Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-12|Private
350 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mill Springs Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a student
The teachers are always willing to help you with all of your learning differences. I

Mill Springs Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a student
I think that the teachers do a good job in teaching students and help them be prepared for the real world.

Mill Springs Academy 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a student
I'm an 8th grader at MSA. I absolutely love it. The teachers are always willing to push you to do your best. The teachers are always willing to help with your child's learning differences. They have great trips and there is no bullying. Any kid would fit in to the community.

Mill Springs Academy 2

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
My son did not get any assistant to find a collage or any other proper program after high school. All I heard from counselor was " I don't think your son will be accepted for collage he wants". I think the counselor had no interest in my son because they think he is not be able to get in any collage. I and my son worked so hard to find a collage he want without any resources. He is in a community collage now. he is happy to study in collage and work part time. I did not like MSA counseling system at all.

Mill Springs Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Our son is in the 9th grade; his third year here. MSA has been a wonderful experience for our entire family. Take the negative reviews with a grain of salt. I am convinced that many of those posting negative reviews were asked to leave the school for one reason or another!

Mill Springs Academy 1

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Search CBS local news for the story about families raising awareness of bullying as school year starts. This beautiful friend of my daughter's lost her life after bullying at this school. The school has lost many students and great, loved staff members in the middle school, preupper school, and upper school this year because of a culture of bullying that is modeled and ignored by important people. Good people and good families can't stand by and work in that environmemt. The events leading up to the loss of this beautiful girl were ignored.

Mill Springs Academy 2

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
Sadly, we cannot recommend the middle school. We had great years in the Lower School, but we should have listened to parents and skipped the middle school, especially for a child with dyslexia. We have had a few wonderful teachers, but one repeatedly bullied our child, even after she wasn't our child's teacher. Our concerns were met by intense and punitive conversations with our child by the principal. We felt manipulated and wish we had listened to our child rather than believing that professionals would not behave that way. Our saving grace and the saving grace of our child was the assistant principal, but she has left. For a middle school child with anxiety and dyslexia, I wish we had looked at the Swift School.

Mill Springs Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
No homework in reading and language arts. In fact no work comes home at all.

Mill Springs Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
It is not modeled for the students by the middle school. Not integrity or fairness.

Mill Springs Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
I simply cannot tell you what a blessing this school has been for our two children ages 7 and 8. They started in 1st and 2nd grade. One is dyslexic, the other is ADHD. I could go on all day about how safe and secure they are, how loved they feel and how wonderful this community is at Mill Springs. You will never know how amazing a teacher is until you send your children here. They honestly LOVE our kids and they don't just say it, they show it. Ms. Donna is simply a MUST for any child in 1st Grade who needs reading help. Laurie Jones, is outstanding at her job and runs the lower school really well. It feels like family. This is the only school my children have gone to that I am happy to write a check for. It is money well spent!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mill Springs Academy
13660 New Providence Road, Alpharetta, GA  30004
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (770) 360-1336
Last modified Mill Springs Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Top