Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ambrose Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 401 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2013

My husband is originally from Douglas/Broxton. We are considering moving back there. My Niece goes to Ambrose and my sister-in-law loves the school. Can anyone provide a picture of the school? We won't be visiting again until December 2013. I know, a picture is just a picture but it helps me consider where our daughter will be attending if we do indeed move to Douglas.


Posted July 18, 2012

Ambrose is WONDERFUL my kids and i moved here 2 years ago. my child was the lowest reader for his whole grade. we came here from a bigger school where he didnt get as much help at all. from 2 years ago until now he isone of the best readers in his grade and im a very proud mom. i must say he got the best help at Ambrose and i am very glad we moved here. this year my 4 year old starts at Ambrose and i know she will get just as much help as my son has and always will. I dont agree with the comment about who u know cause we were strangers and everyone took us in like FAMILY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

i went to Ambrose my kids went and i love the teachedrs this is the best school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

Ambrose is a great school. Our administrators are always positive and treat others with respect. I have never seen anyone treated unfairly. The administrators always encourage everyone to do their very best (students and faculty). Ambrose is like a family. We also have parents who get involved with school activities and with student learning. I am proud to be a part of this school.


Posted June 4, 2008

This is my seventh year teaching at Ambrose Elementary and I must beg to differ with the previous review. It doesn't simply boil down to who you know. When it comes to our students, everyone is treated fairly and there is a step by step discipline plan that is followed for all students, regardless fo who they know or who their parents are. Obviously you feel that your children were treated unfairly but, please understand that administrators nor teachers are allowed to give information regarding punishment/disciplinary action received by any other students in the school other than their own!! Ambrose is the best of the best and I am honored and privileged to teach there!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2005

'Great School' I went there in my younger days and it was a great school with excellent teachers as it still is today. My niece attends Ambrose and she enjoys it a lot. It is a challenging school as well. As far as the previous review, it also boils down to the parenting given to your children, do not let others affect yourself or your child. In any situation there are going to be some negatives but you have to turn it into an advantage for yourself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2004

Great school but unfortunately it all boils down to who you know. Kids of some parents get treated better than the regular students and upsets the students. My kids have gone there for quite some time now and I think I have had enough therefore I will be changing them this year. Great teachers! But then again who you know all plays into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 44%
Hispanic 30% 12%
Black 14% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Vickers
Fax number
  • (912) 359-5565

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3753 Vickers Xing
Ambrose, GA 31512
Phone: (912) 359-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT