Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 106 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amana Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2016
- a parent
School is great, both academically and culturally. High level of diversity. Kids are taught to respect each other.

Amana Academy 5

Posted August 14, 2016
- a parent
I am the parent of 2 students at at Amana Academy in Grade 1 and Grade 5. My oldest son previously attended a private school and I am more pleased with the strong dedication of the staff and the administration at Amana than his previous private school. I have been especially impressed with the continued efforts of his 4th grade teacher from last year who helped with bringing out my son's leadership abilities. He has always been a very strong student academically, but was apprehensive about asserting himself in front of others. His teacher pushed him out of his comfort zone and allowed him to take on the responsibilities of being the leader of several Science groups (such as Forces if Motion) within the classroom which he absolutely loved. She also wrote the most eloquent recommendation for a scholarship for the Lockheed Martin Aviation Camp at Fernbank Science Center for this past summer, which he wonderfully received. Our family has been so grateful for the incredible improvements (academically, socially, assertively, etc.) we have witnessed in or son which had so much to do with the diligence and hard work of such a dedicated teacher.

Amana Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
I am a first year teacher at Amana Academy. I have worked as a para-professional in 2 other schools and have worked with my three adult children through their school years. I have been very impressed with all that administration does to support the teachers and students throughout the year. Continual training has been provided through a mentor program for new teachers, as well as on going professional development for for all teachers. Administration has been helpful in providing feedback, materials, and ideas when needed. And when extra support was called for by struggling students, administration jumped right in teaching support classes before the school day begins. Truly, everyone I have encountered at the school wants to do all they can to help the teachers and students succeed.

Amana Academy 1

Posted March 29, 2016
- a teacher
For the younger grades (K-3), I would say this school is okay. For the upper grades, not so much. I have seen good teachers discriminated against because the parents had an issue with a teacher's race, gender, or sexual orientation. There has been almost a 65% turn over rate in the faculty and staff within the past 2 years. They claim they have "Expeditionary Learning," but their teachers have not been properly trained on the processes. Administration refuses to follow through with disciplinary actions and test scores and school records have been changed to allow students to pass. Ask any graduate that attends a public high school after leaving Amana and you will know they are not properly prepared for high school. If you want your child to succeed and not be bullied every day at school, find some where else for them to go!

Amana Academy 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Seeing is believing, so don't pay credence to the Oct 25, 2015 review without visiting the school a taking a tour for yourself - it has been an awesome learning environment for my kids! The school's Expeditionary Learning approach is unique among the great schools of North Fulton, and the school's STEM focus crosses subjects and is not just one class. And, why not teach Arabic as a foreign language? It's only spoken by a half-billion people; and we need more global thinkers. Lastly, don't let the building fool you. Yes, Fulton County should be providing the school more funding for improvements, but many classrooms have windows and I think we are the only school in the area with awesome STEM makers space. The building is in front of Wills Park where my child gets plenty of outdoor time. Seriously, don't listen to one disgruntled review. See for yourself!

Amana Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Like any school, it depends on the individual teachers. All are very dedicated, but some are just new to the profession.

Amana Academy 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is located in what appears to be an old, rehabilitated grocery store. There are almost zero windows in the entire building, so there is pretty much no natural light. The car pickup line is located behind the grocery store/school, and takes forever. The students are required to learn Arabic...for some reason. The whole operation seems low budget. Given the outstanding public school options available nearby, you would be doing your child a disservice sending him or her to Amana.

Amana Academy 4

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
It's a pretty good school. My oldest graduated from Amana & my little one attends now.

Amana Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Miss. Debay, Miss. Springer & Miss. Annunziata are all really great teachers. There ability to reach kids individually is incredible.

Amana Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Integrity is each crew member's goal. I haven't had any complaints from my daughter regarding unfair treatment.

Nearby schools

Amana Academy
285 South Main Street, Alpharetta, GA  30009
(678) 624-0989
Last modified Amana Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top