Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Autrey Mill Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1363 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2013

I'm a current 8th grade student at AMMS, and let me just warn you... The 8th grade teachers are absolutely HORRIBLE! They don't know how to teach at all; instead, they just sidetrack into their personal life stories, which no one wants to hear because we want to learn :P Please save your child from this school.


Posted February 12, 2013

My son is in 7th grade at AMMS - he couldn't be happier. He says that the teachers are inspiring, fun, and care about the students. There are many, many after school activities to chose from - check the website for details.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

Autrey Mill is a truly wonderful Middle School. These years are such a difficult time for most young people and the staff at AMMS continues to rise to the occasion. The counselors dealt with a mild bullying issue with my son last year quickly and efficiently. Academically the coursework is challenging and students are encouraged to be independent and long range thinkers. I have had wonderful contact with teachers as needed. Jimmy Zoll, the principal, is a very caring person who tries to know all of his students and is very hands on. He is truly one of the better principals I have known in Fulton Co. The building is state of the art and well maintained. Kudos to AMMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

My child has (mild) special needs, and this school has been great for us. Of course, I had acquired independent testing and medical documentation, so there was no debating the needs. The counselors have been very helpful and the teachers very understanding. The staff has overall been very caring. Kids will be kids; some are nice and some are mean, but I truly believe that in most schools, the social situation would be far worse. I have heard about some teachers taking measures to prevent bullying; they can't stop all of it, but I think it helps. I'm happy that I moved here to benefit from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

I am in High School this is honestly the best middle school in the state of Georgia. My name is Jake I play on the local high school football team and on the lacrosse team. Autrey Mill has everything anyone would want from a school, extracurricular activities, like tennis or track, to clubs run by teachers in the school. All the teachers at Autrey Mill provide an environment that is easy to learn in. The only problem with Autrey Mill is the science department, but the department is still descent compared to most schools. I am an A, B student and Autrey Mill made me what I am today. I give this school five stars.


Posted January 31, 2011

As a parent of a child who was not bullied, but was caught in the middle between the buliles and the bullied, I can say the school does not deal with this problrm in a satisfactory manner. Academics: The Language Arts and Science curriculum were very poor and the teachers marginal, even at the "TAG' Level. The best dept is Social Studies. Math was just okay. They took incredible amounts of time away from academics to 'prep' for the CRCT. Even brought in CRCT coaches - and guess what - their scores are going down. The vast majority of the parents have at least college degrees (if not post grad) and Johns Creek is the richest neighborhood in GA. so this school should rock. Instead it just barely gets by. Really disappointed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

I am a sixth Grader Most of my teachers are mean and hate me but there is no bullying well for me, I cant say that for everyone though.


Posted November 26, 2010

Some of these comments are really mean. I am a sixth grader in this school, and this is the best school I have ever been to. They have amazing teachers and staff and the facility is so cool. This school is only 7 years old and it is really fun. There is no bullying at all. BEST SCHOOL EVER!


Posted October 13, 2010

i love this school. I am a 6th grader and I love almost all of my teachers they are great!!!


Posted August 16, 2010

Love this school!!!!! I am a student going on to 7th grade and there is no bullying! The counseling department is great at handling these types of situations which none of which has to me or my friends. The teachers are extremely nice and i bet the parents who say that this is a bad school doesn't evn go to AMMS. I have never been excited to go to school before. This school changes everything.


Posted April 24, 2010

A good middle school overall, though there is a lot of bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

AMMS has exceeded our experiences at top Atlanta private schools as well as public schools in the Midwest. Caring teachers, challenging curriculum and exceptional facilities. One of the best middle schools in Georgia and the Southeast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

This school is a joke! There is a lot of bullying here. The administration doesn't know how to deal with this problem. The kids here don't know respect or compassion of others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

this school is the worst school ive ever seen, all the peoplethere treated me with total disrespecet. i would not recomend this school to anyone. everyone there is a bully
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great facilty, great teachers, great parent involment and great admiinstrators,.....what a great example for all schools......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

This is a great school. The Principal has great leadership and the teachers are very responsive to parent's concern. It is a very organized school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

I don't feel like the curriculum is rigorous enough to prepare the students for high school. The teachers pamper these upper class kids and are scared to step on toes. Teachers don't really help with the typical middle school student problems. We weren't close to any of the teachers like we were at Haynes Bridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

My son did not enjoy this school at all. There were frequent bullying problems, and the teachers would not respond to e-mails, phone calls, etc. He also gets around 3 hours of homework each night and on the weekends. This has affected his schedule for sports. We are going to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Great academic atmosphere. Wonderful principle who loves this age and makes a very nurturing atmosphere. This school is one of the best in the area. I'ts only 3 years old and they won the academic bowl for the state. They have a lot to offer for the kids with all the clubs and sports. I have had other children in private schools and love that because it felt like being in a big family. That is what this school atmosphere is like.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

467 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 3%
Black 10% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jimmy A Zoll
Fax number
  • (770) 521-7622

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4110 Old Alabama Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
Phone: (770) 521-7622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT