Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Pisgah Christian School

Private | PK-12

 
 

Living in Alpharetta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2009

My son has attended the early school full day program for the last 3 years, and it truly is a wonderful place. The only thing keeping me from rating it is as 5 stars is that there has recently been a change at the director level for the school. There used to be a full time director who was wonderful, knew every child, greeted parents at drop off and pick up, and just handled most every problem and situation with extreme professionalism and efficiency. However, the current director is there as a part-time position and is not usually visible and seems to be very defensive in problem-solving. A school this large with the number of children and issues that can come up in the daycare setting should warrant a full-time director who is more visible and proactive with parents. Other than that though, the teachres and programs are absolutely first rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

My son has attended Pisgah for the last two years in their Early School Half Day Program (preschool). We absolutely love it. Everyone from the front office to the teachers to the other parents are fantastic. You really feel like part of a big family and everyone cares about your child. We were only going to attend Pisgah for preschool, but now we wouldn't even think about leaving and he will continue his education there. Couldn't recommend it enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

Mt. Pisgah provides not only a tremendous educational program but also creates an environment in which the student is enabled to excel personally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

MPCS is a good place for children to gain confidence in all area of academia. It is a loving environment that can only foster confident young people in near future. All teachers are caring and loving, they are just great . My kids have attended since three years old and now they are in 1st and 4th grade and love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about MPCS and the Christ centered approach they bring to education. My daughter is in the lower school yet we still find ourselves among the Pisgah faithful in the stands for many of the Upper School events because it's all part of the family. The whole school environment is very welcoming and they truly value each child as an individual as they seak to develop the whole person. Through continuous imprpovement efforts, the administration is not resting on it's laurels and is not content with 'close enough'. MPCS is an all around outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Mount Pisgah is truly an exceptional school. Our family moved to Alpharetta two years ago. Previously, our two children had only attended public schools. Our children have been a part of the MPCS experience at the Lower School, Middle School, and Upper School. The students are very inclusive and welcoming. The smaller student/teacher ratios of the classrooms provide the perfect learning environment for students. Teachers are ecouraging and availabile when extra help is needed by a student. The teachers take a strong interest in each child and encourage students to advocate for themselves when offering ideas or seeking help with schoolwork. We appreciate lots of big things about the school, such as wonderful, clean facilities in addition to the small things that develop each individual student. The students have late arrival every Wednesday morning which helps them have a successful week. School administrators are accessible and welcome parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

We have been very pleased with the newcomer experience at Mount Pisgah Christian School! This is our daughter's second year at the middle school and we are thrilled with the family-friednly atmosphere, the excpetional teachers, and the faith-based approach to learning. We just can't say enough goood things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

My son has been going to Mt. Pisgah Christian School since kindergarten; he is now in 8th grade. He is always excited about going to school, we have never had a problem getting him up and going in the morning. They develop the whole child at Mt. Pisgah (Academically, Spiritually, and Physically). The school is not so big that you get lost in the crowd, every kid can find there place at Mt. Pisgah. Extra-curricular programs at the middle school and high school level are fantastic. The athletics program offers a whole host of sports for the middle school and high school students to participate in. And if sports are not your thing, the Fine Arts department does a great job and is expanding its offerings every year. The elementary school and the after school program are also top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

Mt. Pisgah School have an excellent curriculum and Athletic activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

I have children in the Upper School so my views are based on my experiences there.Mt. Pisgah is a great place for athletes who want their education paid for.As long as you don't do anything illeagal,bad behavior is tolerated from a 'scholarship athlete'. English Teachers are good. Math and Foreign Language Teachers are weak.There are a number of Honors and AP courses, but because of the way the schedules are set up, students have to take advance courses in all subjects or none at all, therefore a student that excells in one subject may not be able to take an advance course in that area because he/she doesn't qualifye for advanced courses in the other subjects. AD is great with the kids and parents but can't seem to find good Coaches. School leaders do a good job of promoting the school but not at producing what they say will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

After transferring my son from public school to Mt Pisgah it has been a wonderful experience the level of academics is way beyond the level in public school. I feel my son will be well prepared for college academics once he takes that step. Mt Pisgah offers many of the extracurriclar activities that most schools offer. The atmosphere a the school is very close nite we have gotten to know many of ther parents through school, atheletics and social events catered by the parents. I would recommend this school to any parent who is looking for a good school where there child can grow academically, atheletically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 3% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (678) 336-3349

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9820 Nesbit Ferry Road
Alpharetta, GA 30022
Phone: (678) 336-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Nsoromma School
Atlanta, GA




Nur Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT