Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Taylor Road Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 962 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

I am the parent of a 7th grade TRMS student, and recently transplanted my family from New York to Georgia. I am pleased to report that my decision to enroll my daughter at TRMS was the best decision that my husband an I made. The principle, couselor, teachers have all been accomodating, caring (especially advance math teacher Ms Gibson) informative on the progress that my daughter is making and has made it very clear that their doors are always open. My daugther was nerverous to say the least at starting a new school and she is very happy with TRMS. She is enrolled in advance classes and loves it. The only complaint that she has is that there is little time between changing classes. As a parent that is all about education, if the only complaint is that there is little time between classes then I'll take it. If you are thinking about moving to this area then I implore you to put your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I'm going into the 7th grade this year in TRMS. I moved here from NY and am not very used to the custims in GA. TRMS is not very cliquey but there some mean girls and obnoxious boys. People at lunch curse a lot but as long as you don't say anything to these kind of people and hang with the right kind of crowd, you're good. Teachers are nice thought one of the math teachers was super strict and annoying. Rules are strict and grades are taken seriously by most of the students. Personally, the students are a bit racist but not too much. I'd rather give TRMS a 3.5 than a 4. The Connections teachers are annoying and take grades too seriously even though their classes don't really matter. The school computers were recently updated, the foreign language teachers re supers nice, and their are lots of different clubs to join. This way your kid can do what ever he/she wants to do. I think TRMS should have more student say in the rules and should make the days a bit shorter, but over all, my sixth grade year at Taylor Road was not too shabby. :)


Posted November 25, 2012

We are new to TRMS this year, and unfortunately, we do not have good things to report. The teachers truly do not want to be there, and it shows in their demeanor. They give students worksheets to do in class while they grade papers and refuse to answer questions. In fact, it seems as if the entire faculty are constantly telling the students not to talk - not in class, not in the halls, not at lunch, with the punishment being a silent lunch. I have found the teachers to be condescending and sarcastic to the children - when as parents we have taught our children not to talk back and be respectful to adults. Taylor Road seems to be the place for teachers who, unhappy with their own lives, take it out daily on the children, while not doing their job. It's truly a disgrace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

I used to be a student of TRMS and it was a good school. I have to say though it was lacking in proper education due to the enormous size of the classes however the classes were fun. Even though it is considered a clique school, there are enough diverse students for a student to find a friend. In education it lacks QUITE a bit but in social wise and clubs, etc it is fantastic. Overall, the kid really has to focus on classes and there is a bit of pressure on popularity.


Posted November 14, 2009

Taylor Road is a great school! There's great lunch, great people, great clubs, and great learning. You learn a lot and there's tons of fun stuff too. the teachers are really nice and you also have tons of fun! i love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

The school is awsome, the teachers are great, and the lunch is delicious. i just cam beck from the 8th grade Georgia field trip. We, once again, were complemented by the people at the places we went. The chaperones were all teachers and they were fun, but aware that we followed the rules. if your child is going to the 8th grade next year, I hope he/she gets Mr.LeBlanc for science,Mrs.Lois Smith for math, Mrs.DeSousa for language arts, Ms.Pompey for Georgia Studies, and Ms.VanShepen for reading(if they take reading). I have no complaints about the school; its the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

What a miserable place for kids who are not in the Talented and Gifted program. My child, who is disabled, has literally been 'raked over the coals'. The administration seems determined to use a hammer to kill a fly. Don't even think about this place if you are looking for a caring, nurturing environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

We are new to Fulton County schools and I have a 6th grader at TRMS. We have had no problems to speak of. I think homework in general is an adjustment in middle period. My daugher has all gifted classes except Math and she loves her S.S, English and Spanish teachers. I felt good about the time and attention given to new 6th graders and the parents to adjust. This is probably the best middle school in John's Creek where you'll get a balance of social, academic and cultural exposure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

I think this school is the best!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2007

I have to give TRMS a C. Yes, some teachers are great and some just do the bare minimum. We are conservative parents and felt the Epcot trip in 6th grade was inappropriate so we withheld our child. The principle did not understand our concerns and unfortunately the kids that stayed behind were treated poorly IMO. I feel like we as parents are held at arm's length from the school as well. We should be partnered together. Incidentally, I felt that way at Ocee too. We moved here from Kansas and the schools there were much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

I am a current student at Taylor Road Middle School, and I have been attending the school for 3 years and so far have found it in a not-so-good condition. Some of the teachers do not take concern in the students they are teaching. They don't care, and barely teach anything. Also, the school is overly crowded, and is pretty unorganized. The lunch lines are too long, and if you are stuck at the end of the line, it will probably take you over 10 minutes to get your food. If you are thinking about going to this school, I suggest you go somewhere else instead.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

Great teachers, very organized, lots of homework, my child is in the talented and gifted program and loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I am the guardian to a 13yr old who left her entire family in MO. The teachers took such an interest in her and helped her during her adjustment period. They went above and beyond and I couldn't thank them enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

Overall the teachers are great. They hold the students accountable and provide one on one attention as needed. The discpline problems of he students need to be addressed more effectively by leadership. My son attended 6th grade there and had a rough time with the bullies that were allowed to misbehavior and belittle other students. I not sure if we will be returning due to the safety factor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

This is a big improvement from the Gwinnett Co. school we came from. My son is LD, and the program here has been relatively successful, but all teachers need to be on the same page, so to speak.Having the same case worker for 2 years is almost unheard of. I do think, however, that the principal's seem to focus on the negative actions of students more than finding good. I am happy with the security of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Overall this school has been safe for my child but not particularly impressive. The leadership has been lacking passion and creativity. Some of the teachers are 'doing their time' others are GREAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

TRMS has fabulous students who score amazingly well on national & state tests. There is a capable, dedicated faculty made quite stable by many energetic, highly visible veteran teachers, some outstanding new teachers, and a calm, collected principal, Mr. Williamson.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2005

The staff is friendly and the students' test scores speak for themselves. This a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

Overall, the school is good. Some teachers are very involved and other don't even know your child's name by the 2nd semester. My daughter does complain the the school is 'trashy' - old mattresses by the track and general cleanliness of the school is not good. Not at all impressed with the manner in which they handle students that are relatively new to the Fulton County School System. They do not clearly explain the prereqs for extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

284 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 3%
Black 15% 37%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Edward Williamson
Fax number
  • (770) 619-5609

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 Taylor Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
Phone: (770) 740-7090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT