Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fulton Science Academy High School

Charter | 9-12 | 284 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Great experience since day one. The diversity of the school is great and welcoming. The focus is the academics and not a football team, after all that's what kids go to school for. We need more schools like FSA High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Excellent school . Teachers established good communication with parents and students .This is my son first year and he love it. They keep students motivated to achieve their goals. They have an excellent coaching for college .I will recommend this Charter school to every parent with high school kids .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I strongly agree with this previous post: "Many of the teachers may not be certified by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission and could not work in a "regular" public high school anyway. Some of the teachers may be difficult to understand since English may not be their native language. Expect a plethora of typos in communiques from the principal as well. " How can we expect our students to learn if the teachers are "difficult to understand since English may not be their native language"? As for the typos and grammatical errors, what message does this send to students? If the teachers and administrators can't write or proofread well, why don't they click on the spell check key before they finalize a document? While I can understand foreigners not being proficient in English, I cannot understand why professionals would not use the tools available to them to improve communications. Please, use spell check or hire a proofreader. If you can't figure out how to use technology to do your job better, how are you going to teach that message to your students?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

This school has been truly great for my daughter, she absolutely loved this school and hates the fact she has to change. We are hoping that by some miracle that this school will open it's doors again. The teaches are very helpful and has the students best interest at heart. Praying for the state charter!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

The teachers are not qualified to teach. I would not recommend this school. to any other family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

This is an amazing school and I am so glad that it exists. There are people from every religion and race here so no one ever feels uncomfortable. It is so nice to know every single person in the school. The teachers feel like second parents by the time you graduate. FSAHS is every parent's dream and every student's heaven.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2012

Many of the teachers may not be certified by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission and could not work in a "regular" public high school anyway. Some of the teachers may be difficult to understand since English may not be their native language. Expect a plethora of typos in communiques from the principal as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

The school is alright but as many have already stated, it barely has any satisfactory clubs. It barely HAS any clubs to begin with. What's worse is that there's rarely time for clubs because all the classes in honors -and perhaps even normal ones- push a student so hard. There has not been a single week of school here (since i've started!) where there has not been a test, quiz, or project demanded from at least one class if not the usual 2 or 3. And while I'm ok with being challenged like this, it's annoying how the teachers urge us to join after school clubs when they're the ones that give us a buncha hw in the first place. and the small classes thing? yea that's bogus. there are no small classes anymore since it's really ur average high school but people there are really really nice. i mean you could walk in the halls and if u get a little bump u'll hear a million sorry's and people picking up ur stuff...lol but other than that it could really use improvement and a lot more student bonding even though everyone is nice and sweet and most classes are fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2011

before i came to this school i always said i wanted to this and that in high school as curricular activities, and when i came here i found out that i could do nothing that i wanted to do except tech-fair (which this school excels at). that was a really big difference for me but i realized i won't have anytime for those extracurricular activities since the AP and Honors classes push the students to the limit. great school to just keep your focus in core lessons, but not so good if you want to chill with the extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2011

is a great racial, cultural, and political diversity among the students and teachers who truly care about their students. For students who want to do well and work hard. TEACH Charter High School was renamed as Fulton Science Academy High School starting on August 2010)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

My son is in his 1st year here, and so far we are very pleased with the attitudes of teachers, who really have a genuine caring desire to have a child succeed and really seem to understand the needs of each child as an individual. The classes are challenging but small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

We are very pleased after our first year (9th grade) at TEACH. The teachers are very dedicated and willing to go the extra mile for motivated students with special interests. The honor courses challenge the students and we are looking forward to the AP courses offered next year. There is an excellent mix of students. Many intelligent young minds that help push creative thinking. Many after school academic contests where TEACH has done very well. The name of the high school is changing to Fulton Science Academy High School starting Aug 1, 2010 so I hope the good name of TEACH won't get lost in the transition. The school is still growing but we see a very positive future for our child's high school career. Our son loves (really loves) going to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

Great School!! Staff committed to academic excellence as evidenced by availability of tutoring every day throughout day and after school, college prep emphasis, individualized student planning, SAT classes, and weekly SAT exams to name a few. No distractions. The board, principal & leadership support the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

This is a decent school that do not get enough recognition for the education that they are providing. The alternative, which is public high school is over crowded and lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I disagree with the below statement! My son excells at TEACH- the public schools are over crowded and will get worse! TEACH is like a private school. The SAT's were not realistic-only 10 students took the SAT and a few were EOSL. They even have a SAT class in 11th grade and all the teachers tutor throughout the day. Our EOCT's are superior!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The quality of education is very poor. The majority of the admin. staff is not equipped to handle special circumstances. The SAT scores are the lowest in N.Fulton County and one of the lowest in Fulton County, even less than the State Average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

Excellent school! The teachers and staff do everything possible to help a child succeed. Fulton County never identified my child as an 'honor student' and he was kept in 'on level' classes. He seemed to be overlooked and was becoming quite bored with school. With the smaller classes, my child participated more in class and his teachers recognized he was ready for more advanced classes and they moved him into these classes. He is happier, more involved in school and challenged. His confidence has risen and I am sure that he is ready for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

My son has been in this school for 2 years. The teacher ratios are excellent. Teachers meet with students in their home when extra help is needed. Extra tutoring is available daily and students even help students. All are friendly. The turkish teachers are quite nice, approachable and bend over backwards to help your child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

The school is excellent. There is no question that the leadership is committed to the students and education. The school encourages parental involvement and provides the students with the tools to be successful. Love the focus on college prep from day one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

The private school attention without the pricetag! My daughter has really blossomed at TEACH. She has made many friends and come out of her shell. The teachers care more about the students and their grades then I've experienced at other schools. She is on the Robotics team at it is inspiring to be an engineer. All her teachers are accessible plus most have advanced degrees and have held jobs in the 'real world'. It is also very ethically diverse which I find crucial to a good education. All the advanced technology used is the icing on the cake. If you daughter wants to be a cheerleader, or your son a varsity letter jock, this isn't the school for you. If they want a chance to challenge themselves and enrich themselves and be encouraged to succeed even in honors classes and in life it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
71%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 55%N/A51%
Female 45%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Old Milton Pkwy
Alpharetta, GA 30005
Phone: (770) 475-3223

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alpharetta High School
Alpharetta, GA





Johns Creek High School
Johns Creek, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT