in general! We moved to Alpharetta 3 years ago because of LWE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I moved all three of my kids out of private school because the standards were not where they should have been academically and the general beahvior was poor. LWE has been amazing in all areas - academic, arts, music - and the teachers are all highly educated and certified in GA. I continue to be very impressed with my kids' education and find they are excelling and achieving. They are also constantly tested to ensure they are receiving the highest possible learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

LWES is a great school. The academics are challening and their test scores are well above state averages. The teachers are cream of the crop and the PTA is very active. Parent involvement and teacher communication is extensive in the lower grades, but seems to dwindle in the upper grades, in my experience. Overall, however, we have been very happy with our experience at LWES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

This is a great school located in a wonderful, up-scaled district. We are lucky to have our daughter in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

I have a kindergartener and a 3rd grader at LWES. Both of my kids have had a very positive experience! My 3rd grader has a wonderful, caring teacher and he is really challenged. I feel as though he is getting a better education than at his private school in VA where we came from. My kindergartener has a very dedicated first year teacher and the class size is small, only 18 kids. She is reading so well and has better handwriting than most adults. I only wish there were regular PTA meetings..it was very hard to get involved in the PTA as a new comer to the school. Most teachers encourage classroom volunteerism. Ms. Z and Dr. Reddish are both wonderful to their staff, parents, and students. The after school science program is great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

A lovely school,but very limited parent involvment allowed. Also the Art program needs some more creativity and all diferent kinds of media to work with besides crayons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My daughter attended this school for two years the principal is fantastic and involved. The level of parnet involvement is spectacular. Teachers really seem to care. Greta program for Special needs kids, school really tries to embrace acceptance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

My daughter attended Lake Windward Elementary for kindergarten. It was great because there are two full-time teachers for all kindergarten classes. And they didn't allow more than 20 children in the class. This school focuses a lot on neatness of writing. There is a lot of parent involvement which is not hard to come by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

Lake Windward is a wonderful school! Test scores are high and student to teacher ratio low! But most important to me is that there is a lot of communication between the staff and parents. Parents are very involved and supportive at this school. One of the things I was looking for was also a school that encouraged diversity, respect and learning about cultures -- they do that! They also teach important values like courtesy, remaining drug-free, staying healthy, taking care of the environment and each other. These are important lessons that cannot be measured on a test and that I want my children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

132 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

132 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

131 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

132 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

133 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

132 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 3%
Black 9% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11770 E Fox Ct
Alpharetta, GA 30005
Phone: (770) 740-7050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ocee Elementary School
Alpharetta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT