Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amana Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
I am a first year teacher at Amana Academy. I have worked as a para-professional in 2 other schools and have worked with my three adult children through their school years. I have been very impressed with all that administration does to support the teachers and students throughout the year. Continual training has been provided through a mentor program for new teachers, as well as on going professional development for for all teachers. Administration has been helpful in providing feedback, materials, and ideas when needed. And when extra support was called for by struggling students, administration jumped right in teaching support classes before the school day begins. Truly, everyone I have encountered at the school wants to do all they can to help the teachers and students succeed.

Amana Academy 1

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
For the younger grades (K-3), I would say this school is okay. For the upper grades, not so much. I have seen good teachers discriminated against because the parents had an issue with a teacher's race, gender, or sexual orientation. There has been almost a 65% turn over rate in the faculty and staff within the past 2 years. They claim they have "Expeditionary Learning," but their teachers have not been properly trained on the processes. Administration refuses to follow through with disciplinary actions and test scores and school records have been changed to allow students to pass. Ask any graduate that attends a public high school after leaving Amana and you will know they are not properly prepared for high school. If you want your child to succeed and not be bullied every day at school, find some where else for them to go!

Amana Academy 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Seeing is believing, so don't pay credence to the Oct 25, 2015 review without visiting the school a taking a tour for yourself - it has been an awesome learning environment for my kids! The school's Expeditionary Learning approach is unique among the great schools of North Fulton, and the school's STEM focus crosses subjects and is not just one class. And, why not teach Arabic as a foreign language? It's only spoken by a half-billion people; and we need more global thinkers. Lastly, don't let the building fool you. Yes, Fulton County should be providing the school more funding for improvements, but many classrooms have windows and I think we are the only school in the area with awesome STEM makers space. The building is in front of Wills Park where my child gets plenty of outdoor time. Seriously, don't listen to one disgruntled review. See for yourself!

Amana Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Like any school, it depends on the individual teachers. All are very dedicated, but some are just new to the profession.

Amana Academy 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is located in what appears to be an old, rehabilitated grocery store. There are almost zero windows in the entire building, so there is pretty much no natural light. The car pickup line is located behind the grocery store/school, and takes forever. The students are required to learn Arabic...for some reason. The whole operation seems low budget. Given the outstanding public school options available nearby, you would be doing your child a disservice sending him or her to Amana.

Amana Academy 4

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
It's a pretty good school. My oldest graduated from Amana & my little one attends now.

Amana Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Miss. Debay, Miss. Springer & Miss. Annunziata are all really great teachers. There ability to reach kids individually is incredible.

Amana Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Integrity is each crew member's goal. I haven't had any complaints from my daughter regarding unfair treatment.

Amana Academy 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
My daughter will be going to the 3rd grade here and my son, joining her at Amana in Kindergarten come August. I have nothing but respect for the culture and zeal for academics that each of the Amana crew members exhibit. I'm thankful for the spot I was offered for her a year ago, thankful that I enrolled her here, and blessed to watch her get better exposure academically. I'm excited my son will have the same come August 2015.

Amana Academy 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
100% satisfied with the decision to put our children at this school. The county needs to provide this school more funding and stop treating it like a 2nd tier school as compared to traditional public schools. There is no reason for them to not have the same funding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amana Academy
285 South Main Street, Alpharetta, GA  30009
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. (678) 624-0989
Last modified Amana Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top