Advertisement
Advertisement

Alpharetta Christian Academy

Private | PK-5 | 351 students

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Alpharetta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

We have been at ACA for 4 years and feel very lucky to have found the school. Our daughter is in Kindergarten and our son is in 2nd grade. The academics are excellent! The teachers are passionate about their profession and care about the kids spiritual and academic development. Our children have formed great friendships and thrive in the small caring environment. A huge bonus are the "specials", Spanish, Computers, Art, Character Ed and Etiquette. We can't say enough about the school and would highly recommend it to any family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

"As third year parents of two preschoolers at Alpharetta Christian Academy, we are looking forward to our fourth year next year. We love the school for numerous reasons but the main one is all of the teachers that have taught our children, are so nice, sweet and loving which is very important at this young age. They treat my children as their own and many are parents of multiple children themselves. They teach the basics (letters, numbers, colors, calendar, etc...) in a fun and creative environment with lots of art and crafts projects as well as developing their motor skills. In addition, the school has weekly activities that include science, creative movement, music and chapel. But, the most exciting for preschool age children are the yearly visits from fire fighters, police dogs, a trackless train, a huge tee pee and bouncy houses. They also have annual Muffins with Mom and Donuts with Dad plus a Christmas program that shouldn't be missed. The staff and administration are just as nice, friendly, loving and helpful too. We highly recommend this preschool to any family."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

ACA is like my second family. All 3 of my children have attended Alpharetta Christian Academy and have come out on top academically and spiritually as they have moved on to middle school and high school. My youngest daughter is a 5th grader this year. She started ACA in pre-school as a 3 year old. My family has been so blessed to have Alpharetta Christian Academy as such an important part of our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I am so fortunate to have found this school. Both my son & daughter attend preschool @ ACA for their 2 & 4 year old (respective) class. This is our first year with the school, and we are thumbs up in all areas of importance to us: Kindness & respect toward me as the Mother (Parents), I honestly can tell my child is loved, and I can tell my child is at the best interest of the teacher/program. Also, it is easy to send my child to school (I do not feel there is a petty click, and that is something I unfortutunately experienced at a previous school). My 4 year old is on the brink of reading- they have an accelerated program to have your child reading by the time she finishes pre-K! Impressed. She LOVES her teachers!!!! They are amazing with her! I am very happy to be a part of this organization! The academics, the Joy of the Lord I feel when I walk into this shool, and the manner in which my family is embraced is what I desired, and I found it, and we are very fortunate to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

We have been at ACA for 3 years and have been very pleased. For us, they have the perfect balance of challenging academics, caring teachers and a loving Christ centered environment. ACA focuses on helping children achieve their best academically (My daughter is in first grade and reads fluently with amazing annunciation and characterization and as a bonus writes beautifully in cursive) while also focusing on character. I love that my daughter doesn't experience the type of social pressure that exists so early in public school. They make it cool to be kind =) Also, they are very accommodating for allergies which is not a struggle we face but I know how scary that is for many families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

This is an excellent school. My child has been in the school since pre school. Every one of the teachers is nurturing, caring, well equipped and uniquely concerned about each childs growth, education and welfare. The facilities are adequate. My child has performed at the highest scholasic level that he could achieve, his test scores rank higher than his peers in other schools nearby. For a well rounded education and a safe/caring environment where a child could develop, there is not a better option than ACA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

Excellent School. Our children have been here for 5 years and we love the school, academics and parents. It's a school that loves children and teaching. Anyone looking for a great private, Christian, academically challenging school should consider ACA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Fantastic and loving environment for learning. The staff uses positive reinforcement and are very Christ centered, teaching with respect and kindness. They challenge the children with advanced lesson plans. We have seen a great improvement in our daughter's attitude and self confidence at AMCA as compared to the public school system. It's expensive, but it is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 44%
Black 18% 40%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Asian 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 10%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • SBACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44 Academy St
Alpharetta, GA 30004
Phone: (770) 475-5762

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Amana Academy
Alpharetta, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT