Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Athens Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 149 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Athens

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $113,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

A wonderful school where the teachers have great respect for the children and are facilitator in having them reach their full potential. My kids love to go to school, they are really happy there and this is the most important thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

My child has benefited greatly from the montessori education at Athens Montessori. The teachers are very dedicated to teaching and ensure that all the children learn what they are taught in class. When my daughter moved to another school her teachers actually prepared her in handwriting practice and math to get her ready for the new school. There is also a strong community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Athens Montessori School because the teachers allow the students to think as they learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

A wonderful, multi-cultural school where the teachers have great respect for the children and are facilitator in having them reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

A caring and compassionate school where children are able to discover learning and their gifts to share and enable happier, healthier, more cooperative classes, families, and communities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

The school is a great learning environment with caring teachers and very involved parents. The teachers are accessible and you can tell that they truly care about the kids' progress and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

The teachers really care about the students & helping them prepare for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Wonderful teachers, creative atmosphere. My son loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

This school is great all the way through, form pre-k to 8th grade!! I have excelled in its diverse academic program that allows you to fill in the gaps and expand in the areas you are best at and most enjoy. I would also like to add that the teachers are great, and i think that it will benefit all students who finish the entire school curriculum/
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2007

I have a daughter in college and a daughter in high school who attended Athens Montessori from the toddler years through the middle school. My college age daughter has been Athletic Scholar of the year at Agnes Scott and is in 4 national honor societies (and I thought she was my jock!). She called me one day in her second college term and said 'Mom I used to give you a hard time about keeping us in the Middle School rather than changing us to public schools after elementary, but I have friends here who attended prestegious college prep schools and they are finding the course work too difficult because they never learned to analyze, synthesize information and write critiques. In the MIddle School we learned to think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

I have two children at Athens Montessori School, one in primary and one in elementary, and I couldn't be happier. Both of my children are excited to go to school everyday and are continuously growing academically and socially. They are exposed to new materials, ideas and cultures on a daily basis. As a parent I have been encouraged by faculty and staff to become involved on many levels. There is a true sense of community at Athens Montessori School. I have found both the teachers and administration to be open to discussions about any concerns my husband and I might have about our children's education. Our family plans to be a part of the AMS community for many years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

This is a great school! My son is in a preschool class with a teacher that has 17 years experience and is still not burned out teaching! How rare is that? He is reading at 4 and is doing simple math. He is having fun on their huge playground and the activities in class would never be found outside of Montessori and are engaging. We checked out Athens Academy first- and may send him there later on, but we are glad we put him here first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Excellent for pre-school and Grade 1-3 (especially if you can get Vikings Class. Aces is okay but Middle School is pathetic. Despite an absolute lack of academics in the Middle School, I would consider sending the kid there for the wrong reasons. As safe as an environment a kid can grow up in and develop long lasting relationships and parents too will have a community. Because the environment is very healthy for all kids to bond, it is a positive school experience. The principal and teachers are totally unresponsive to the child's need and will not budge from their own agenda - they are not good teachers but allow the kids grow up at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Still believers in the Montessori Method, but have been quite disappointed overall with this experience. What does our child do, day after day in class? Hard to say. Work rarely comes home and we only get the vaguest ideas of what work is being done and what has been mastered. In pre-school, we don't expect much, but it would be good to know things like: has my child mastered buttons yet? how is the handwriting going? Also, administration discourages teachers from communicating online with parents, saying instead they should only talk face to face -- often impossible for working parents. Surely this is not the kind of Montessori experience people rave about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

There is a great deal of parental involvement here. The teachers we've had in both school and after-school care are excellent. The children really are engaged and discipline problems appear to be very rare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

My daughter has been in the Primary program for two years and we are very, very pleased. The classroom directors are wonderful professionals. I love that my 4 year-old gets regular Spanish lessons, art, music, and physical activities in addition to the standard areas of the Montessori method. I wish I had attended a school like this myself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

fantastic school. all around healthy curriculm. has time for PE, various linguistics, band, choir, and a wonderful sense of community. very strong parent association. dotes on the creative, out of the box, and respectful learning. multi-cultural and proud of this synergy. a wonderful growing experience and worth every penny of private tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Outstanding school! We could not be happier with the education our daughters are receiving (ages 7 & 9)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

this is a great school up until the end of the aces classroom up to 6th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 6% 37%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3145 Barnett Shoals Road
Athens, GA 30605
Phone: (706) 549-8490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT