Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Medlock Bridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 689 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

our children have been attending Medlock Bridge since PreK and are now entering 5th grade. We have had an overwhlemingly posiive experience at the school. In K we didn't love our teacher, but every other teacher has been tops. I have always felt welcome and more importantly that my kids' best interest was always paramount. I feel like they know and love my kids! While I personally had no issues with our first principle our new principle is more communicative and open to parental involvment. She does more fun stuff with the kids too! Sad this will be our last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this school!!! Even tho at the first of the year we had a problem with a bully and it seemed like I was always complaining, but they took care of it finally. I love the staff! When you walk in the school they know who you are and who your child(ren) are. The teachers actually care for your children and want them to do and be the best..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

You cannot get a better public school education than at Medlock Bridge Elementary. Some parents had issues with the old principal but we have a new principal as of this school year and she is wonderful. The fundraisers are well done, the teachers are sharp, and the education is second to none. We are zoned for Autrey Mill Middle and Johns Creek HS after Medlock. It doesn't get much better than that! This is a beautiful area and a wonderful place to raise a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

My kid had very good learning experience in the Kinder garden. But in the 1 st grade in this year is have very bad experiences and teacher is not having positive attitude and always getting into negative attitude build in children. Vice principal and Principal also seems to be supporting teacher activities and not improving the behavioral attitude. Watch out and think twice before you send your kid to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

The teachers and the staff seem to care about the students and the school. I will say that I wish to see more parent involvement. However, you can never really have too many volunteers. To say that the students are passed from one grade to another without caring about the student indicates to me a lack of parental control of the child's environment and not a problem that could necessarily be solved by school administration. If the child does not deserve to pass to the next grade, the parent should make sure the child's educational needs are met in order to be prepared for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

The teachers are ineffective & inexperienced. The principal is condescending & confrontational. Kids are passed from one grade level to the next regardless of the grades earned to keep the school's high ranking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Do NOT send your child to Medlock Bridge Elementary. The principal has to learn how to be a good principal and better person!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

It is a great School. We really the the Teaches and the way how to teach and mould the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I feel this is a fabulous school for our children. The teachers are wonderful and caring. The parent involvement is tremendous. We have lots going on at our school and is supported by everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Our experience with Medlock Bridge has been terrific. The teachers are experienced, caring and involved. I've learned that you get out of it what you put into it, so get involved by volunteering your time with the kids and for the school and you'll see great things happening throughout the school! The Principal has been wonderful and the special needs support team is amazing and highly proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

I can rate this school as an average having a major problem in Communication. I had several email communication with Principal, but on vain. School staffs are horrible and mostly never bothers on any issues you have. If you point to any specific fault of them, they will reply by saying 'slipped through craks'. Teachers too are not responsible as expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

We moved into the area specifically to be districted for this school having heard great reviews. Our oldest child was then only about to start Kindergarten so we have no references for comparison but I must admit we're not thrilled. Some of the administration staff are very 'false'. When I enter the building I always get sour glances, to the point where I feel like I'm intruding. On the occasions where I have needed follow up from staff members other than a teacher, it has been lacking. I also feel the school pushes the PTA only to better the Pricipal/school's ratings. At many events parents are not welcome. That said all the teachers we have met have been wonderful. All have been loved by our children & are very responsive to us. Our children are thriving at this school but as parents we feel excluded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Medlock Bridge and its staff has been a wonderful place for my child to grow and learn. I feel that she is treated fairly and is challenged on all levels. I highly reccomend this school and school district to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Both my children attend this school. One is in the TAG program, the other requires some special assistance due to medical problems. The staff and the teachers have been extremely proactive and helpful. The principle has set up meetings and proactively involved people in the process to help my children. Most of my concerns are dealt with quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

My daughter started here last year, and I was not impressed by her teacher. The PTA members stick together and only worry about each others child, and not non-members children. I think this school uses unfair criteria for selecting children for TAG. Also, when I or my husband visit the school, as soon as we walk in we get sour looks at the front-desk. My daughter loves the school, because she is too young to understand some of the things that are going on, but we are seriously contemplating putting her in private school. This problem can be fixed by adjusting some of the staffs attitude and maybe seek further education on how to deal with both child and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

I have had four children attend this school and the staff over the years has been very helpful, knowledgeable and more than courteous. The teachers that I have had the pleasure of meeting are very dedicated and show a strong interest in our children with the exception of one teacher. The school has received numerous awards and has one of the strongest parent/ teacher associations that I have seen at any elementary school. I rank Medlock Bridge near excellent and I believe it has well prepared my children for the next level of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

My son attended Medlock Bridge for Pre-K and Kindergarten. We loved both of his teachers and he will be in the TAG program (Tallented and Gifted) next year for 1st grade. I have met so many kind people on the staff and I have seen him greet his principal in the morning at the car pool drop off with a hug! My daughter has attended (the best) preschool where they are vey loving and now will be going to Medlock Bridge for Pre-K. I have never thought of anyone there to be fake...I do not expect the staff to be as 'mommy-ish' as the teachers at the preschool since the kids are growing up and need to learn how to function in school. I am not a big PTA person but still I participate and feel welcome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

Medlock bridge is definitely not my first choice for an elementary school. The staff is very 'fake' and they feel that they are more capable of making decisions re: your child than you are. They do not respond well parent's concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

this school has been very slow at getting back with concerns and issues. Seems to be very fake and cosmetic. The staff is horrible...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

Medlock Bridge is an excellent school both academically and culturally. The administration is highly involved, exceptionally organized and fair minded. After 5 years at this school I have had no complaints other than the Talented and Gifted program, which is a system-wide issue. The students are high calibre and achievement oriented and the test scores show it. The school was named a PTA National Parental School of Excellence this year and has many parent/student/teacher programs that help it to stand apart. Hands-on science labs, Accerated Learning Labs for readers needing extra-help, exceptional technology labs and plenty of certified teachers make this school top drawer. It is small by FCSS standards and has a lovely campus in a high-end neighborhood. We have found the administration to be highly involved, active and responsive to all our issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

109 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 37% 3%
Black 10% 37%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10215 Medlock Bridge Pkwy
Alpharetta, GA 30022
Phone: (770) 623-2980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT